Cows: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about cows?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to cows. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about cows.

Our list includes board books, picture books, and chapter books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about cows, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Hey Diddle Diddle!-Kubler to popular sellers like I Am Cow, Hear Me Moo! to some of our favorite hidden gems like I’ll Love You Till the Cows Come Home.

We hope this list of kids books about cows can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

I'll Love You Till the Cows Come Home book
#1
I'll Love You Till the Cows Come Home
Written by Kathryn Cristaldi and illustrated by Kristyna Litten
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

I will love you till the cows come home from a trip to Mars through skies unknown in a rocket ship made of glass and stone. I will love you till the cows come home. Love knows no bounds in this lyrical, gentle lullaby, a tender tribute to the depths of family love. Filled with warm, funny art, I’ll Love You Till the Cows Come Home is a perfect read-aloud for curling up with your little one at the end of the day . . . or anytime you want to express just how much you love them.

I Am Cow, Hear Me Moo! book
#2
I Am Cow, Hear Me Moo!
Written by Jill Esbaum and illustrated by Gus Gordon
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A high-stakes adventure and hilarious ode to self-esteem for fans of Oliver Jeffers, Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type, and Louise, The Adventures of a Chicken.

Nadine can talk a blue streak, and one day she tells a real whopper: she isn’t afraid of anything—no siree! Then her friends call her bluff, and Nadine must enter. . .The Deep. Dark. Woods. Only the woods aren’t so scary after all, until the sun sets, that is, and Nadine can’t find her friends. What is this boastful bovine to do? Run around in blind terror? Plummet off a cliff? Crash into a stream? Check, check, and check. But is all lost? Doubtful. After all, she is cow, hear her MOOOOOOOOO!

Buttercup's Lovely Day book
#3
Buttercup's Lovely Day
Written by Carolyn Beck and illustrated by Andrea Beck
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Readers will enjoy a day in the life of a cow named Buttercup in this poetic and heartwarming picture book. Called a “read-aloud gem” by Quill & Quire, this picture book will delight children with its creative use of language and endearing illustrations. In rhyming text that winds like a creek through a farmer’s field, the book takes readers on a journey through one lovely day in Buttercup’s life. Whether she is ruminating on the mud beneath her feet or on the moon and the stars in the blue-black sky, she draws us deep into her rich and wonderful world, reminding us all to be grateful for life’s simple pleasures.

One Witch at a Time book
#4
One Witch at a Time
Written and illustrated by Stacy DeKeyser
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

When his family’s cow is sold for some magic beans, Rudi must find a way to return the beans to their rightful owner, a witch who lives in a neighboring village.

Cindy Moo book
#5
Cindy Moo
Written by Lori Mortensen and illustrated by Jeff Mack
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

One night on the farm, the cows overhear a fantastic tale.

“Hey Diddle Diddle, the cat and the fiddle, the cow jumped over the moon!”

Inspired by this classic rhyme, a plucky cow named Cindy Moo sets out to prove that cows really can leap over the moon.

The other cows laugh at her, but that doesn’t stop Cindy from trying—and failing—night after night . . . until a trick of nature shows Cindy a way to triumph.

As delightfully silly as the original nursery rhyme, this hilarious picture book will have readers of all stripes (and spots) cheering for its determined heroine.

  1. I Wanna Be a Cowgirl - A little girl imagines what her daily life would be like if she were a cowgirl, living out west on a ranch with cows and sheep, riding a horse, and sleeping under the stars.

  2. Prudence the Part-Time Cow - Prudence looks like a full-time cow―she wanders through pastures, she swats flies, and she lines up for supper. But Prudence is a part-time cow―she is also a scientist, an architect, and an inventor, studying and building and dreaming and creating. To the other cows in the herd, Prudence is a bit too part-time. She’s just too different to be part of the herd. At first Prudence tries to fit in, suppressing all her scientific smarts and imaginative inventing. But in a moment of inspiration―Cow Power!―Prudence realizes how to show the others that she can be a part-time cow and a full-time member of the herd. Funny and sweet, this is a story for anyone who’s ever felt a bit different.

  3. The Cow Said Meow - No one likes getting caught out in the rain! One drizzly day on the farm, a cow overhears a cat meowing to be let into the house. When the kind old lady inside opens the door, the cow gets an idea—one that spirals out of control!

  4. Moo, Katie Woo! - Katie and her class visit a farm, and find out where eggs and milk come from.

Hey Diddle Diddle!-Kubler book
#10
Hey Diddle Diddle!-Kubler
Written and illustrated by Annie Kubler
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

Illustrates the nonsensical children’s nursery rhyme. On board pages.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!