Other Words for Home
Other Words for Home
Goodreads4.5 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

Other Words for Home

Written by Jasmine Warga
Published by Balzer + Bray
Prices as of Oct 26

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US—and her new label of “Middle Eastern,” an identity she’s never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises—there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

What Kind of Book is Other Words for Home

Topics

Writing Styles

Race, Ethnicities, & Nationalities

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creative Behind the Book

    Awards Given to This Book

    What Has Jasmine Warga Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Jasmine Warga know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      Santiago's Road Home
      Alexandra Diaz
      When Stars Are Scattered
      Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson, Iman Geddy
      Everything Sad Is Untrue: (a True Story)
      Daniel Nayeri
      Flying Over Water
      The Crossroads
      Alexandra Diaz
      Drita, My Homegirl
      The Eleventh Trade
      Alyssa Hollingsworth
      Nowhere Boy
      Katherine Marsh
      The Night Diary
      Veera Hiranandani
      We Had to Be Brave: Escaping the Nazis on the Kindertransport
      Deborah Hopkinson

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780062747808
    Publication Date
    May 28, 2019
    Page Count
    352
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2018961861
    WorldCat Number (OCLC)
    1102782321
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    0062747800
    Lexile® Level
    930L
    ATOS® Book Level
    5.3
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    5
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    504111
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    MG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 70%

    Making good progress . . .

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @mamabearian
    5