The Definitive Guide to

On Account of the Gum

Written by Adam Rex
Published by Chronicle Books
1234567
5.88 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
$17.99
List Price
4-7
Target Age
56
Pages
Picture
Book Type
Add to list

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

On Account of the Gum is a book about how the best intentions lead to some of the worst (and funniest) ideas!

Serious humor abounds in this story about one kid’s hilarious misadventures with gum, and the cumulative buildup of stuff stuck in hair.

From the madcap mind of Adam Rex comes a book about the improbable, downright bizarre remedies for a problem kids have faced since the creation of gum.

- Features hilarious text with unexpected turns and fun rhymes
- Wacky suggestions make this prime for constant giggles and repeat reading
- Author Adam Rex has a funny, smart, and relatable style

How do you get gum out of your hair—a pair of scissors? Butter? The cat? Call your aunt, she’ll know what to do. She doesn’t? Try the fire department!

With each page turn, this situation—relatable to any family—grows stickier and more desperate.

- A wonderful blend of light wordplay, zany humor, and a timeless topic
- Perfect for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit and If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don’t!
- Great gift for parents, grandparents, teachers, librarians, booksellers, and educators who are looking for a funny, relatable tale to read out loud
- Add it the the shelf with books like We Don’t Eat Our Classmates by Ryan T. Higgins, The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors by Drew Daywalt, and The Bad Seed by Jory John.

What Kind of Book is On Account of the Gum

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

The Goodfather
Favorite pastime? Reading with my kids. Just finished Nana Cracks the Case!
1234567
6.5 / 7.0

This had me laughing the whole way through—and what a perfect note to end on!

The Book Snob Mom
Mom of boys. Lover of Harry Potter, Jane Austen and believes one can never own too many children's books!
1234567
5.25 / 7.0

Humorous in both text and particularly illustration!

Book Lists That Include On Account of the Gum

Book Topics › imagination and play
Children's Books About Imagination And Play
Book Topics › new experiences
Children's Books About New Experiences
Book Topics › social themes
Children's Books About Social Themes
Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote On Account of the Gum

author
Adam Rex

Adam Rex is the illustrator of Amy Timberlake’s The Dirty Cowboy and Ste-e-e-e-eamboat a-Comin’! by Jill Esbaum. He lives in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

View Author

What Has Adam Rex Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Adam know that you want more details about On Account of the Gum! Try tweeting Adam on twitter (@MrAdamRex) or messaging Adam on instagram (@mr.adamrex).

More Books by Adam Rex

How This Book Was Made book
Mac Barnett, Adam Rex
Picture book
5.6
Add to list
Chu's Day book
Adam Rex, Neil Gaiman
Board book
4.8
Add to list
XO, OX book
Adam Rex, Scott Campbell
Picture book
Add to list

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked On Account of the Gum

Book Details

ISBN:
9781452181547
Publication Date:
October 6, 2020
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2020013542
ASIN/ISBN 10:
1452181543
Lexile:
560L

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 62%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 12%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.
Top Contributors
#1
@booksnobmom
1