New Kid
New Kid
Bookroo5.8 / 7Goodreads4.2 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

New Kid

Written and illustrated by Jerry Craft
Book #1 in the New Kid Series
Published by Quill Tree Books
Prices as of Sep 27

What's New Kid About

Publisher Summary

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

What Kind of Book is New Kid

Primarily about

Genres

Race, Ethnicities, & Nationalities

What Questions Should I Ask My Child

  • This story offers multiple opportunities to discuss weighty matters—explicit racism, systemic racism, social classes, preconceived stereotypes, misunderstandings, lack of self-esteem, and more. As a graphic novel, its read time is short, so consider taking time to have discussions about these important topics along the way as they arise and revisiting them and their resolution at the end of the story.
  • Some important points in the story are insightfully conveyed by the illustrations as they play out in the text. For example, Jordan expects he and Maury will have a lot in common. But as they visit, they realize they don't. At the same moment, Craft depicts them standing on two separate worlds. What point does this emphasize? Where else did you notice the illustrations telling part of the story?

Reviews

    Mom of Boys
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    6.00

    I read this book to my two boys who are five and seven years old. They are still innocent to the prejudices of the world. They see all people with equality and don't understand why we would look down on others because of skin color. I love this about children and want to keep them that way as long as possible. All three of us really enjoyed reading this book. It showed insecurities that each of the characters had and portrayed racism from each of their points of view, which was so powerful. It had me laughing and feeling so grateful for good kids, good choices and good friends.

    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    5.50

    I liked the story's lessons about not judging people based on stereotypes but instead getting to know them and the unifying impact of serving others.

    School Library Journal
    Critic
    Gretchen Hardin
    Full review

    "Jordan's black-and-white notebook drawings are the highlight of this work, combining effective social commentary with the protagonist's humorous voice."

    Publisher's Weekly
    Critic

    "This engaging story . . . captures the high jinks of middle schoolers and . . . tensions that come with being a person of color in a traditionally white space."

    Kirkus
    Critic
    Starred Review

    "Craft skillfully employs the graphic-novel format to its full advantage, giving his readers a delightful and authentic cast of characters who, along with New York itself, pop off the page with vibrancy and nuance."

Book Lists That Include New Kid

The Creative Behind the Book

    Jerry Craft

    Jerry Craft is an author-illustrator who has worked on numerous books for young readers. Jerry created Mama’s Boyz, an award-winning comic strip. He has won five African American Literary Awards and cofounded the Black Comic Book Festival. He received his BFA from the School of Visual Arts and lives in Connecticut.


    Book Dedication
    To all the Jordan Bankses of the world. To my family, Jay, Aren, and Autier. thank you for making me a better person. Thanks to my agent, Judy Hansen, my editor Andrew Eliopulos, and the team at HarperCollins for embracing my vision. Thanks to Marva Allen, Pam Allyn, Debra Lakow Dorfman, David Saylor, Andrea Davis Pinkney, and Andrea Colvin for inspiring me along the way. And last but not least, thanks to Barbara Slate, Jim Keefe, Ray Billingsley, M’shindo Kuumba, Eric Velasquez, Danni Ai, and Jennifer Crute for making me a better artist.

Trivia to Know About New Kid

Awards Given to New Kid

What Has Jerry Craft Said About This Book

Nothing yet! You should let Jerry Craft know that you want to hear from them about their book.

Where does Jordan live?
  1. A
    Inwood
  2. B
    Washington Heights
  3. C
    Riverdale
Take the book quiz!

Discover All the Books in the New Kid Series

    New Kid
    5.8
    New Kid
    Class Act
    Class Act
    See All Books

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked New Kid

    Exit Strategy
    Lauren Allbright
    A Royal Rescue: Royal Sweets 1
    Helen Perelman, Olivia Chin Mueller
    Quinny & Hopper
    5.3
    Adriana Brad Schanen, Greg Swearingen
    For Black Girls Like Me
    Mariama J. Lockington
    Halfway Normal
    Barbara Dee
    Boy Bites Bug
    Rebecca Petruck
    Everything I Know About You
    Barbara Dee
    Star-Crossed
    Barbara Dee
    Night on Fire
    Ronald Kidd
    Blended
    Sharon Draper

Book Details

ISBN
9780062691200
Publication Date
February 5, 2019
Page Count
256
Word Count
13779
Reading Age
8 - 12 years
Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
2018938256
WorldCat Number (OCLC)
1110079327
ASIN/ISBN 10
0062691201
Lexile® Level
GN320L
ATOS® Book Level
2.9
Accelerated Reader® Points
2
Accelerated Reader Quiz
500606
Accelerated Reader Interest Level
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 77%

This page is starting to look fantastic!

Depth Score - 43%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

Top Contributors
01
@laurarenauld
25
02
@literacious
10
03
@thegoodfather
5