Other Words for Home
Other Words for Home
5.8/7
Bookroo
4.5/5
Goodreads

Other Words for Home

Written by Jasmine Warga
Hardcover
$17.99
$16.73
8 - 12
Reading age
352
Page count
86
Words per page
930L
Lexile measure
May 28, 2019
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US—and her new label of “Middle Eastern,” an identity she’s never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises—there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

What Kind of Book is Other Words for Home

Primarily about

Writing Styles

Race, Ethnicities, & Nationalities

What Should I Know As a Parent

Families are unique and have different expectations for the books they choose to read. The following are concepts included in this book that some parents may wish to seek out or avoid.

Note that this list is not exhaustive and there may be concepts in this book that are not included or have been insufficiently or incorrectly detailed here.

Reviews

Book Lists That Include This Book

The Creative Behind the Book

Awards Given to This Book

What Has Jasmine Warga Said About This Book

Nothing yet! Let Jasmine Warga know that you want to hear from them about their book.

More Books by Jasmine Warga

    chapter • 288 Pages
    The Shape of Thunder
    Jasmine Warga
    chapter • 320 Pages
    A Rover's Story
    Jasmine Warga
    View more

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

    chapter • 320 Pages
    The Canyon's Edge
    Dusti Bowling
    chapter • 320 Pages
    Becoming Muhammad Ali
    James Patterson, Kwame Alexander, Dawud Anyabwile
    chapter • 352 Pages
    Brown Girl Dreaming
    5.5
    Jacqueline Woodson
    chapter • 336 Pages
    Lifeboat 12
    Susan Hood
    chapter • 336 Pages
    Fly on the Wall
    Graphic Nov.
    Remy Lai
    chapter • 336 Pages
    Flooded: Requiem for Johnstown
    chapter • 304 Pages
    Laugh Out Loud
    James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein, Jeffrey Ebbeler
    chapter • 296 Pages
    Gangsta Granny
    David Walliams
    chapter • 336 Pages
    House of Robots
    #1 in Series
    James Patterson, Chris Grabenstein, Juliana Neufeld
    chapter • 320 Pages
    This Promise of Change: One Girl's Story in the Fight for School Equality
    Jo Ann Boyce, Debbie Levy

Book Details

ISBN
9780062747808
Publication Date
May 28, 2019
Publisher
Balzer + Bray
Page Count
352
Words Per Page
86
Audience
Middle Grade
Reading Age
8 - 12 years
Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
2018961861
WorldCat Number (OCLC)
1102782321
Lexile® Level
930L
Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
~V
ATOS® Book Level
5.3
Accelerated Reader® Points
5
Accelerated Reader Quiz
504111
Accelerated Reader Interest Level
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 105%

Perfect!

Depth Score - 21%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

Top Contributors
01
@elainer
18
02
@thegoodfather
8
03
@mamabearian
5

Bookroo

Book Clubs

Follow Bookroo