The Definitive Guide to

Lifeboat 12

Written by Susan Hood
Goodreads Rating - 4.3 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Sep 23
$17.99
Retail Price
$15.29
Bookshop
$10.98
used $3.18
Amazon
Sep 4, 2018
Publication Date
336
Pages
8-13
Target Age

What's Lifeboat 12 About

Publisher Summary

In the tradition of The War That Saved My Life and Stella By Starlight, this poignant novel in verse based on true events tells the story of a boy’s harrowing experience on a lifeboat after surviving a torpedo attack during World War II. With Nazis bombing London every night, it’s time for thirteen-year-old Ken to escape. He suspects his stepmother is glad to see him go, but his dad says he’s one of the lucky ones—one of ninety boys and girls to ship out aboard the SS City of Benares to safety in Canada. Life aboard the luxury ship is grand—nine-course meals, new friends, and a life far from the bombs, rations, and his stepmum’s glare. And after five days at sea, the ship’s officers announce that they’re out of danger. They’re wrong. Late that night, an explosion hurls Ken from his bunk. They’ve been hit. Torpedoed! The Benares is sinking fast. Terrified, Ken scrambles aboard Lifeboat 12 with five other boys. Will they get away? Will they survive? Award-winning author Susan Hood brings this little-known World War II story to life in a riveting novel of courage, hope, and compassion. Based on true events and real people, Lifeboat 12 is about believing in one another, knowing that only by banding together will we have any chance to survive.

What Kind of Book is Lifeboat 12

Book Lists That Include Lifeboat 12

Book Topics › World War II
Children's Books about World War II
Book Topics › the ocean
Children's Books About The Ocean
Book Topics › war
Children's Books About War
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Lifeboat 12

author
Susan Hood

Susan Hood has written more than 200 picture books. She has received starred reviews in Publishers Weekly and Booklist, and her book Spike, The Mixed-Up Monster won the 2013 International Latino Award and was selected for the Charlotte Zolotow Highly Commended List. The Tooth Mouse was named a 2013 Best Book of the Year by Bank Street and the Cooperative Children’s Book Center. Prior to becoming an author, Susan was a children’s magazine editor at Scholastic and Instructor Magazine, a book editor at Sesame Workshop, and the Children’s Content Director of Nick Jr. Magazine. Ada’s Violin is her latest nonfiction picture book and Lifeboat 12 is her first novel in verse.

View Author

What Has Susan Hood Said About Lifeboat 12

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Susan know that you want more details about Lifeboat 12!

More Books by Susan Hood

Susan Hood, Jed Henry
Picture book
4.8
Add to list
Susan Hood, Sophie Blackall, Emily Winfield Martin, Shadra Stickland, Melissa Sweet, LeUyen Pham, Oge Mora, Julie Morstad, Lisa Brown, Selina Alko, Hadley Hooper, Isabel Roxas, Erin Robinson, Sara Palacios
Picture book
Add to list

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Lifeboat 12

Book Details

ISBN:
9781481468831
Publication Date:
September 4, 2018
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2017034872
ASIN/ISBN 10:
1481468839
Lexile® Level:
610L
ATOS® Book Level:
4.0
Accelerated Reader® Points:
4.0
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
197987
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.