The Definitive Guide to

Outside In

Written by Deborah Underwood & illustrated by Cindy Derby
Published by HMH Books
Goodreads Rating - 4.2 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Mar 7
$17.99
Retail Price
$15.29
Bookshop
$17.99
used $17.99
Amazon
Apr 14, 2020
Publication Date
40
Pages
4-7
Target Age

What's Outside In About

Publisher Summary

From the New York Times best-selling author behind _The Quiet Book _comes a mindful contemplation on the many ways nature affects our everyday lives, perfect for fans of Joyce Sidman and Julie Fogliano. 

Outside is waiting, the most patient playmate of all. The most generous friend. The most miraculous inventor. This thought-provoking picture book poetically underscores our powerful and enduring connection with nature, not so easily obscured by lives spent indoors.
Rhythmic, powerful language shows us how our world is made and the many ways Outside comes in to help and heal us, and reminds us that we are all part of a much greater universe. Emotive illustrations evoke the beauty, simplicity, and wonder that await us all . . . outside.

What Kind of Book is Outside In

Quotes from Outside In

  • “Once we were part of Outside and Outside was part of us.”
  • “Outside feeds us. Sun, rain, and seeds become warm bread and berries.”

Book Lists That Include Outside In

Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Book Topics › science and nature
Children's Books About Science And Nature
Book Topics › imagination and play
Children's Books About Imagination And Play
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Outside In

author
Deborah Underwood

Deborah Underwood has written many picture books, including Interstellar Cinderella and New York Times bestsellers The Quiet Book, The Loud Book, and Here Comes the Easter Cat.

View Author

Who Illustrated Outside In

illustrator
Cindy Derby

<b>Cindy Derby </b>is an author, illustrator, and puppeteer. She has been a Grand Prize Winner of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators Portfolio Award and her debut picture book <i>How to Walk an Ant </i>publishes this spring. She lives in San Francisco, California.

View Illustrator

What Has Deborah Underwood Said About Outside In

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Deborah know that you want more details about Outside In!

What Has Cindy Derby Said About Outside In

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Cindy know that you want more details about Outside In!

Deborah Underwood's Book Dedication

For Kate

Cindy Derby's Book Dedication

For my dear friend Amanda Gaughan

Did Outside In Win Any Awards

You bet it did. Check it out below!

More Books From These Creatives

Deborah Underwood, Claudia Rueda
Picture book
5.3
Add to list
Deborah Underwood, Renata Liwska
Board book
5.1
Add to list
Deborah Underwood, Renata Liwska
Picture book
4.6
Add to list
Deborah Underwood, Claudia Rueda
Picture book
4.6
Add to list
Deborah Underwood
Picture book
4.5
Add to list
Deborah Underwood, Cambria Evans
Picture book
4.5
Add to list

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Outside In

Book Details

ISBN:
9781328866820
Publication Date:
April 14, 2020
Text Details:
The text type was set in Expo Sans Pro. The display type was hand-lettered by Cindy Derby.
Illustration Details:
Illustrations for this book were made with watercolor and powdered graphite on cold press paper. Some of the lines were created with dried flower stems and thread soaked in ink.
WorldCat Number (OCLC):
1089883886
ASIN/ISBN 10:
1328866823
Lexile® Level:
AD490L

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 70%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 21%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.