An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Bones: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about bones?

As you can see, this list of kids books about bones is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about bones, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Share this list
Add to list
Skulls!
Written by Blair Thornburgh & illustrated by Scott Campbell
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Debut picture book author Blair Thornburgh and award-winning illustrator Scott Campbell put their heads together to celebrate one of the most important bones in your body: the skull! You probably don’t think much about skulls. So what’s the big deal about them? Well, every head of every person you’ve ever seen has a skull inside. And that includes YOU! This smart, skull-positive story cheerfully dispels any fears kids might have about their skeletons, flipping our view of skulls from a spooky symbol to a fascinating, cool, and crucial part of our bodies.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$11.89
Used $5.99
Prices as of Jan 24
Add to list
Book of Bones: 10 Record-Breaking Animals
Written by & illustrated by Sam Brewster
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

It's a book of world records... of bones! Guess whose bones are the longest, shortest, heaviest, spikiest, and more. With touchable skeletons!

Buy book
$19.95
Bookshop
$16.96
Amazon
$15.59
Used $6.96
Prices as of Jan 24
Add to list
Tiny and the Big Dig
Written by Sherri Duskey Rinker & illustrated by Matt Myers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Sniff! Sniff-sniff!

I smell a bone. A bone that’s BIG.

I’ll get it out, I’ll dig and dig.

A big, BIG bone! I know it’s there!

It will take work, but I don’t care!

Tiny may be a small dog, but don’t let that fool you. He’s a pooch with power who knows what he wants. And he’s going for it. But oh, those pesky pessimists – they’re trying to rain on Tiny’s dig-parade!

Thank goodness for one special boy who believes in Tiny, because in the end, this dog’s grit proves that he’s the little pup who could… dig up some giant surprises!

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$13.99
Used $2.33
Prices as of Jan 24
Add to list
Bones
Written by Stephen Krensky & illustrated by Davy Jones
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6

Describes how bones perform different functions as part of the human body.

Buy book
$4.99
Bookshop
$4.24
Amazon
$3.99
Used $0.79
Prices as of Jan 24
Add to list
Kasey & Ivy
Written & illustrated by Alison Hughes
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Through twenty-six letters to her friend Nina, twelve-year-old Kasey chronicles the often humorous observations and impressions of her unexpected, month-long stay in a geriatric ward for the treatment of a rare but treatable bone disease (“osteo-something-something-itis”). Kasey tries to make her life less dull by wearing her own nightgowns, surrounding herself with her favorite stuffies and developing an unusual exercise routine. Hospital food, insomnia and the germy communal bath are enduring sources of dread, but some new (and unexpected) friends make her life bearable.

Buy book
$10.95
Bookshop
$9.31
Amazon
$10.95
Used $10.95
Prices as of Jan 24
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Bonesville - This stunning picture book from the bestselling team of Jean-Luc Fromental and Joelle Jolivet cleverly introduces many of the bones that make up the human body. A mysterious beast is terrorizing the resident skeletons of Bonesville. Under cover of darkness, it steals a different bone from each townsperson, from cranium to phalanges. It takes the washerwoman s humerus, the butcher s fibula, and Dr. Strongbones s coccyx. Thanks to his patience and cleverness, Detective Sherlock Bones traps the monster, revealing that the beast is only the harmless Spot of the Baskervilles, on a mission to rebuild the lost skeleton of his master, Dr. Watsbones. Jolivet s bold illustrations and Fromental s witty storytelling make for a winning combination in this striking picture book, perfect for young Sherlock Holmes fans. “

  • Bone Garden - A spooky and adventurous debut illustrated fantasy novel about a girl made of dust and bone and imagination who seeks the truth about the magic that brought her to life. This magical story--and the brave girl in its pages--will haunt you in the best way. --Natalie Lloyd, New York Times bestselling author of Over the Moon "Remember, my dear, you do not really and truly exist." Irréelle fears she's not quite real. Only the finest magical thread tethers her to life--and to Miss Vesper. But for all her efforts to please her cruel creator, the thread is unraveling. Irréelle is forgetful as she gathers bone dust. She is slow returning from the dark passages beneath the cemetery. Worst of all, she is unmindful of her crooked bones. When Irréelle makes one final, unforgivable mistake by destroying a frightful creature just brought to life, Miss Vesper threatens to imagine her away once and for all. Defying her creator for the very first time, Irréelle flees to the underside of the graveyard and embarks on an adventure to unearth the mysterious magic that breathes bones to life, even if it means she will return to dust and be no more. Debut author Heather Kassner's The Bone Garden is a gorgeously written story--illustrated by Matt Saunders--humming with magic, mystery, and dark imaginings. Perfect for fans of Holly Black, Jonathan Auxier, and Katherine Arden. [Evokes] the dreamy tone and themes of Neil Gaiman's Coraline and The Graveyard Book . . . an impressive new fairy tale that will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff's subtly magical stories. --Booklist

  • Skelly the Skeleton Girl - Skelly, a little skeleton girl, finds a bone one day. Who could it belong to? As Skelly searches for the bone’s owner, she questions everyone from her skeletal goldfish, to her man-eating plants, to the monster who lives beneath the stairs. Finally, Skelly locates the bone’s owner–and makes a new friend. Rising talent Jimmy Pickering has created a mildly spooky and totally original cast of characters who populate Skelly’s Tim Burton-esque world.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.