An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

The Best Spain Kids Books

Looking for the best Spain books?
Share this list
Add to list
The Tale of Fancy Nancy: A Spanish Folk Tale
Written by Marion Koenig & illustrated by Klaus Ensikat
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Fancy Nancy was the fussiest of mice. When offered a choice of husbands, she chose a suitor with the sweetest singing voice, but not the sweetest nature. This droll Spanish folk tale accounts for the falling-out of cats and mice….

Add to list
All You Knead Is Love
Written by Tanya Guerrero
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Tanya Guerrero's All You Knead Is Love is a contemporary middle grade coming-of-age novel about a twelve-year-old multiracial Filipino and Spanish girl who goes to live with her grandmother for the summer, gaining confidence through a newly discovered passion for baking, perfect for fans of Hello, Universe and Merci Suarez Changes Gears.

Sometimes you find home where you least expect it.

Twelve-year-old Alba doesn't want to live with her estranged grandmother in Barcelona. She wants to stay with her mom, even if that means enduring her dad's cutting comments to them both.

But in her new home, Alba forms a close relationship with her grandmother, gains a supportive father figure and new friends, and even discovers a passion and talent for baking. And through getting to know the city her mother used to call home, Alba starts to understand her mother better--and may just be able to make their family whole again.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$15.36
Used $11.41
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Carmen and the House That Gaudí Built
Written by Susan Hughes & illustrated by Marianne Ferrer
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8
A joyful celebration of the nature-inspired work of architect Antoni Gaudí
Buy book
$17.95
Bookshop
$15.26
Amazon
$17.08
Used $14.92
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Eyes and Ears
Written by Courtney Acampora & illustrated by Hilli Kushnir
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Create your own unique animal face with Eyes and Ears! What do you get when you mix a panda and a cheetah? A Paneetah! This interactive board book has pages split in two, allowing the flaps to be lifted and mixed with other animals so kids can create their own unique animal faces and names. Kids will be rolling with laugher as they create silly animal combinations. The names of the animals are included on each page and their funny mixed names are sure to entertain.

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$12.99
Used $2.15
Prices as of Apr 23
Add to list
Mexique: A Refugee Story from the Spanish Civil War
Written by María José Ferrada & illustrated by Ana Penyas
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

On May 27, 1937, over four hundred children sailed for Morelia, Mexico, fleeing the violence of the Spanish Civil War. Home was no longer safe, and Mexico was welcoming refugees by the thousands. Each child packed a suitcase and boarded the Mexique, expecting to return home in a few months. This was just a short trip, an extra-long summer vacation, they thought. But the war did not end in a few months, and the children stayed, waiting and wondering, in Mexico. When the war finally ended, a dictator--the Fascist Francisco Franco--ruled Spain. Home was even more dangerous than before.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$10.93
Used $10.28
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • I See Things Differently - “This book will help children understand what autism is and how it affects someone who has it.”

  • Adventures of Don Quixote - Once, there was a man who went crazy from too much reading. He only read books about knighthood; that was the problem. So begins this charming retelling of Don Quixote de la Mancha, one of the most entertaining books ever written. Young people will delight in the hilarious adventures of the idealistic would-be knight and his squire, Sancho Panza, as they set out to right the wrongs of the world. Ms. Palacios, a talented storyteller, captures all the flavor and irony of the original as the two heroes ride forth to conquer evil. Along the way the well-meaning but addled knight-errand mistakes a miserable inn and its keeper for a castle and its lord; imagines an ordinary peasant girl to be the noble lady Dulcinea, perceives windmills as giants to be overcome, and gets enmeshed in other cases of mistaken identity. These, and many more incidents and adventures are retold here in a beguiling, easy-to-read version, enhanced by six new black-and-white illustrations by Thea Kliros. This edition is sure to delight today’s youngsters, just as the original has enchanted countless readers since its publication nearly 400 years ago.

  • The Basque Dragon - Across the vast, blue ocean, in the mountains of the Basque Country, a fearsome creature has gone missing. And the Unicorn Rescue Society are the only ones who can save it. Elliot and Uchenna—and Jersey!—have barely recovered from their first adventure with Professor Fauna when he approaches them with an all-new quest. Except this time they’re going to have to cross an ocean. In the mountains of the Basque Country, the Unicorn Rescue Society must track down a missing dragon. But how could someone even kidnap a dragon? And for what evil purpose? And is their newest, fire-breathing rescue more than they can handle?

  • Follow the Dream: The Story of Christopher Columbus - Illus. in full color. The 15th century comes alive in this splendidly original picture book about Christopher Columbus. “The illustrations, executed in a variety of media, show scenes from the explorer’s life as well as some imaginary creatures that populated the Europeans’ picture of the outside world at that time. The details on each page invite individual readers to pay close attention, but the brief, clear text and framed illustrations lend themselves equally well to group sharing. Make room on your crowded Columbus shelf for this one.”–(starred) School Library Journal.

Add to list
Shadow of a Bull
Written by Maia Wojciechowska
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Manolo was only three when his father, the great bullfighter Juan Olivar, died. But Juan is never far from Manolo’s consciousness – how could he be, with the entire town of Arcangel waiting for the day Manolo will fulfill his father’s legacy?

But Manolo has a secret he dares to share with no one – he is a coward, without afición, the love of the sport that enables a bullfighter to rise above his fear and face a raging bull. As the day when he must enter the ring approaches, Manolo finds himself questioning which requires more courage: to follow in his father’s legendary footsteps or to pursue his own destiny?

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$7.99
Used $7.99
Prices as of Apr 22
Add to list
A Ceiling Made of Eggshells
Written by Gail Carson Levine
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

In A Ceiling Made of Eggshells, Newbery Honor-winning author Gail Carson Levine tells a moving and ambitious story set during the expulsion of Jews from Spain, about a young Jewish girl full of heart who must play her own role in her people’s epic history—no matter the sacrifice.

Surrounded by her large family, Loma is happy living in the judería of Alcalá de Henares, Spain, and wants nothing more than to someday have a family of her own.

Still, when her intimidating grandfather, her Belo, decides to bring her along on his travels, she’s excited to join him. Belo has the ear of King Ferdinand and Queen Isabella, and Loma relishes her adventures with him, adventures that are beyond the scope of most girls of the time. She soon learns just how dangerous the world is for the Jews of Spain, and how her grandfather’s influence keeps their people safe.

But the older Loma gets, the more she longs to realize her own dreams—if Belo will ever allow her to leave his side.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Apr 22

    Suggested Links