The Definitive Guide to

Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot

Written by Julie Leung and illustrated by Lindsey Carr
1234567
6.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.3 / 5.0
$6.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
320
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

An epic new middle grade series in the tradition of Redwall and Poppy, based on Arthurian legend and told from the perspective of Camelot’s most humble creatures: mice Young mouse Calib Christopher aspires to be a Knight of the Round Table. For generations, his family has valiantly led the mice who live just out of sight of the humans, defending Camelot from enemies both big and small. But when a new threat arises—one that could catch even the Two-Leggers off guard—it’s up to Calib and his friend Cecily to unmask the real enemy, unite their forces, and save the castle they all call home. With the sweeping adventure of New York Times bestselling series like Wings of Fire and Warriors, Mice of the Round Table brings to life a legendary world of animals and magic that kids will want to return to again and again.

What Kind of Book is Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot

What Should I Know As a Parent

Families are unique and have different expectations for the books they choose to read. The following is a list of concepts included in this book that some parents may wish to seek out or avoid.

Violence: Calib’s grandfather is killed by the squirrel, which leaves a trail of bloody paw prints on the floor. This story involves a war with both animals and humans in the kingdom, so there is some violence. The most gruesome components of the story are when someone’s head bleeds from a fight and a horse that foams at the mount carries a wounded warrior, who has blood covering his face.

Note that this list is not exhaustive and there may be concepts in this book that are not included or have been insufficiently or incorrectly detailed here.

Quotes from This Book

  • "Being brave is not about lacking fear, if you are never scared, you will never understand what it means to be brave."

What Questions Should I Ask My Child

  • Calib feels like an underdog, but realizes that with courage, he can overcome fear. Talk to your child about this concept and how they can apply it to something they’re afraid of.

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

B is for Bookworm
Human Development Degree, Book-loving aunt
1234567
6.0

My favorite part of this book are the strong message to believe in yourself. Throughout the story, Calib saves the day only by having courage and believing he can do it. Watching Calib grow in his confidence makes this book so rewarding, not to mention all the adventure and suspense involved!

Book Lists That Include Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot

Book Lists › bravery
Bold Children's Books About Bravery
Book Lists › 2019 Chapter Book Summer Reading List
2019 Summer Reading List for Readers Ages 8-12
Book Lists › teamwork
Children's Books that Teach Teamwork
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot

Who Illustrated Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot

What Has Julie Leung Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Julie Leung know that we want more details from them about Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot!

What Has Lindsey Carr Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Lindsey Carr know that we want more details from them about Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot!

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls book
7.0
Ruth Bader Ginsburg (RBG) · famous people · historical figures · bravery · female role models · history · activism
Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone book
7.0
magic · witches · wizards
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
The Wheel on the School book
7.0
chapter book
The Wheel on the School
The Secret Garden book
6.9
trees · seasons · making friends · nature · flowers · gardening · female role models · choosing cheeriness
The Secret Garden
Appleblossom the Possum book
6.8
animals · teamwork · dance · trying new things · problem solving · baby animals · siblings · rescue
Appleblossom the Possum
True (. . . Sort Of) book
6.8
empathy · anger · honesty
True (. . . Sort Of)
A Boy Called Bat book
6.8
autism · animals · empathy · bats · jobs and careers · disabilities · sharing
A Boy Called Bat
Always Neverland book
6.5
family history · adventure · stars
Always Neverland

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0062404008
ISBN 13:
9780062404008
Publication Date:
September 5, 2017