Caldecott Medal Books

Winners from 1938 to 2020

What's the Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

2020 Caldecott Medal Winners

Add to list
The Undefeated
Written by Kwame Alexander & illustrated by Kadir Nelson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

The Newbery Award-winning author of THE CROSSOVER pens an ode to black American triumph and tribulation, with art from a two-time Caldecott Honoree.

Originally performed for ESPN’s The Undefeated, this poem is a love letter to black life in the United States. It highlights the unspeakable trauma of slavery, the faith and fire of the civil rights movement, and the grit, passion, and perseverance of some of the world’s greatest heroes. The text is also peppered with references to the words of Martin Luther King, Jr., Langston Hughes, Gwendolyn Brooks, and others, offering deeper insights into the accomplishments of the past, while bringing stark attention to the endurance and spirit of those surviving and thriving in the present. Robust back matter at the end provides valuable historical context and additional detail for those wishing to learn more.

Add to list
Bear Came Along
Written by Richard T. Morris & illustrated by LeUyen Pham
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-6

A cheerful and action-packed adventure about the importance of friendship and community from a successful author and illustrator duo!

Once there was a river flowing through a forest. The river didn’t know it was capable of adventures until a big bear came along. But adventures aren’t any fun by yourself, and so enters Froggy, Turtles, Beaver, Racoons, and Duck. These very different animals take off downstream, but they didn’t know they needed one another until thankfully, the river came along.

This hilarious picture book and heartfelt message celebrates the joy and fun that’s in store when you embark together on a ride of a lifetime.

Add to list
Double Bass Blues
Written by Andrea J Loney & illustrated by Rudy Gutierrez
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A joyous celebration of family, community, and the unifying power of music, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street.

Nic is an aspiring musician whose life spans two different worlds—his suburban school where he wows his friends in orchestra, and the busy city streets of his home where he’s jostled by the crowd. Nic makes his way home from a busy day at school with a double bass on his back, the symphony of his surroundings in his heart, and a sweet surprise for the reader at the end of his journey. This is a sweet, melodious picture book about how dedication, music, and family can overcome any obstacle.

Add to list
Going Down Home with Daddy
Written by Kelly Starling Lyons & illustrated by Daniel Minter
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

“On reunion morning, we rise before the sun. Daddy hums as he packs our car with suitcases and a cooler full of snacks. He says there’s nothing like going down home.” Down home is Granny’s house. Down home is where Lil’ Alan and his parents and sister will join great-grandparents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins. Down home is where Lil’ Alan will hear stories of the ancestors and visit the land that has meant so much to all of them. And down home is where all of the children will find their special way to pay tribute to family history. All the kids have to decide on what tribute to share, but what will Lil’ Alan do? In this rich and moving celebration of history, culture, and ritual, Kelly Starling Lyons’ eloquent text explores the power of family traditions. Stunning illustrations by Coretta Scott King Honor-winner Daniel Minter reveal the motion and connections in a large, multigenerational family.

