The Definitive Guide to

Other Words for Home

Written by Jasmine Warga
Published by Balzer + Bray
Goodreads Rating - 4.5 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
352
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US—and her new label of “Middle Eastern,” an identity she’s never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises—there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

What Kind of Book is Other Words for Home

Themes:
America
immigration
Categories:
fiction
Text Styles:
rhyming

Book Lists That Include Other Words for Home

Book Topics › America
Children's Books About America
Book Topics › rhyming
Children's Books About Rhyming
Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Book Topics › immigration
Children's Books About Immigration
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Other Words for Home

author
Jasmine Warga

Jasmine Warga’s debut middle grade book, Other Words for Home, is a Newbery Honor Book. She is the author of the novels for teens My Heart and Other Black Holes, which has been translated into over twenty languages, and Here We Are Now. She lives and writes in Cincinnati, Ohio. You can visit Jasmine online at www.jasminewarga.com.

View Author

What Has Jasmine Warga Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Jasmine know that you want more details about Other Words for Home!

Did This Book Win Any Awards

You bet it did. Check it out below!

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Other Words for Home

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062747808
Publication Date:
May 28, 2019

Suggested Links