Questions: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about questions?

As you can see, this list of kids books about questions is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about questions, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Do Princesses Wear Hiking Boots? book
#1
Do Princesses Wear Hiking Boots?
Written by Carmela LaVigna Coyle and illustrated by Carl Gordon and Mike Gordon
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

Every inquisitive little girl wonders what it is really like to be a genuine princess. At the heart of Do Princesses Wear Hiking Boots? lives an energetic, spirited, and contemporary child who has lots of important questions for her mom. Do princesses ride tricycles, climb trees, do chores, or have to eat the crusts of their bread? The mother’s voice is timelessly reassuring as she answers her daughter’s questions and advises her that being like a princess has to do with what we are on the inside.

Merry Christmas, Stinky Face book
#2
Merry Christmas, Stinky Face
Written by Lisa McCourt and illustrated by Cyd Moore
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Stinky Face loves Christmastime, but he still has plenty of questions. Luckily, his imaginative Mama knows just how to reassure him.

Stinky Face fans everywhere will love dropping in on their favorite mom and son during the magical Christmas season!

Cece Loves Science book
#3
Cece Loves Science
Written by Shelli R. Johannes and Kimberly Derting and illustrated by Vashti Harrison
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Cece loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, Cece asks one of life’s most pressing questions: Do dogs eat vegetables? Cece and her best friend, Isaac, head to the lab to find out.

This picture book is perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, and anyone who enjoys asking questions.

Cece’s parents say she was born curious. She asks: Why? How? What if? When her teacher, Ms. Curie, assigns a science project, Cece knows just what to ask—do dogs eat vegetables? She teams up with her best friend, Isaac, and her dog, Einstein, to discover the answer. They investigate, research, collect data, and analyze, using Einstein as their case study. Their final conclusion is surprising, and a lot of fun!

Illustrated by Vashti Harrison, whose Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History is a New York Times bestseller and an NAACP Image Award winner. Cece Loves Science is just right for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer; What Do You Do with an Idea?; and anyone who loves learning.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!