    All Caldecott Medal Winners

    Multiple Award Winners

    Trombone Shorty book
    Troy “Trombone Shorty” Andrews, Bryan Collier
    Picture book
    6.1
    Add to list
    Right Word: Roget and His Thesaurus book
    Melissa Sweet, Jen Bryant
    Picture book
    Add to list
    The Lion & the Mouse book
    Jerry Pinkney
    Picture book
    4.9
    Add to list
    The House in the Night book
    Susan Marie Swanson, Beth Krommes
    Board book
    5.0
    Add to list
    Flotsam book
    David Wiesner
    Picture book
    4.8
    Add to list
    My Friend Rabbit book
    Eric Rohmann
    Picture book
    5.0
    Add to list
    The Three Pigs book
    David Wiesner
    Picture book
    4.8
    Add to list
    So You Want to be President? book
    Judith St. George, David Small
    Picture book
    4.3
    Add to list
    Rapunzel book
    Paul O. Zelinsky
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    Tuesday book
    David Wiesner
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    Black and White book
    David Macaulay
    Picture book
    5.0
    Add to list
    Song and Dance Man book
    Karen Ackerman, Stephen Gammell
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    Hey, Al book
    Arthur Yorinks, Richard Egielski
    Picture book
    4.0
    Add to list
    Saint George and the Dragon book
    Margaret Hodges, Trina Schart Hyman
    Picture book
    5.3
    Add to list
    Shadow book
    Marcia Brown, Blaise Cendrars
    Picture book
    Add to list
    Jumanji book
    Chris Van Allsburg
    Picture book
    5.5
    Add to list
    Fables book
    Arnold Lobel
    Picture book
    Add to list
    Ox-cart Man book
    Donald Hall, Barbara Cooney
    Picture book
    3.0
    Add to list
    Noah's Ark book
    Peter Spier
    Picture book
    5.3
    Add to list
    Ashanti to Zulu book
    Margaret Musgrove, Diane Dillon, Leo Dillon
    Picture book
    5.0
    Add to list
    Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears book
    Verna Aardema, Leo Dillon, Diane Dillon
    Picture book
    5.0
    Add to list
    Arrow to the Sun book
    Gerald McDermott
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    Duffy and the Devil book
    Harve Zemach, Margot Zemach
    Picture book
    Add to list
    One Fine Day book
    Nonny Hogrogian
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    A Story, a Story book
    Gail E. Haley
    Picture book
    5.5
    Add to list
    The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship book
    Arthur Ransome, Uri Shulevitz
    Picture book
    3.0
    Add to list
    Drummer Hoff book
    Barbara Emberley, Ed Emberley
    Picture book
    3.8
    Add to list
    Sam, Bangs & Moonshine book
    Evaline Ness
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    May I Bring a Friend? book
    Beatrice Schenk de Regniers, Beni Montresor
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    Nine Days to Christmas book
    Marie Hall Ets, Aurora Labastida
    Picture book
    4.8
    Add to list
    Chanticleer and the Fox book
    Geoffrey Chaucer, Barbara Cooney
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    Time of Wonder book
    Robert McCloskey
    Picture book
    Add to list
    A Tree is Nice book
    Janice May Udry, Marc Simont
    Picture book
    5.1
    Add to list
    Frog Went A-courtin' book
    John Langstaff, Feodor Rojankovsky
    Picture book
    3.8
    Add to list
    Cinderella book
    Marcia Brown, Charles Perrault
    Picture book
    5.0
    Add to list
    The Biggest Bear book
    Lynd Ward
    Picture book
    5.0
    Add to list
    Finders Keepers book
    Will Lipkind, Mordvinoff Nicolas
    Picture book
    Add to list
    The Egg Tree book
    Katherine Milhous
    Chapter book
    Add to list
    Song of the Swallows book
    Leo Politi
    Picture book
    4.0
    Add to list
    The Big Snow book
    Berta Hader, Elmer Hader
    Picture book
    3.5
    Add to list
    White Snow, Bright Snow book
    Alvin Tresselt, Roger Duvoisin
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    The Little Island book
    Margaret Wise Brown, Leonard Weisgard
    Picture book
    4.3
    Add to list
    The Rooster Crows book
    Maud Petersham, Miska Petersham
    Picture book
    4.0
    Add to list
    Prayer for a Child book
    Rachel Field, Elizabeth Orton Jones
    Picture book
    4.3
    Add to list
    Many Moons book
    James Thurber, Louis Slobodkin
    Picture book
    Add to list
    The Little House book
    Virginia Lee Burton
    Picture book
    5.5
    Add to list
    Abraham Lincoln book
    Ingri D'Aulaire, Edgar Parin D'Aulaire
    Picture book
    4.5
    Add to list
    MEI LI book
    Thomas Handforth
    Picture book
    Add to list
    Animals of the Bible book
    Helen Dean Fish, Dorothy P Lathrop
    Picture book
    Add to list

    Suggested Links