The Definitive Guide to

Class Act

Written by Kelly Starling Lyons and illustrated by Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Published by Penguin Workshop
Goodreads Rating - 4.2 / 5.0
$15.99
List Price
6-8
Target Age
96
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's Class Act About

Publisher Summary

Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy rooting for Jada Jones as she runs for student council in this easy-to-read chapter book. As a candidate for class representative, Jada is ready to give the campaign her all. But when rumors start to fly about her secret fear of public speaking, she isn’t sure who she can trust. And the pressure to make promises she can’t keep only adds to her growing list of problems. Is winning even worth it when friendships are on the line? This easy-to-read story—with plenty of pictures and a charming, relatable cast of characters—is a sure winner. The early chapter book bridges between leveled readers and chapter books for fluent readers adjusting to the chapter book format. At about 5,000 words, with short chapters and two-color art on almost every page, it will appeal to this unique reader. The two-color art throughout will help readers transition from the familiar four-color art of leveled readers and ease them into black-and-white chapter books.

What Kind of Book is Class Act

Book Lists That Include Class Act

Book Lists › school
Children's Books About School
Book Lists › art
Children's Books About Art
Book Lists › friendship
Favorite Children's Books About Friendship
Book Lists › trying new things
Terrific Children's Books About Trying New Things
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Class Act

author
Kelly Starling Lyons

Kelly Starling Lyons grew up in Pittsburgh. She is the award-winning author of several books for children including Ellen's Broom, a Coretta Scott King illustrator award book, and Hope's Gift.

View Author

Who Illustrated Class Act

illustrator
Vanessa Brantley-Newton

Vanessa Brantley-Newton is a self taught illustrator of more than 80 children's books. She first fell in love with picture books when she was read the Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats as a child. It was the first time Vanessa saw an image of a brown child that looked like her. Diversity is at the very heart of her illustrations and storytelling. She has written and illustrated three of her own books, Let Freedom Sing, Don't Let Auntie Mabel Bless The Table and Grandma's Purse. Vanessa wants every child to know the joy she felt when she saw herself in a picture book. "I want every child to know that I see you." Vanessa is a lover of music and food. When she isn't creating children's Books she is cooking or singing somewhere. She lives in NC with her husband of 25 years and her daughter Zoe.

View Illustrator

What Has Kelly Starling Lyons Said About Class Act

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Kelly Starling Lyons know that we want more details from them about Class Act!

What Has Vanessa Brantley-Newton Said About Class Act

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Vanessa Brantley-Newton know that we want more details from them about Class Act!

More Books From These Creatives

The Youngest Marcher book
5.3
courage · history · civil rights movement · activism · Martin Luther King, Jr.
The Youngest Marcher
The King of Kindergarten book
5.0
starting school
The King of Kindergarten
Mary Had a Little Glam book
4.5
nursery rhymes · getting dressed · fashion
Mary Had a Little Glam
Mary Had a Little Glam book
4.5
getting dressed · fashion · nursery rhymes
Mary Had a Little Glam
Grandma's Purse book
4.5
family history · love · grandma · family · hugs
Grandma's Purse
Mama's Work Shoes book
4.5
transitions · grandma · working moms
Mama's Work Shoes
Female Scientists · sleep · science · school · friendship
Sleepover Scientist
friendship · parties · sleep · technology · science
Sleepover Scientist #3
friendship · teachers · school · science
Rock Star
Hannah Sparkles: Hooray for the First Day of School! book
4.0
making friends · being different · starting school
Hannah Sparkles: Hooray for the First Day of School!
Coretta Scott King Award Winners
Ellen's Broom
One More Dino on the Floor book
3.5
dance · dinosaurs
One More Dino on the Floor

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Class Act

Appleblossom the Possum book
6.8
animals · teamwork · dance · trying new things · problem solving · baby animals · siblings · rescue
Appleblossom the Possum
Anne of Green Gables (Puffin in Bloom) book
6.5
female role models · parties · friendship · moms · adoption
Anne of Green Gables (Puffin in Bloom)
Stuart Little book
6.5
animals · friendship · sleuthing · New York · mice · adventure
Stuart Little
The Trumpet of the Swan book
6.0
animals · musical-instruments · jobs and careers · music · trying new things · artists · confidence · being yourself · dads · friendship · love · trumpets · swans
The Trumpet of the Swan
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory book
5.9
imagination · food · chocolate · grandpa · hard work · kindness · honesty · friendship · bravery
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
The Best Bear in All the World book
5.8
seasons · friendship · stuffed animal friends · bears · choosing cheeriness · happiness · adventure
The Best Bear in All the World
The Magic Misfits book
5.8
family · friendship · making friends · LGBTQ · magic
The Magic Misfits
The Desperate Adventures of Zeno and Alya book
5.5
home · perseverance · friendship · making friends · illness · birds
The Desperate Adventures of Zeno and Alya

Book Details

ISBN 10:
045153428X
ISBN 13:
9780451534286
Publication Date:
September 19, 2017