An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Crayons: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about crayons?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to crayons. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about crayons.

Our list includes board books and picture books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about crayons, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like The Day the Crayons Quit to popular sellers like Harold and the Purple Crayon to some of our favorite hidden gems like The Day the Crayons Came Home.

We hope this list of kids books about crayons can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

Share this list
Add to list
The Crayon Man
Written by Natascha Biebow & illustrated by Steven Salerno
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Celebrating the inventor of the Crayola crayon! This gloriously illustrated picture book biography tells the inspiring story of Edwin Binney, the inventor of one of the world’s most beloved toys. A perfect fit among favorites like The Day the Crayons Quit and Balloons Over Broadway. purple mountains’ majesty, mauvelous, jungle green, razzmatazz… What child doesn’t love to hold a crayon in their hands? But children didn’t always have such magical boxes of crayons. Before Edwin Binney set out to change things, children couldn’t really even draw in color. Here’s the true story of an inventor who so loved nature’s vibrant colors that he found a way to bring the outside world to children – in a bright green box for only a nickel! With experimentation, and a special knack for listening, Edwin Binney and his dynamic team at Crayola created one of the world’s most enduring, best-loved childhood toys – empowering children to dream in COLOR!

Add to list
Harold and the Purple Crayon
Written & illustrated by Crockett Johnson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Essential Picture Book Classics—timeless stories for every child to treasure. “One night, after thinking it over for some time, Harold decided to go for a walk in the moonlight.” Armed only with an oversized purple crayon, young Harold draws himself a landscape full of wonder and excitement. Full of funny twists and surprises, this joyful story shows just how far your imagination can take you. Harold and the Purple Crayon has delighted readers of all ages for over fifty years.

Add to list
The Day the Crayons Quit
Written by Drew Daywalt & illustrated by Oliver Jeffers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun.

What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

Add to list
The Crayon Box That Talked
Written by Shane Derolf and Michael Letzig
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Although they are many different colors, the crayons in a box discover that when they get together they can appreciate each other and make a complete picture.

Add to list
The Day the Crayons Came Home
Written by Drew Daywalt & illustrated by Oliver Jeffers
board book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

I’m not sure what it is about this kid Duncan, but his crayons sure are a colorful bunch of characters! Having soothed the hurt feelings of one group who threatened to quit, Duncan now faces a whole new group of crayons asking to be rescued. From Maroon Crayon, who was lost beneath the sofa cushions and then broken in two after Dad sat on him; to poor Turquoise, whose head is now stuck to one of Duncan’s stinky socks after they both ended up in the dryer together; to Pea Green, who knows darn well that no kid likes peas and who ran away—each and every crayon has a woeful tale to tell and a plea to be brought home to the crayon box.

Look for a special glow-in-the-dark picture [Note: make sure to “charge” it under a light first].

Monsters Love Colors book
Add to list
How the Crayons Saved the Rainbow book
Add to list
The Crayons' Book of Numbers book
Add to list
The Crayons' Christmas book
Add to list
  • Monsters Love Colors - Playful monsters combine their favorite crayons, red, yellow, and blue, to create new colors, including one never before seen.

  • How the Crayons Saved the Rainbow - The Sun and the Clouds are best friends. Together they keep the world warm, the gardens growing, and the sky full of beautiful rainbows. But one day they get into a fight and refuse to be in the sky together. And that means there are no longer any rainbows. Without rainbows, the colors start disappearing until Earth was left with no color … except for one little forgotten box of crayons in one little school desk. Determined to save the rainbows and fix the Sun and Clouds’ friendship, the crayons draw rainbows all over town. Their attempts go unnoticed. Soon they realize that they’re going to have to do something big to get the attention of the former friends. So, the crayons create the biggest rainbow they can and hope it’s enough to bring color back to the world. How the Crayons Saved the Rainbow teaches the importance of teamwork and perseverance through seven crayons with unique personalities and their desire to see the world in color. Sky Pony Press, with our Good Books, Racehorse and Arcade imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of books for young readers—picture books for small children, chapter books, books for middle grade readers, and novels for young adults. Our list includes bestsellers for children who love to play Minecraft; stories told with LEGO bricks; books that teach lessons about tolerance, patience, and the environment, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

  • The Crayons' Book of Numbers - Counting is as easy as 1… 2… purple?… in this charming book of numbers from the creators of the #1 New York Times Best Sellers, The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home. Poor Duncan can’t catch a break! First, his crayons go on strike. Then, they come back home. Now his favorite colors are missing once again! Can you count up all the crayons that are missing from his box? From the creative minds behind the The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home comes a colorful board book introducing young readers to numbers.

  • The Crayons' Christmas - A brand-new Crayons book from the #1 New York Times best-selling duo Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers, just in time for the holidays. This special book has letters, games, ornaments, a poster, and even a pop-up Christmas tree! ‘Tis the season for all of us to write our holiday wishlists. But everyone—even the crayons—know the best presents are the ones that you give. In this unique book, readers get to see how Duncan, the crayons, and their families celebrate the holidays. With real, folded letters from the Crayons that you can pull from their envelopes and read, games, punch-out ornaments, a poster, and a pop-up tree, this book is the perfect gift for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home.

Add to list
The Crayons' Book of Colors
Written by Drew Daywalt & illustrated by Oliver Jeffers
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

The crayons are back and brighter than ever in this board book of colors from the creators of the #1 New York Times Best Sellers, The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home.

It’s Duncan’s birthday, and all the crayons want to make him a card! With their fun and quirky illustrations of firetrucks, dragons, and (dare we say?) wheat, these creative crayons each have something different to contribute. When they come together, they can make something truly spectacular to celebrate Duncan’s birthday!

From the creative minds behind the The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home, comes a fun board book introducing young readers to colors.

Add to list
Love from the Crayons
Written by Drew Daywalt & illustrated by Oliver Jeffers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Ring in Valentine’s Day—and love—with the New York Times Best-Selling Crayons! This charming new title featuring everyone’s favorite coloring crew is the perfect gift for that special someone on Valentine’s Day—or any day of the year.

Love is yellow and orange. Because love is sunny and warm.
Love is purple. Because it’s okay to love outside the lines.

This special gift book, featuring all the The Crayons from The Day the Crayons Quit, explores the bright colors and subtle shades of love. This is a must-have for fans of The Crayons, and the perfect gift for that special someone.

Add to list
Frankencrayon
Written & illustrated by Michael Hall
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Add to list
Splat!
Written & illustrated by Jon Burgerman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

For fans of The Book with No Pictures and Press Here, this hilarious interactive picture book lets kids in on the joke. “A brilliantly playful book that experiments with the physical boundaries of the book as an object, encouraging interaction and imagination.” —Oliver Jeffers, bestselling illustrator of The Day the Crayons Quit See what happens when flipping the page of this gleeful picture book gets you—SPLAT!—a pie in the face, followed by—SQUISH!—an insect sandwich, and—SPLASH!—a deluge of water balloons. Bright colors and appealing visual gags add up to a perfect mess—no cleanup necessary.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

    Suggested Links