Best Children's Books About Stuffed animal friends

20 Children's Books About Stuffed animal friends

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Hop Along Boo, Time for Bed book
#1
Hop Along Boo, Time for Bed
Written by Mark Sperring and illustrated by Mandy Sutcliffe
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Join Belle and her bunny, Boo, as they follow ballerinas, cowboys, pirates, and others through dreamy fantasies to a cozy bed of their own. Gentle rhymes and luminous illustrations will help little ones wind down and tuck in for a good night's sleep. This lullaby journey is as captivating and soothing as any parent or child could want — by the end, there won't be an open eye in the house! Belle & Boo is a British lifestyle brand known for original, nostalgic 'story book' illustrations of children. Visit them at belleandboo.com.

Lion's Lullaby book
#2
Lion's Lullaby
Written by Mij Kelly and illustrated by Holly Clifton-Brown
picture book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

With the help of hugs and lullabies, a young girl tucks her stuffed animals into bed, one by one, in this cuddly good-night read. Holly Clifton-Brown's soft palette and adorable illustrations paired with Mij Kelly's comforting rhyming text set the perfect tone for bedtime.

Harry and Horsie book
#3
Harry and Horsie
Written by Katie Van Camp and illustrated by Lincoln Agnew
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

When a boy named Harry sneaks out of bed one night with his best friend, Horsie, to play with his Super Duper Bubble Blooper -- an out-of-this-world adventure begins! Illustrated with retro-comic art, this is a charming story about the power of friendship and imagination from a talented new team.

Brave Enough for Two book
#4
Brave Enough for Two
Written and illustrated by Jonathan D. Voss
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

In the spirit of "Goodnight Moon" and "The Night Gardener" comes a heartwarming picture book about a little girl, her stuffed-animal owl, and their loving friendship from debut author-illustrator Voss. Full color.

Lionheart book
#5
Lionheart
Written and illustrated by Richard Collingridge
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Richard hears something in his room before bedtime. Is it a monster? He doesn't wait to find out and sets off running through the streets, over the hills, through the forest, and into the fields until he finds himself in a magical jungle. With the help of his stuffed lion Lionheart, Richard finds the courage he needs to face his fears.

Corduroy book
#6
Corduroy
Written and illustrated by Don Freeman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Corduroy was first introduced to readers in 1968, and in the fifty years since, his adventures have never stopped. Corduroy has been on the department store shelf for a long time. Yet as soon as Lisa sees him, she knows that he’s the bear for her. Her mother, though, thinks he’s a little shopworn—he’s even missing a button! Still, Corduroy knows that with a bit of work he can tidy himself up and be just the bear for Lisa. And where better to start than with a nighttime adventure through the department store, searching for a new button! Celebrate 50 years of this irresistible childhood classic, a heartwarming story about a little bear and a little girl finding the friend they have always wanted in each other.

Sharkee & the Teddy Bear book
#7
Sharkee & the Teddy Bear
Written and illustrated by Ripley Publishing
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Brand new picture books from Ripley’s feature fun and engaging stories around two favorite Ripley’s Aquarium mascots—Sharkee the sand tiger shark and Bremner the pufferfish. Filled with expressive illustrations, silly situations, and lovable characters, kids and parents alike will be enchanted by each of these charming “tails”! A teddy bear has fallen into the ocean, but there were witnesses. And they want the teddy bear. Join Sharkee and his sassy sidekick as they search for the bear, stopping to ask all sorts of marine animals along the way with varying degrees of silliness. Told from Sharkee’s point of view, this bubbly tail will have young readers giggling at Sharkee’s hilarious encounters and parents entertained by the adorable ending. Will Sharkee ever find the teddy bear? There’s only one way to find out!

Where's My Teddy? book
#8
Where's My Teddy?
Written and illustrated by Jez Alborough
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Eddy’s lost his teddy, Freddy, so he goes off into the woods in search of the missing bear. The dark, horrible woods hold a gigantic surprise for Eddy, who discovers his teddy bear has grown much too big to cuddle. Could it be a case of mistaken identity? Fast-paced and fun, this comedy of errors from beloved children’s illustrator Jez Alborough has delighted young readers for two and a half decades.

