Hannah Sparkles: Hooray for the First Day of School!
Hannah Sparkles: Hooray for the First Day of School!
Bookroo4.0 / 7Goodreads3.4 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

Hannah Sparkles: Hooray for the First Day of School!

Written by Robin Mellom & illustrated by Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Published by HarperCollins
Prices as of Oct 21

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Cheer along with Hannah Sparkles on her first day of school! Hannah Sparkles and her best friend, Sunny Everbright, are ready for first grade. Their day starts as perfect as pom-poms…until Hannah and Sunny are seated far apart in the classroom. Even worse, Hannah is having trouble making new friends. It’s going to take some extra thinking for Hannah to learn that sometimes being a good listener is the best way to be a good friend. Perfect for fans of Fancy Nancy and Pinkalicious, Hannah Sparkles’s second story is sure to bring sparkly smiles to new readers who are just starting school too.

What Kind of Book is Hannah Sparkles: Hooray for the First Day of School!

Topics

Genres

Reviews

Book Lists That Include This Book

The Creatives Behind the Book

    Robin Mellom

    Robin Mellom is the author of several middle grade novels, including the Classroom series, Confessions from the Principal’s Kid, and The Pages Between Us, which was coauthored with Lindsey Leavitt. Her own child was born just like Hannah Sparkles: without crying one bit! Robin lives in California with her family, where she twirls, sparkles, and shines as often as possible. These days, her go-to happy place is the beach. Learn more at www.robinmellom.com.

    Illustrator
    Vanessa Brantley-Newton

    Vanessa Brantley-Newton is a self taught illustrator of more than 80 children’s books. She first fell in love with picture books when she was read the Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats as a child. It was the first time Vanessa saw an image of a brown child that looked like her. Diversity is at the very heart of her illustrations and storytelling. She has written and illustrated three of her own books, Let Freedom Sing, Don’t Let Auntie Mabel Bless The Table and Grandma’s Purse. Vanessa wants every child to know the joy she felt when she saw herself in a picture book. “I want every child to know that I see you.” Vanessa is a lover of music and food. When she isn’t creating children’s Books she is cooking or singing somewhere. She lives in NC with her husband of 25 years and her daughter Zoe.

What Has Robin Mellom Said About This Book

Nothing yet! You should let Robin Mellom know that you want to hear from them about their book.

What Has Vanessa Brantley-Newton Said About This Book

Nothing yet! You should let Vanessa Brantley-Newton know that you want to hear from them about their book.

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

    The Night Before First Grade
    5.0
    Natasha Wing, Deborah Zemke
    Ally-saurus & the First Day of School
    Richard Torrey
    Chrysanthemum
    5.2
    Kevin Henkes
    Butterflies on the First Day of School
    5.0
    Annie Silvestro, Dream Chen
    Wemberly Worried
    5.0
    Kevin Henkes
    So Big!
    5.0
    Mike Wohnoutka
    Me and My Fear
    5.0
    Francesca Sanna
    Twig
    4.8
    Aura Parker
    Mae's First Day of School
    4.8
    Kate Berube
    A Tiger Tail
    4.8
    Mike Boldt

Book Details

ISBN
9780062322340
Publication Date
June 18, 2019
Page Count
32
Reading Age
4 - 8 years
Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
2018021261
ASIN/ISBN 10
0062322346

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 55%

More than halfway there—keep going!

Depth Score - 15%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.