An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Preteens: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about preteens?

As you can see, this list of kids books about preteens is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about preteens, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Share this list
Add to list
Skateboard Sibby
Written & illustrated by Clare O’Connor
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Super skateboarder Sibby Henry won’t let the loss of her board defeat her. Eleven-year-old Sibby Henry liked her old life. Now she’s living in a new town with her nan and pops, and mad at her dad for messing everything up. On her first day of school, she sees a dope skateboard park, but she’s lost her precious board. To make things worse, Freddie, a super skater and a super jerk, dominates the park. Sibby tries to stay chill, but when Freddie gets in the face of her only new friend, Charlie Parker Drysdale, things get too hot for chill. Never one to back down, Sibby accepts when Freddie challenges her to a competition on the half pipe. She won’t let anything stop her from proving herself.

Buy book
$10.95
Bookshop
$9.31
Amazon
$10.95
Used $10.95
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Care and Keeping of You (Revised): The Body Book for Younger Girls
Written by & illustrated by Josee Masse
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-10

Our best-selling body book for girls just got even better! With all-new illustrations and updated content for girls ages 8 and up, it features tips, how-tos, and facts from the experts. (Medical consultant: Cara Natterson, MD.) You’ll find answers to questions about your changing body, from hair care to healthy eating, bad breath to bras, periods to pimples, and everything in between. Once you feel comfortable with what’s happening, you’ll be ready to move on to the The Care & Keeping of You 2!

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$12.99
Used $1.34
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Foreverland
Written by Nicole C. Kear
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Endless rides, endless junk food, and endless adventure? Who wouldn't want to live in an amusement park? Foreverland is sure to be a big hit with young readers.
--Suzanne Selfors, national bestselling author of Wish Upon a Sleepover and Fortune's Magic Farm

Nicole C. Kear's Foreverland is a bighearted coming-of-age story about being lost, and finding your way back home again.

Margaret is tired of everything always changing. Middle school has gone from bad to worse. Her best friend is becoming a stranger. And her family--well, it's not even a family anymore.

So Margaret is running away to Foreverland, her favorite amusement park. Hiding out there is trickier than she expects--until she meets Jaime, a thrill-seeking, fast-thinking runaway who teaches Margaret how to stay one step ahead of the captain of security.

At first, this after-hours, all-access pass to the park is a dream come true: sleepovers in the Haunted House, nonstop junk food, and an unlimited ticket to ride. But as the runaways learn each other's secrets, they must face the reasons they left their normal lives behind. With the Captain closing in and Jaime's future on the line, can Margaret finally take control?

Foreverland is an exhilarating story about riding life's rollercoaster--figuring out how to hang on and learning when to let go.

An Imprint Book

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$12.99
Used $3.99
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Something to Say
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

From the author of A Good Kind of Trouble, a Walter Dean Myers Honor Book, comes another unforgettable story about finding your voice--and finding your people. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Mya’s Strategy to Save the World
Written & illustrated by Tanya Lloyd Kyi
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Twelve-year-old Mya Parsons could save the world and organize her family, if only she had her own cell phone. A Dork Diaries for today’s socially conscious young readers.

Mya Parsons runs her school’s social justice club with her best friend, Cleo. Her lifelong desire is to work for the United Nations and change the world, and then bask in all the ensuing adulation. Her more immediate desire is to get a phone, preferably one like Cleo’s, with a leopard-print case to match. When her distracted dad and her long-distance mom (temporarily in Myanmar taking care of Mya’s grandmother) both say no, no way, and possibly never, Mya launches a campaign to prove herself reliable and deserving. She advertises her babysitting services, takes on more responsibility around the house, and attempts to supervise her sister’s skateboarding lessons. Her efforts leave her ego bruised and the kitchen slightly scorched. She’s no closer to touch-screen victory, let alone the Nobel Peace Prize she deserves. But all that changes after an accident leaves Mya to take charge–an experience which helps her realize how much she’s grown, with or without access to proper communications.

Buy book
$15.99
Bookshop
$13.59
Amazon
$14.92
Used $2.00
Prices as of Jan 22

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.