Lifeboat 12
Lifeboat 12
4.2/5
Goodreads

Lifeboat 12

Written by Susan Hood
Hardcover
$17.99
$16.97
8 - 13
Reading age
336
Page count
78
Words per page
610L
Lexile measure
Sep 4, 2018
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's Lifeboat 12 About

Publisher Summary

In the tradition of The War That Saved My Life and Stella By Starlight, this poignant novel in verse based on true events tells the story of a boy’s harrowing experience on a lifeboat after surviving a torpedo attack during World War II. With Nazis bombing London every night, it’s time for thirteen-year-old Ken to escape. He suspects his stepmother is glad to see him go, but his dad says he’s one of the lucky ones—one of ninety boys and girls to ship out aboard the SS City of Benares to safety in Canada. Life aboard the luxury ship is grand—nine-course meals, new friends, and a life far from the bombs, rations, and his stepmum’s glare. And after five days at sea, the ship’s officers announce that they’re out of danger. They’re wrong. Late that night, an explosion hurls Ken from his bunk. They’ve been hit. Torpedoed! The Benares is sinking fast. Terrified, Ken scrambles aboard Lifeboat 12 with five other boys. Will they get away? Will they survive? Award-winning author Susan Hood brings this little-known World War II story to life in a riveting novel of courage, hope, and compassion. Based on true events and real people, Lifeboat 12 is about believing in one another, knowing that only by banding together will we have any chance to survive.

What Kind of Book is Lifeboat 12

Topics

the oceanboatswarfacing fearsbraveryculture1900-1949World War IItransportationboats, ships and underwater vehiclessurvival stories1940slifeboatstravel

Locations

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include Lifeboat 12

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Susan Hood Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! Let Susan Hood know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    More Books by Susan Hood

      picture • 40 Pages
      Spike, the Mixed-up Monster
      5.8
      Susan Hood, Melissa Sweet
      picture • 40 Pages
      Ada's Violin
      5.7
      Susan Hood, Sally Wern Comport
      picture • 48 Pages
      Titan and the Wild Boars: The True Cave Rescue of the Thai Soccer Team
      Susan Hood, Pathana Sornhiran, Dow Phumiruk
      picture • 40 Pages
      Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World
      Susan Hood, Sophie Blackall, Emily Winfield Martin, Shadra Stickland, Melissa Sweet, LeUyen Pham, Oge Mora, Julie Morstad, Lisa Brown, Selina Alko, Hadley Hooper, Isabel Roxas, Erin Robinson, Sara Palacios
      picture • 32 Pages
      Double Take! a New Look at Opposites
      Susan Hood, Jay Fleck
      picture • 32 Pages
      Just Say Boo!
      4.8
      Susan Hood, Jed Henry
      picture • 40 Pages
      The Fix-It Man
      Susan Hood, Arree Chung
      chapter • 184 Pages
      Pup and Hound's Big Book of Stories: A Collection of 6 First Readers
      Susan Hood
      View more

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Lifeboat 12

      chapter • 320 Pages
      The Canyon's Edge
      Dusti Bowling
      chapter • 352 Pages
      Other Words for Home
      5.8
      Jasmine Warga
      chapter • 320 Pages
      Becoming Muhammad Ali
      James Patterson, Kwame Alexander, Dawud Anyabwile
      chapter • 336 Pages
      Flooded: Requiem for Johnstown
       
      chapter • 400 Pages
      Blue Birds
      Caroline Starr Rose
      chapter • 320 Pages
      In the Beautiful Country
      Jane Kuo
      chapter • 304 Pages
      The Unlikely Adventures of Mabel Jones
      #1 in Series
      Will Mabbitt
      chapter • 368 Pages
      Brown Girl Dreaming
      5.5
      Jacqueline Woodson
      chapter • 272 Pages
      Crenshaw
      Katherine Applegate
      chapter • 288 Pages
      Brambleheart: A Story about Finding Treasure and the Unexpected Magic of Friendship
      Henry Cole

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781481468831
    Publication Date
    September 4, 2018
    Publisher
    Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
    Page Count
    336
    Words Per Page
    78
    Audience
    Middle Grade
    Reading Age
    8 - 13 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2017034872
    Lexile® Level
    610L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~O
    ATOS® Book Level
    4
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    4
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    197987
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    MG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 90%

    So, SO close to perfection!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo