Lifeboat 12
Lifeboat 12
Goodreads4.3 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

Lifeboat 12

Written by Susan Hood
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Prices as of Nov 28

What's Lifeboat 12 About

Publisher Summary

In the tradition of The War That Saved My Life and Stella By Starlight, this poignant novel in verse based on true events tells the story of a boy’s harrowing experience on a lifeboat after surviving a torpedo attack during World War II. With Nazis bombing London every night, it’s time for thirteen-year-old Ken to escape. He suspects his stepmother is glad to see him go, but his dad says he’s one of the lucky ones—one of ninety boys and girls to ship out aboard the SS City of Benares to safety in Canada. Life aboard the luxury ship is grand—nine-course meals, new friends, and a life far from the bombs, rations, and his stepmum’s glare. And after five days at sea, the ship’s officers announce that they’re out of danger. They’re wrong. Late that night, an explosion hurls Ken from his bunk. They’ve been hit. Torpedoed! The Benares is sinking fast. Terrified, Ken scrambles aboard Lifeboat 12 with five other boys. Will they get away? Will they survive? Award-winning author Susan Hood brings this little-known World War II story to life in a riveting novel of courage, hope, and compassion. Based on true events and real people, Lifeboat 12 is about believing in one another, knowing that only by banding together will we have any chance to survive.

What Kind of Book is Lifeboat 12

Topics

Locations

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include Lifeboat 12

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Susan Hood Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Susan Hood know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Lifeboat 12

      I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912 (Graphic Novel)
      I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912 (I Survived Graphic Novel #1): A Graphix Book, Volume 1
      I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912
      Village of Scoundrels
      Margi Preus
      A Whale in Paris
      Daniel Presley
      Making Bombs for Hitler
      Catherine's War
      The Watcher
      Joan Hiatt Harlow
      Allies
      Alan Gratz
      The Unbreakable Zamperini
      Nel Yomtov

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781481468831
    Publication Date
    September 4, 2018
    Page Count
    336
    Reading Age
    8 - 13 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2017034872
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    1481468839
    Lexile® Level
    610L
    ATOS® Book Level
    4
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    4
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    197987
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    MG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 62%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.