The Definitive Guide to

Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot

Written by Julie Leung & illustrated by Lindsey Carr
1234567
6.0 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.3 / 5.0
$6.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
320
Pages
Chapter
Book Type
Add to list

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

An epic new middle grade series in the tradition of Redwall and Poppy, based on Arthurian legend and told from the perspective of Camelot’s most humble creatures: mice Young mouse Calib Christopher aspires to be a Knight of the Round Table. For generations, his family has valiantly led the mice who live just out of sight of the humans, defending Camelot from enemies both big and small. But when a new threat arises—one that could catch even the Two-Leggers off guard—it’s up to Calib and his friend Cecily to unmask the real enemy, unite their forces, and save the castle they all call home. With the sweeping adventure of New York Times bestselling series like Wings of Fire and Warriors, Mice of the Round Table brings to life a legendary world of animals and magic that kids will want to return to again and again.

What Kind of Book is Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot

What Should I Know As a Parent

Families are unique and have different expectations for the books they choose to read. The following is a list of concepts included in this book that some parents may wish to seek out or avoid.

Violence: Calib's grandfather is killed by the squirrel, which leaves a trail of bloody paw prints on the floor. This story involves a war with both animals and humans in the kingdom, so there is some violence. The most gruesome components of the story are when someone's head bleeds from a fight and a horse that foams at the mount carries a wounded warrior, who has blood covering his face.

Note that this list is not exhaustive and there may be concepts in this book that are not included or have been insufficiently or incorrectly detailed here.

Quotes from This Book

  • “Being brave is not about lacking fear, if you are never scared, you will never understand what it means to be brave.”

What Questions Should I Ask My Child

  • Calib feels like an underdog, but realizes that with courage, he can overcome fear. Talk to your child about this concept and how they can apply it to something they’re afraid of.

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

B is for Bookworm
Book-loving mommy-to-be! Recently enjoyed The Hobbit, Becoming, and The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel.
1234567
6.0 / 7.0

My favorite part of this book are the strong message to believe in yourself. Throughout the story, Calib saves the day only by having courage and believing he can do it. Watching Calib grow in his confidence makes this book so rewarding, not to mention all the adventure and suspense involved!

Book Lists That Include Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot

Book Topics › 2019 Chapter Book Summer Reading List
2019 Summer Reading List for Readers Ages 8-12
Book Topics › teamwork
Children's Books that Teach Teamwork
Book Topics › bravery
Bold Children's Books About Bravery
Book Topics › animals
Adorable Children's Books About Animals
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot

Who Illustrated Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot

What Has Julie Leung Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Julie know that you want more details about Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot!

What Has Lindsey Carr Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Lindsey know that you want more details about Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot!

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062404008
Publication Date:
September 5, 2017
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0062404008
Accelerated Reader Points:
9.0
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
184763
ATOS Book Level:
5.8
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 59%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 34%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.