New Kid
New Kid
5.8/7
Bookroo
4.2/5
Goodreads

New Kid

Written and illustrated by Jerry Craft
Book #1 in the New Kid Series
$22.99
$21.84
8 - 12
Reading age
256
Page count
54
Words per page
GN320L
Lexile measure
Feb 5, 2019
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's New Kid About

Publisher Summary

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

What Kind of Book is New Kid

Primarily about

Genres

Race, Ethnicities, & Nationalities

What Questions Should I Ask My Child

  • This story offers multiple opportunities to discuss weighty matters—explicit racism, systemic racism, social classes, preconceived stereotypes, misunderstandings, lack of self-esteem, and more. As a graphic novel, its read time is short, so consider taking time to have discussions about these important topics along the way as they arise and revisiting them and their resolution at the end of the story.
  • Some important points in the story are insightfully conveyed by the illustrations as they play out in the text. For example, Jordan expects he and Maury will have a lot in common. But as they visit, they realize they don't. At the same moment, Craft depicts them standing on two separate worlds. What point does this emphasize? Where else did you notice the illustrations telling part of the story?

Reviews

Book Lists That Include New Kid

The Creative Behind the Book

Trivia to Know About New Kid

Awards Given to New Kid

What Has Jerry Craft Said About This Book

Nothing yet! Let Jerry Craft know that you want to hear from them about their book.

More Books by Jerry Craft

    chapter • 228 Pages
    The Offenders: Saving the world, while serving detention!
    Jerry Craft, Jaylen Craft, Aren Craft
    chapter • 144 Pages
    The Zero Degree Zombie Zone
    Patrik Henry Bass, Jerry Craft
    picture • 28 Pages
    Baby Boy, What Will You Be?
    Jerry Craft
    View more

Discover All the Books in the New Kid Series

    chapter • 256 Pages
    Class Act
    #2 in Series
    Graphic Nov.
    Class Act
    chapter • 256 Pages
    School Trip
    #3 in Series
    Graphic Nov.
    School Trip

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked New Kid

    chapter • 272 Pages
    Bounce Back
    #1 in Series
    Graphic Nov.
    Misako Rocks
    chapter • 208 Pages
    Besties: Find Their Groove
    Graphic Nov.
    Kayla Miller
    chapter • 224 Pages
    What Could Possibly Go Wrong?
    #1 in Series
    Graphic Nov.
    Lincoln Peirce
    chapter • 272 Pages
    Making Friends
    #1 in Series
    Graphic Nov.
    Kristen Gudsnuk
    chapter • 240 Pages
    Everyday Disasters and Impending Doom
    #1 in Series
    Graphic Nov.
     
    chapter • 232 Pages
    Middle School Misadventures
    Graphic Nov.
     
    chapter • 262 Pages
    Inside Out and Back Again
    Thanhha Lai
    chapter • 208 Pages
    Invisible
    Graphic Nov.
    Christina Diaz Gonzalez
    chapter • 272 Pages
    The Okay Witch
    #1 in Series
    Graphic Nov.
    Emma Steinkellner
    chapter • 256 Pages
    Dungeon Critters
    Graphic Nov.
    Natalie Riess, Sara Goetter

Book Details

ISBN
9780062691200
Publication Date
February 5, 2019
Publisher
Quill Tree Books
Page Count
256
Words Per Page
54
Audience
Middle Grade
Reading Age
8 - 12 years
Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
2018938256
WorldCat Number (OCLC)
1110079327
Lexile® Level
GN320L
Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
~J
ATOS® Book Level
2.9
Accelerated Reader® Points
2
Accelerated Reader Quiz
500606
Accelerated Reader Interest Level
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 70%

Making good progress . . .

Depth Score - 43%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

Top Contributors
01
@elainethelibrarian
44
02
@thegoodfather
28
03
@laurarenauld
25

Bookroo

Book Clubs

Follow Bookroo