Bear at the Beach and Other Adventures book
#9
Bear at the Beach and Other Adventures
Written and illustrated by Clay Carmichael
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

In Bear at the Beach & Others Adventures, kids and parents will find a collection of three stories from writer and illustrator Clay Carmichael. The loveable and stuffed Bear is center stage, taking on adventures of the heart at home and afar. In Bear at the Beach, our plush protagonist sets out to find a father who will love him unconditionally, but learns that his little girl, Clara, gives him all the love he needs. In Used-Up Bear, time has left our favorite stuffed toy in dire, threadbare straits. Will Clara throw Bear away in favor of a shiny new toy? The surprising and heart-warming conclusion cements Bear's place in Clara's life. Bear loses Clara in Lonesome Bear, and befriends new toys on his search for his best friend. Full of emotions that young children can relate to, Clay Carmichael's endearing collection is a gentle introduction to reading

Night Play book
#10
Night Play
Written and illustrated by Lizi Boyd
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

It's time for bed. Everyone is asleep. Or are they? Arlo and his stuffed animal friends like to put on pretend plays. But after Arlo falls asleep, his friends don't want to stop. Can they work together to put on their play? Through fanciful paintings and a lively text, Lizi Boyd has once again tapped into the imaginary world of children. Her hallmark use of die-cut pages, along with a showstopping gatefold, will have readers of all ages shouting "Bravo!"

Poppy's Best Paper book
#11
Poppy's Best Paper
Written by Susan Eaddy and illustrated by Rosalinde Bonnet
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams—and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

Moonlight Bear book
#12
Moonlight Bear
Written and illustrated by Rosie Wellesley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

A gentle soothing story for young children at bedtime with lovely soft artwork by the popular illustrator of The Very Helpful Hedgehog and The Very Best Sheepdog. A special glow-in-the-dark moon on the cover adds to the fun. Eva drifts off to sleep with her favourite teddy bear. When she wakes in the night. Bear is gone. She looks all over her room only to find that her teddy has turned into a real bear.

Hoorade Day! book
#13
Hoorade Day!
Written by Nancy Raines Day and illustrated by Cornelius Van Wright
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

It is the Fourth of July, and a young girl and her parents are off to see the town's big parade--Hoorade Day! Boosted up on daddy s shoulders, the girl excitedly waves to her family members in the parade and joyfully describes each section. From the bleats and bangs of the marching band to the graceful twirls of the ribbon dancers, the little girl spots it all, reciting simple, rhyming cheers that complement the bright illustrations of the diverse community on each page. Narrated in jolly, lively verse, Hoorade Day! celebrates the birthday of a nation founded on principles of unity and hope. It will delight children and adults alike, keeping them smiling to the very last page.

Little Rabbit book
#14
Little Rabbit
Written and illustrated by Nicola Killen
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From beloved author/illustrator Nicola Killen comes an enchanting spring story about a magical friendship between a little girl and her stuffed rabbit who comes to life, lovingly told and illustrated in limited color with lovely foil and interactive die cut pages. Ollie and her favorite friend bunny have been waiting for the rain to stop and spring to come, and at long last the sun arrives. Ollie puts on her rain boots, wraps bunny in a warm scarf, and the two set off for exploring. Then a sudden breeze whispers past and bunny’s nose twitches and their magical adventure begins… The Little Rabbit is sure to enchant and charm young readers and is great for sharing with a friend.

Bear in the Air book
#15
Bear in the Air
Written by Susan Meyers
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

Lost by the child who loves him, a devoted teddy bear begins an amazing seaside journey home that involves an ocean swim, a flight with seagulls and a sailor's assistance. By the award-winning author of Puppies! Puppies! Puppies!

Knuffle Bunny book
#16
Knuffle Bunny
Written and illustrated by Mo Willems
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Trixie, Daddy, and Knuffle Bunny take a trip to the neighborhood Laundromat. But the exciting adventure takes a dramatic turn when Trixie realizes somebunny was left behind? Using a combination of muted black-and-white photographs and expressive illustrations, this stunning book tells a brilliantly true-to-life tale about what happens when Daddy's in charge and things go terribly, hilariously wrong.

Elmer and the Lost Teddy book
#17
Elmer and the Lost Teddy
Written and illustrated by David McKee
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-5

Baby Elephant cannot get to sleep when he loses his teddy bear, so Elmer sets out to find it.

Sam and Jump book
#18
Sam and Jump
Written and illustrated by Jennifer K Mann
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Sam and his stuffed bunny, Jump, are best friends, and they do everything together. One day, on a trip to the beach, Sam meets Thomas. Sam and Thomas play together all day and promise to do the same the next day. But when Sam gets home he realizes Jump is still at the beach! It’s too late and too dark to go find him, and Sam worries all night. What if Jump is nowhere to be found? Can Sam brave the world without his best friend? Little ones with their own cherished toys will be drawn to this reassuring story about losing something dear only to gain something even better.

Bunny Boo Has Lost Her Teddy book
#19
Bunny Boo Has Lost Her Teddy
Written and illustrated by Nosy Crow
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Getting ready for bedtime but unable to find her teddy bear, little Bunny Boo looks everywhere, finding other stuffed friends during her search.

Never Ever book
#20
Never Ever
Written and illustrated by Jo Empson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8

Follow a little girl and her stuffed rabbit as she wanders through a meadow complaining that nothing exciting happens to her, until it does.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.