Caldecott Medal Books

Winners from 1938 to 2021

What's the Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

2021 Caldecott Medal Winners

Add to list
We Are Water Protectors
Written by Carole Lindstrom & illustrated by Michaela Goade
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Inspired by the many Indigenous-led movements across North America, Carole Lindstrom’s bold and lyrical picture book We Are Water Protectors issues an urgent rallying cry to safeguarding the Earth’s water from harm and corruption.

Water is the first medicine. It affects and connects us all . . .

When a black snake threatens to destroy the Earth And poison her people’s water, one young water protector Takes a stand to defend Earth’s most sacred resource.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $49.07
Prices as of Mar 8
Add to list
A Place Inside of Me: A Poem to Heal the Heart
Written by Zetta Elliott & illustrated by Noa Denmon
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

In this powerful, affirming poem by award-winning author Zetta Elliott, a Black child explores his shifting emotions throughout the year.

There is a place inside of me
a space deep down inside of me
where all my feelings hide.

Summertime is filled with joy―skateboarding and playing basketballuntil his community is deeply wounded by a police shooting. As fall turns to winter and then spring, fear grows into anger, then pride and peace.

In her stunning debut, illustrator Noa Denmon articulates the depth and nuances of a child’s experiences following a police shooting―through grief and protests, healing and community―with washes of color as vibrant as his words.

Here is a groundbreaking narrative that can help all readers―children and adults alike―talk about the feelings hiding deep inside each of us.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Mar 8
Add to list
Outside In
Written by Deborah Underwood & illustrated by Cindy Derby
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

From the New York Times best-selling author behind _The Quiet Book _comes a mindful contemplation on the many ways nature affects our everyday lives, perfect for fans of Joyce Sidman and Julie Fogliano. 

Outside is waiting, the most patient playmate of all. The most generous friend. The most miraculous inventor. This thought-provoking picture book poetically underscores our powerful and enduring connection with nature, not so easily obscured by lives spent indoors.
Rhythmic, powerful language shows us how our world is made and the many ways Outside comes in to help and heal us, and reminds us that we are all part of a much greater universe. Emotive illustrations evoke the beauty, simplicity, and wonder that await us all . . . outside.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $22.72
Prices as of Mar 8
Add to list
Me & Mama
Written & illustrated by Cozbi A. Cabrera
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Mama's love is brighter than the sun, even on the rainiest of days. This celebration of a mother-daughter relationship is perfect for sharing with little ones!
Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$16.20
Used $9.39
Prices as of Mar 8
Add to list
The Cat Man of Aleppo
Written by Karim Shamsi-Basha and Irene Latham & illustrated by Yuko Shimizu
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
The courageous and true story of Mohammad Alaa Aljaleel, who in the midst of the Syrian Civil War offered safe haven to Aleppo's abandoned cats.
Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$16.20
Used $12.36
Prices as of Mar 8

    All Caldecott Medal Winners

    Multiple Award Winners

    Karim Shamsi-Basha, Yuko Shimizu, Irene Latham
    Picture book
    Add to list
    Bryan Collier, Troy “Trombone Shorty” Andrews
    Picture book
    6.1
    Add to list
    Melissa Sweet, Jen Bryant
    Picture book
    Add to list
    Jerry Pinkney
    Picture book
    4.9
    Add to list
    Susan Marie Swanson, Beth Krommes
    Board book
    5.0
    Add to list
    David Wiesner
    Picture book
    4.8
    Add to list
    Eric Rohmann
    Picture book
    5.0
    Add to list
    David Wiesner
    Picture book
    4.8
    Add to list
    Judith St. George, David Small
    Picture book
    4.3
    Add to list
    Paul O. Zelinsky
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    David Wiesner
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    David Macaulay
    Picture book
    5.0
    Add to list
    Karen Ackerman, Stephen Gammell
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    Arthur Yorinks, Richard Egielski
    Picture book
    4.0
    Add to list
    Margaret Hodges, Trina Schart Hyman
    Picture book
    5.3
    Add to list
    Marcia Brown, Blaise Cendrars
    Picture book
    Add to list
    Chris Van Allsburg
    Picture book
    5.5
    Add to list
    Arnold Lobel
    Picture book
    Add to list
    Donald Hall, Barbara Cooney
    Picture book
    3.0
    Add to list
    Peter Spier
    Picture book
    5.3
    Add to list
    Margaret Musgrove, Diane Dillon, Leo Dillon
    Picture book
    5.0
    Add to list
    Verna Aardema, Leo Dillon, Diane Dillon
    Picture book
    5.0
    Add to list
    Gerald McDermott
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    Harve Zemach, Margot Zemach
    Picture book
    Add to list
    Nonny Hogrogian
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    Gail E. Haley
    Picture book
    5.5
    Add to list
    Arthur Ransome, Uri Shulevitz
    Picture book
    3.0
    Add to list
    Barbara Emberley, Ed Emberley
    Picture book
    3.8
    Add to list
    Evaline Ness
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    Beatrice Schenk de Regniers, Beni Montresor
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    Marie Hall Ets, Aurora Labastida
    Picture book
    4.8
    Add to list
    Geoffrey Chaucer, Barbara Cooney
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    Robert McCloskey
    Picture book
    Add to list
    Janice May Udry, Marc Simont
    Picture book
    5.1
    Add to list
    John Langstaff, Feodor Rojankovsky
    Picture book
    3.8
    Add to list
    Marcia Brown, Charles Perrault
    Picture book
    5.0
    Add to list
    Lynd Ward
    Picture book
    5.0
    Add to list
    Will Lipkind, Mordvinoff Nicolas
    Picture book
    Add to list
    Katherine Milhous
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Leo Politi
    Picture book
    4.0
    Add to list
    Berta Hader, Elmer Hader
    Picture book
    3.5
    Add to list
    Alvin Tresselt, Roger Duvoisin
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    Margaret Wise Brown, Leonard Weisgard
    Picture book
    4.3
    Add to list
    Maud Petersham, Miska Petersham
    Picture book
    4.0
    Add to list
    Rachel Field, Elizabeth Orton Jones
    Picture book
    4.3
    Add to list
    James Thurber, Louis Slobodkin
    Picture book
    Add to list
    Virginia Lee Burton
    Picture book
    5.5
    Add to list
    Ingri D'Aulaire, Edgar Parin D'Aulaire
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    Thomas Handforth
    Picture book
    Add to list
    Helen Dean Fish, Dorothy P Lathrop
    Picture book
    Add to list

    Suggested Links