Sarah Glenn Marsh

Sarah Glenn Marsh is the author of the young adult Reign of the Fallen series, as well as the novel Fear the Drowning Deep. She also writes children's picture books including A Campfire Tail, Selfie Sebastian, The Bug Girl, and Ninita's Big World: The True Story of a Deaf Pygmy Marmoset. She lives in Richmond, Virginia with her husband, a whole lot of books, and her own little zoo of four rescued sighthounds, two cockatiels, and many fish.

Most Recent Book
Ninita's Big World book

Impact of Reading in My Life

I've always been a bookworm. One of my earliest memories is of picking up books in preschool and sounding the words out to my teacher's delight. My parents encouraged my love of books at every opportunity, like presenting me with my first library card (which I used to bring home stacks of Ramona and Amelia Bedelia), reading together, and finding books to give me that spoke to my interests, like Goosebumps and Nancy Drew (I've always loved the spooky, and still do), and Saddle Club (when I got into horse riding).

But perhaps the most impactful moment reading had on my life was the time my dad handed me a battered, well-loved copy of The Hobbit. I put up a bit of resistance at first- the book looked old! How could it be interesting? The pages were so yellow!- but once I started reading, I was hooked. The Hobbit helped me realize that authors could create entire new worlds, and fill those worlds with people and creatures that only existed in their minds- what a powerful thing! My dad handing me that book sparked a lifelong love of the fantasy genre and my love of writing. The ability to transport readers to another world is, for me, one of the best parts of my job.


Do you have any favorite memories of childhood reading?

My dad and I used to read several books a night together! Sometimes, the books we'd choose would prompt him to share fun memories and stories from his own childhood, which I loved and still remember. Reading together was the thing I looked forward to most after school, and helped me to really know my dad. Sometimes, my mom or grandparents would read to me as well- they all did a great job, and never disappointed!

Do you have any upcoming books you can tell us about?

I have several picture books coming out next year, and the year after--expect lots of nonfiction about amazing women and one determined, adorable marmoset!

Do you have a favorite children’s book?

Absolutely. My favorite book(s) from childhood were the Angus series by Marjorie Flack, about a sweet and curious Scottish terrier. My mom read those to me countless times- somehow, they've still survived, and I look forward to passing them on to my own children one day!

picture Books

animals · disabilities · being yourself · biography · activism · baby animals · environment · facing fears · making friends
Ninita's Big World
explorers · adventure · bugs and insects
The Bug Girl
foxes · friendship · animals · electronics · making friends · being yourself · technology
Selfie Sebastian
A Campfire Tale book
camping · making friends · dragons · being different
A Campfire Tale


Florence Weiser
Stephanie Fizer Coleman
Filippo Vanzo
Ana Gomez
Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More