An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Goblins: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about goblins?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to goblins. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about goblins.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about goblins, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like The Seeing Stone to popular sellers like The Wrath of Mulgarath to some of our favorite hidden gems like Unicorns Are the Worst!.

We hope this list of kids books about goblins can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

Unicorns Are the Worst!
Written & illustrated by Alex Willan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Perfect for fans of Dragons Love Tacos and Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great, this wildly funny and imaginative picture book celebrates the value of differences as a grumpy goblin gets to know his new unicorn neighbors.

It’s an undeniable fact that unicorns are the worst!

Magic is serious business, but all unicorns do is frolic around, have tea parties, and leave glitter all over the place! They’re nothing like goblins—practical and hard-working, who can put magic to good use! Unicorns aren’t helpful at all.

Or are they?

Tank and Fizz: the Case of the Tentacle Terror
Written by Liam O'Donnell & illustrated by Mike Deas
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

When valuable cargo ships vanish from Rockfall Mountain’s busiest port, crime-fighting goblin detective Fizz Marlow and his troll sleuthing partner, Tank Wrenchlin, know Dectective Hordish is going to need their help (whether he wants it or not). But it’s Tank’s mom, the harbor master who is really feeling the heat. It’s her responsibility to keep the harbor safe, and the lost ships quickly cost her her job. Determined to help, Tank, Fizz and their wizard pal, Aleetha, dive into this new mystery, only to get tangled up with a terror from below that takes the detectives far from home and puts them snout-to-snout with a band of vicious kobold pirates. The Case of the Tentacle Terror is the fifth book in the Tank & Fizz series about two crime-solving monsters living under a mountain.

Beast & Crown #2: The Ice Witch
Written by Joel Ross
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

From Texas Bluebonnet Award winner Joel Ross, author of The Fog Diver, comes the second book in his sweeping fantasy duology. Ji and his friends Roz, Sally, and Chibo have gone into hiding following the disastrous Diadem Rite, where they were transformed from humans into half-beasts. It’s their hope that they will survive the epic journey to the Ice Witch to be restored to humans again before they run out of time. But they know the evil Summer Queen’s soldiers are tracking them and fear that she is hot on their (at times abnormally large and fluffy) tails… With the help of goblins, ogres, trolls, and a few mermaids along the way, Ji and his band of unlikely heroes must save their world from being eternally divided. Ross’s smart and fast-paced writing, paired with an addictive, suspenseful, and funny storyline, will leave readers hanging on every word. Fans will cheer for this endearing crew of servants, led by the amazing and dynamic Ji, who are changed forever and must fight for their freedom.

The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge
Written by M T Anderson & illustrated by Eugene Yelchin
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

Uptight elfin historian Brangwain Spurge is on a mission: survive being catapulted across the mountains into goblin territory, deliver a priceless peace offering to their mysterious dark lord, and spy on the goblin kingdom—from which no elf has returned alive in more than a hundred years. Brangwain’s host, the goblin archivist Werfel, is delighted to show Brangwain around. They should be the best of friends, but a series of extraordinary double crosses, blunders, and cultural misunderstandings throws these two bumbling scholars into the middle of an international crisis that may spell death for them—and war for their nations. Witty mixed media illustrations show Brangwain’s furtive missives back to the elf kingdom, while Werfel’s determinedly unbiased narrative tells an entirely different story. A hilarious and biting social commentary that could only come from the likes of National Book Award winner M. T. Anderson and Newbery Honoree Eugene Yelchin, this tale is rife with thrilling action and visual humor . . . and a comic disparity that suggests the ultimate victor in a war is perhaps not who won the battles, but who gets to write the history.

The Princess and the Goblin
Written by George MacDonald
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Princess Irene lives in a castle in a wild and lonely mountainous region. One day she discovers a steep and winding stairway leading to a bewildering labyrinth of unused passages with closed doors - and a further stairway. What lies at the top? Can the ring the princess is given protect her against the lurking menace of the boglins from under the mountain?

  • The Halloween Kid - From the illustrator of the Melvin Beederman, SUPERHERO series comes a story about a masked hero and his trusty steed. Together they save Halloween from ruthless toilet paper–tossing mummies and pumpkin-sucking vampires. No siree, Halloween won’t be canceled anytime soon, not while the Halloween Kid’s around. With a rootin’ tootin’ Halloween monster–shootin’ text and retro-modern illustrations, The Halloween Kid will lasso in readers both young and old. Because who doesn’t love a hero who defends the right to trick or treat? Yee-Ha-lloween!

  • The Wrath of Mulgarath - Three ordinary kids, Jared, Simon, and Wallory Grace, have entered another world — without leaving this one! Two remarkable talents, New York Times best-sellers Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black, have risked everything to bring this remarkable account to light. Five books — one thrilling adventure — the Spiderwick Chronicles! Their world is closer than you think.

  • The Ironwood Tree - First a pack of vile, smelly goblins snatch Simon. Then a band of elves try to entrap Jared. Why is the entire faerie world so eager to get their hands on Spiderwick’s Guide? And will the Grace kids be left alone, now that the Guide has mysteriously disappeared? Don’t count on it. At school, someone is running around pretending to be Jared, and it’s not Simon. To make matters even worse, now Mallory has disappeared and something foul in the water is killing off all the plants and animals for miles around. Clues point to the old abandoned quarry, just outside of town. Dwarves have taken over an abandoned mine there. And the faerie world’s abuzz with the news that a creature with plans to rule the world has offered them a gift to join with him — he’s given them a queen…

  • The Seeing Stone - we said no still you looked now instead someone gets cooked

A Giant Problem
Written by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi & illustrated by Tony DiTerlizzi
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-12

Talk about out of the frying pan, into the fire! I was pretty sure that my freaky stepsister and that freaky field guide of hers would ruin my life. But now it looks like they’re going to ruin all of Florida, too! Okay, maybe that’s not fair. Maybe all these stupid giants would be waking up anyway, but if it wasn’t for her and that book, I’d be home playing video games and this would be someone else’s giant problem!

Ginny Goblin Is Not Allowed to Open This Box
Written by David Goodner & illustrated by Louis Thomas
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Ginny Goblin has one simple rule to follow: She is not allowed to open this box. Not until dinnertime. But Ginny Goblin doesn’t like to follow the rules, so nothing will stop her from trying to open this box. Not a tall tower, not a misty mountain, not a frightful forest, and certainly not a murky moat filled with scaly, scary serpents . . . But wait! What is in the box? You’ll have to open this book to find out! (Don’t worry, you’re allowed.)

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

    Suggested Links