An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Questions: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about questions?

As you can see, this list of kids books about questions is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about questions, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Share this list
Add to list
Do Princesses Wear Hiking Boots?
Written by Carmela LaVigna Coyle & illustrated by Mike Gordon and Carl Gordon
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

Every inquisitive little girl wonders what it is really like to be a genuine princess. At the heart of Do Princesses Wear Hiking Boots? lives an energetic, spirited, and contemporary child who has lots of important questions for her mom. Do princesses ride tricycles, climb trees, do chores, or have to eat the crusts of their bread? The mother’s voice is timelessly reassuring as she answers her daughter’s questions and advises her that being like a princess has to do with what we are on the inside.

Add to list
Merry Christmas, Stinky Face
Written by Lisa McCourt & illustrated by Cyd Moore
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Stinky Face loves Christmastime, but he still has plenty of questions. Luckily, his imaginative Mama knows just how to reassure him.

Stinky Face fans everywhere will love dropping in on their favorite mom and son during the magical Christmas season!

Add to list
Are You Eating Candy without Me?
Written by Draga Jenny Malesevic & illustrated by Charlotte Bruijn
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

In this delightfully illustrated picture book, readers explore the original FOMO (Fear of Missing Out) as four children imagine what wild, zany, and impossible adventures the adults in their lives must surely get up to when they are not with them.

Four different children from three different families ponder what the adults in their lives do during the day. Are they jumping on trampolines? Are they eating cake and ice cream while riding birthday ponies? Are they eating candy with other adults? After a series of hilariously illustrated and wildly imaginative scenarios, readers learn an important lesson: The adults who love them think about them constantly and are most definitely, certainly, ABSOLUTELY . . . not eating candy without them. Or are they?

Add to list
Cece Loves Science
Written by Kimberly Derting and Shelli R. Johannes & illustrated by Vashti Harrison
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Cece loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, Cece asks one of life’s most pressing questions: Do dogs eat vegetables? Cece and her best friend, Isaac, head to the lab to find out.

This picture book is perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, and anyone who enjoys asking questions.

Cece’s parents say she was born curious. She asks: Why? How? What if? When her teacher, Ms. Curie, assigns a science project, Cece knows just what to ask—do dogs eat vegetables? She teams up with her best friend, Isaac, and her dog, Einstein, to discover the answer. They investigate, research, collect data, and analyze, using Einstein as their case study. Their final conclusion is surprising, and a lot of fun!

Illustrated by Vashti Harrison, whose Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History is a New York Times bestseller and an NAACP Image Award winner. Cece Loves Science is just right for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer; What Do You Do with an Idea?; and anyone who loves learning.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

    Suggested Links