An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Knitting: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about knitting?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to knitting. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about knitting.

Our list includes picture books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about knitting, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Crafty Llama to popular sellers like Extra Yarn to some of our favorite hidden gems like A Friendship Yarn.

We hope this list of kids books about knitting can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
Extra Yarn
Written by Mac Barnett & illustrated by Jon Klassen
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From bestselling and award-winning author Mac Barnett and illustrator Jon Klassen comes Extra Yarn, a Caldecott Honor Book, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner, and a New York Times bestseller.

A young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community in this stunning picture book. With spare, gently humorous illustrations and a palette that moves from black-and-white to a range of color, this modern fairy tale has the feel of a new classic.

Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Peter Brown will love this book.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$14.69
Used $2.96
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
A Friendship Yarn
Written by Lisa Moser & illustrated by Olga Demidova and Lisa Moser
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Porcupine and Badger have always been the best of friends, so when Porcupine finds some yarn in the woods, she makes a present for Badger. And when Badger finds yarn, she makes a present for Porcupine. The only problem? It’s the same yarn—and to finish the gift, they each must unravel the other’s creation. An act of kindness turns into a fierce standoff as the friendship frays—can Porcupine and Badger set aside their differences and knit themselves back together?

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
A Hat for Mrs. Goldman
Written by Michelle Edwards & illustrated by G. Brian Karas
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

“[A] celebration of winter mitzvahs, or kind deeds. Karas’s adorable, radiant art adds to the heartwarming mood.” -The New York Times

Here’s a heartwarming winter picture book that’s sure to appeal to families who love knitting.

Mrs. Goldman always knits hats for everyone in the neighborhood, and Sophia, who thinks knitting is too hard, helps by making the pom-poms. But now winter is here, and Mrs. Goldman herself doesn’t have a hat—she’s too busy making hats for everyone else! It’s up to Sophia to buckle down and knit a hat for Mrs. Goldman. But try as Sophia might, the hat turns out lumpy, the stitches aren’t even, and there are holes where there shouldn’t be holes. Sophia is devastated until she gets an idea that will make Mrs. Goldman’s hat the most wonderful of all. Readers both young and old will relate to Sophia’s frustrations, as well as her delight in making something special for someone she loves.

A knitting pattern is included in the back of the book.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$14.62
Used $11.98
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Knit Together
Written & illustrated by Angela Dominguez
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

New from an award-winning illustrator comes a sweet story of mothers and daughters, drawing and knitting, and learning to embrace your talents—just right for Mother’s Day.

Drawing is fun, but knitting is better—because you can wear it! Knitting isn’t easy, though, and can be a little frustrating. Maybe the best thing to do is combine talents. A trip to the beach offers plenty of inspiration. Soon mom and daughter are collaborating on a piece of art they can share together: a special drawing made into a knitted beach blanket.

For every mom and daughter, this is an arts-and-crafts ode creative passion and working together.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $3.50
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
A Scarf for Keiko
Written by Ann Malaspina & illustrated by Merrilee Liddiard
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-10

It's 1942. Sam's class is knitting socks for soldiers and Sam is a terrible knitter. Keiko is a good knitter, but some kids at school don't want anything to do with her because the Japanese have bombed Pearl Harbor and her family is Japanese American. When Keiko's family is forced to move to a camp for Japanese Americans, can Sam find a way to demonstrate his friendship?

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Leave Me Alone - A 2017 Caldecott Honor Book that The New York Times calls “both classic and ultracontemporary,” Leave Me Alone! is an epic tale about one grandmother, a giant sack of yarn, and her ultimate quest to finish her knitting. One day, a grandmother shouts, “LEAVE ME ALONE!” and leaves her tiny home and her very big family to journey to the moon and beyond to find peace and quiet to finish her knitting. Along the way, she encounters ravenous bears, obnoxious goats, and even hordes of aliens! But nothing stops grandma from accomplishing her goal—knitting sweaters for her many grandchildren to keep them warm and toasty for the coming winter. Vera Brosgol’s slyly clever and unexpectedly funny modern folktale is certain to warm even the coldest of hearts. A 2017 Caldecott Honor Book A New York Times Notable Children’s Book A National Public Radio Best Book of 2016 A Horn Book Best Book of 2016 A Huffington Post Best Picture Book of 2016

  • Mistletoe: A Christmas Story - Celebrate Christmas with Mistletoe, a mouse who makes the perfect gift for her best friend from #1

  • Ned the Knitting Pirate - The crew of the pirate ship the Rusty Heap are a fearsome bunch! They're tougher than gristle and barnacle grit. They heave and they ho and they swab and they . . . knit?

  • How to Knit a Monster - Greta the goat is a wonderfully accomplished knitter. She can even knit little goats and turn them loose to play around her feet. But when she gets distracted from her knitting, threatening creatures spring from her needles, each more menacing than the last. It takes quick thinking, courage, and brilliant knitting for Greta to find her way out of a perilous situation. In this whimsical story, creativity and craft empower our heroine to restore her safety . . . as long as she pays attention to what is growing on her knitting needles!

Add to list
Crafty Llama
Written by Mike Kerr & illustrated by Renata Liwska
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Llama loves to make things. It doesn’t matter what, really–something special, something lovely.

Beaver loves to make things, too. But he likes things to be useful.

On this lovely day, Llama is inspired. She is having fun making things, like gifts for her friends. And soon many of her friends are inspired right along with her. But Beaver needs to think about what Llama and the other animals are making. What useful thing can he do with this day?

With lots of craftiness and fun, this is a delightful story about how something lovely can be useful, too, and how the best gifts are the ones that bring us together.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Jan 18

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.