An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Nursing Homes And Care Centers: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about nursing homes and care centers?

As you can see, this list of kids books about nursing homes and care centers is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about nursing homes and care centers, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Share this list
Add to list
Newspaper Hats
Written by Phil Cummings & illustrated by Owen Swan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Georgie visits her Grandpa at the home where he lives, but he doesn’t always remember who she is. He does, however, remember how to make newspaper hats, and together they fold enough for all his friends. Touching moments portray the difficulties and nuances of memory loss from a child’s perspective, and an uplifting ending leaves readers with hope. A poignant and age-appropriate story about a loved one with Alzheimer’s disease.

Buy book
$16.95
Bookshop
$14.41
Amazon
$15.99
Used $2.00
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Grandpa's Great Escape
Written by David Walliams & illustrated by Tony Ross
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

David Walliams, hailed as “the heir to Roald Dahl” by The Spectator, burst onto the American scene with the New York Times bestseller Demon Dentist. Now the UK’s #1 bestselling children’s author is back with this high-flying adventure about a boy and his grandfather, perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney and Rachel Renee Russell. Grandpa is Jack’s favorite person in the world. It doesn’t matter that he wears his slippers to the supermarket, serves Spam a la Custard for dinner, and often doesn’t remember Jack’s name. But then Grandpa starts to believe he’s back in World War II, when he was a Spitfire fighter pilot, and he’s sent to live in an old folk’s home run by the sinister Matron Swine. Now it’s up to Jack to help Grandpa plot a daring escape!

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$7.99
Used $7.99
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Sunshine Home
Written by Eve Bunting & illustrated by Diane de Groat
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

A young boy learns to deal with a difficult family situation when his Gram breaks her hip and must be put in a nursing home for full-time care and his parents act as if nothing is wrong. Reprint.

Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$6.99
Used $6.99
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Horrible Harry and the Holidaze
Written by Suzy Kline & illustrated by Frank Remkiewicz
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-9

The holiday season is here, and the kids in Room 3B are learning about all the different ways people celebrate. In addition to Christmas and Hanukkah, there’s Kwanzaa, Three Kings’ Day, Korean New Year, and more. All the talk about holidays has everyone feeling festive. Everyone, that is, except Harry. He doesn’t seem to care about the holidays, the class pet, or even the new student in class. It’s clear that something is bugging Harry, but what could it be?

Buy book
$4.99
Bookshop
$4.24
Amazon
$4.99
Used $4.99
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
The Reckless Club
Written by Beth Vrabel
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

From award-winning author Beth Vrabel comes a new middle-grade Breakfast Club drama set in a old folks’ home. On the last day of middle school, five kids who couldn’t be more different commit separate pranks, each sure they won’t be caught and they can’t get in trouble. They’re wrong. As punishment, they each have to volunteer one beautiful summer day-the last one before school-at Northbrook Retirement and Assisted Living Home, where they’ll push creamed carrots into toothless mouths, perform the world’s most pathetic skit in front of residents who won’t remember it anyway, hold gnarled hands of peach fuzzed old ladies who relentlessly push hard candies, and somehow forge a bond with each other that has nothing to do with what they’ve done and everything to do with who they’re becoming. All the action takes place in the course of this one day, with each chapter one hour of that day, as the five kids reveal what they’ve done, why they did it, and what they’re going to do now.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$13.94
Used $2.58
Prices as of Jan 18

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.