Outside In
Outside In
4.3/5
Goodreads

Outside In

Written by Deborah Underwood & illustrated by Cindy Derby
Hardcover
$17.99
$16.73
4 - 7
Reading age
40
Page count
AD490L
Lexile measure
Apr 14, 2020
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's Outside In About

Publisher Summary

From the New York Times best-selling author behind _The Quiet Book _comes a mindful contemplation on the many ways nature affects our everyday lives, perfect for fans of Joyce Sidman and Julie Fogliano.  Outside is waiting, the most patient playmate of all. The most generous friend. The most miraculous inventor. This thought-provoking picture book poetically underscores our powerful and enduring connection with nature, not so easily obscured by lives spent indoors. Rhythmic, powerful language shows us how our world is made and the many ways Outside comes in to help and heal us, and reminds us that we are all part of a much greater universe. Emotive illustrations evoke the beauty, simplicity, and wonder that await us all . . . outside.

What Kind of Book is Outside In

Topics

Genres

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include Outside In

    The Creatives Behind the Book

    Awards Given to Outside In

    What Has Deborah Underwood Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Deborah Underwood know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    What Has Cindy Derby Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Cindy Derby know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    More Books From These Creatives

      picture • 48 Pages
      The Boy and the Gorilla
      Jackie Azúa Kramer, Cindy Derby
      board • 32 Pages
      The Quiet Book
      5.1
      #1 in Series
      Deborah Underwood, Renata Liwska
      picture • 88 Pages
      Here Comes Teacher Cat
      Deborah Underwood, Claudia Rueda
      picture • 32 Pages
      Finding Kindness
      Deborah Underwood, Irene Chan
      picture • 32 Pages
      Monster and Mouse Go Camping
      Deborah Underwood, Jared Chapman
      picture • 32 Pages
      Bad Bye, Good Bye
      Deborah Underwood, Jonathan Bean
      picture • 40 Pages
      Granny Gomez & Jigsaw
      Deborah Underwood, Scott Magoon
      picture • 48 Pages
      Two Many Birds
      Cindy Derby
      picture • 40 Pages
      Walrus in the Bathtub
      Deborah Underwood, Matt Hunt
      picture • 40 Pages
      Ducks!
      4.6
      Deborah Underwood, T. L. McBeth
      picture • 48 Pages
      The Panda Problem
      4.5
      Deborah Underwood
      picture • 40 Pages
      Ogilvy
      4.5
      Deborah Underwood, T. L. McBeth
      View more

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Outside In

      picture • 40 Pages
      Look at Me!: How to Attract Attention in the Animal World
      Robin Page, Steve Jenkins
      picture • 32 Pages
      One Earth
      Eileen Spinelli, Rogerio Coelho
      picture • 32 Pages
      The Earth Gives More
      Sue Fliess, Christiane Engel
      picture • 32 Pages
      Ants in Your Pants, Worms in Your Plants!
      Diane de Groat
      picture • 40 Pages
      Ask Me
      Bernard Waber, Suzy Lee
      picture • 40 Pages
      Anywhere Artist
      Nikki Slade Robinson
      picture • 40 Pages
      Animal City
      4.5
      Joan Negrescolor
      picture • 32 Pages
      Thank You, Bees
      4.1
      Toni Yuly
      picture • 40 Pages
      Speediest! 19 Very Fast Animals
      Steve Jenkins
      picture • 40 Pages
      Xander's Panda Party
      5.8
      Linda Sue Park, Matt Phelan

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781328866820
    Publication Date
    April 14, 2020
    Publisher
    HMH Books
    Text Details
    The text type was set in Expo Sans Pro. The display type was hand-lettered by Cindy Derby.
    Illustration Details
    Illustrations for this book were made with watercolor and powdered graphite on cold press paper. Some of the lines were created with dried flower stems and thread soaked in ink.
    Page Count
    40
    Audience
    Picture
    Reading Age
    4 - 7 years
    WorldCat Number (OCLC)
    1089883886
    Lexile® Level
    AD490L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~M
    Est. ATOS® Book Level
    ~3.3

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 90%

    So, SO close to perfection!

    Depth Score - 21%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @laurarenauld
    35
    02
    @thegoodfather
    5

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo