Discover

Company
Class Act Book
Class Act Book
A BookrooView of

Class Act

Written by Kelly Starling Lyons and illustrated by Vanessa Brantley-Newton

Published by Penguin Workshop

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy rooting for Jada Jones as she runs for student council in this easy-to-read chapter book. As a candidate for class representative, Jada is ready to give the campaign her all. But when rumors start to fly about her secret fear of public speaking, she isn't sure who she can trust. And the pressure to make promises she can't keep only adds to her growing list of problems. Is winning even worth it when friendships are on the line? This easy-to-read story--with plenty of pictures and a charming, relatable cast of characters--is a sure winner. The early chapter book bridges between leveled readers and chapter books for fluent readers adjusting to the chapter book format. At about 5,000 words, with short chapters and two-color art on almost every page, it will appeal to this unique reader. The two-color art throughout will help readers transition from the familiar four-color art of leveled readers and ease them into black-and-white chapter books.

Topics in Class Act

Details

  • Age Range: 6-8
  • Pages: 96
  • Book Type: chapter
  • Publication Date: September 19, 2017
  • ISBN: 045153428X
  • ISBN 13: 978-0451534286
Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More
BOOKROOVIEWERS

Looks like we don't have any reviews for Class Act yet!

author
Kelly Starling Lyons

Kelly Starling Lyons grew up in Pittsburgh. She is the award-winning author of several books for children including Ellen's Broom, a Coretta Scott King illustrator award book, and Hope's Gift.

View Author
Kelly Starling Lyons
illustrator
Vanessa Brantley-Newton

Vanessa Brantley-Newton is a self taught illustrator of more than 80 children's books. She first fell in love with picture books when she was read the Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats as a child. It was the first time Vanessa saw an image of a brown child that looked like her. Diversity is at the very heart of her illustrations and storytelling. She has written and illustrated three of her own books, Let Freedom Sing, Don't Let Auntie Mabel Bless The Table and Grandma's Purse. Vanessa wants every child to know the joy she felt when she saw herself in a picture book. "I want every child to know that I see you." Vanessa is a lover of music and food. When she isn't creating children's Books she is cooking or singing somewhere. She lives in NC with her husband of 25 years and her daughter Zoe.

View Illustrator
Vanessa Brantley-Newton

More books like Class Act

This Little Trailblazer: A Girl Power Primer book
6.8
famous people · innovation · historical figures · trying new things · female role models · bravery · strength
This Little Trailblazer: A Girl Power Primer
To the Sea book
6.7
Preschool · 100 Hidden Gem · making friends · kindness · calming reads for bedtime · problem solving · friendship · being nice · hard work · loneliness
To the Sea
We are Better Together book
5.8
teamwork · love · friendship · rhyming
We are Better Together
Best Friends: We Are A Family book
5.8
families · ice cream · rhyming · diversity · friendship · family · love
Best Friends: We Are A Family
When Your Llama Needs a Haircut book
5.5
haircut · animals · mischief · trying new things
When Your Llama Needs a Haircut
Too Many Carrots book
5.3
sharing · coping with failure · friendship · carrots
Too Many Carrots
Good Job, Athena! book
5.0
admitting you are wrong · friendship · mythology
Good Job, Athena!
Mini Myths: Make a Wish, Midas! book
5.0
anger · good behavior · mythology · art
Mini Myths: Make a Wish, Midas!

More books from these creatives

The Youngest Marcher book
5.3
courage · history · civil rights movement · activism · Martin Luther King, Jr.
The Youngest Marcher
The King of Kindergarten book
5.0
starting school
The King of Kindergarten
Mary Had a Little Glam book
4.5
nursery rhymes · getting dressed · fashion
Mary Had a Little Glam
Mary Had a Little Glam book
4.5
getting dressed · fashion · nursery rhymes
Mary Had a Little Glam
Grandma's Purse book
4.5
family history · love · grandma · family · hugs
Grandma's Purse
sleep · science · school · friendship
Sleepover Scientist
friendship · parties · sleep · technology · science
Sleepover Scientist #3
school · art · friendship · trying new things
Class Act
friendship · teachers · school · science
Rock Star
One More Dino on the Floor book
3.5
dance · interactive · playing · dinosaurs
One More Dino on the Floor
love · moms · family
A Night Out with Mama