The Definite Guide to

Poppy's Best Paper

Written by Susan Eaddy and illustrated by Rosalinde Bonnet
Published by Charlesbridge
1234567
5.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 3.9 / 5.0
$15.95
List Price
5-8
Target Age
Picture
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams—and an even bigger personality.

More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true.

Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

What Kind of Book is Poppy's Best Paper

Who Wrote Poppy's Best Paper

author
Susan Eaddy

Susan Eaddy writes picture books and plays with clay in her attic studio. She begins work every day with clean hands, but depending on whether she is writing or illustrating, within minutes those hands may be bright green, or purple, or whatever! All of her illustrations are all made with modeling clay, and photographed in her attic studio. Her writing is greatly helped by her two marmalade cats who never miss an opportunity to settle onto her writing pad or crowd her computer. She also loves to travel and has used the opportunity to visit schools all over the world, including Taiwan, Brazil, Switzerland, Hong Kong and the USA.

View Author

Who Illustrated Poppy's Best Paper

illustrator
Rosalinde Bonnet

As a child, Rosalinde could not decide whether she wanted to be a wildlife biologist, a writer or an illustrator. But, because she spent most of her time doodling (even all over her notebooks during class!) or creating plays and sets for her puppets, she finally decided to study art after high school. She went first to the Versailles School of Fine Arts (2 years), then to the Académie Charpentier in Paris (1 year), and lastly she joined the École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs (4 years). Since then, Rosalinde has written and/or illustrated numerous books like Daddy Honk Honk!, Poppy's Best Babies, Poppy's Best Paper, Ella and Penguin series, and Zip! Zoom! On a Broom. When she isn't working or reading in her studio near Paris, Rosalinde likes hiking in wild places, taking photos, and making vegan pastries.

View Illustrator

What Has Susan Eaddy Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Susan Eaddy know that we want more details from them about Poppy's Best Paper!

What Has Rosalinde Bonnet Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Rosalinde Bonnet know that we want more details from them about Poppy's Best Paper!
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Trivia to Know About This Book

  • What is your favorite thing about Poppy?

    I love Poppy's irrepressible exuberance and big dreams! And the fact that her big heart wins out over her bad behavior..

  • What do you hope children enjoy about your character Poppy?

    Poppy has big dreams but doesn't get it that she has to actually work to make them come true. I think it helps to know that one is not instantly good at something and that it takes work & perseverance to accomplish your dreams. This is also a story about friendship, and it is ultimately Poppy's friendship with Lavender that finally makes her see herself and makes her sorry for her bad behavior.

  • Were there any pivotal changes that your story/illustrations underwent throughout the writing/editing process?

    ummmm yeah. HUGE changes. So, since I am an illustrator I assumed that, of course, I would illustrate my own story. Right? Well... this manuscript kept being rejected over & over & over again until FINALLY my agent said...I don't want to offend you, but... Would you consider letting someone else take a crack at the illustrations? I'm not sure that the clay is the best fit for your story. ( you can see one of my clay illustrations for Poppy in the gallery) She showed me Rosalinde Bonnet's website & I instantly knew that she would be a fabulous for Poppy. Charlesbridge Publishing agreed and Poppy came to life! I LOVE the way that Rosalinde has expanded Poppy's world. She ABSOLUTELY gets her and I am thrilled.

  • Where did you originally get the idea for Poppy's Best Paper?

    When I was in 5th grade my wonderful teacher assigned a composition for us to write each week. One week she assigned a "How To" topic and my instructions for "How to Get in Trouble" was read in front of the whole class. It was my proudest moment! Fast forward MANY years later and my 5th grade paper became the inspiration for Poppy's Best Paper.

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

The Notorious RAD
Mom of 1. Wife to 1. #1.
The Notorious RAD's Rating
1234567
5.0

Book Lists That Include Poppy's Best Paper

More Books From These Creatives

Pablo in the Snow book
5.3
snow · sheep · friendship · facing fears · courage · families · winter
Pablo in the Snow
Daddy Honk Honk! book
5.0
dads · new parents · parents · friendship · canada · foxes · babies · families · non-traditional families · love · helping others · new baby · adoption
Daddy Honk Honk!
Poppy's Best Paper book
5.0
writing · bunny · friendship · jealousy · fixing mistakes · admitting you are wrong · being famous · stuffed animal friends
Poppy's Best Paper
Ella and Penguin Stick Together book
3.8
teamwork · friendship · penguins · facing fears · feelings and emotions · courage · light · imagination
Ella and Penguin Stick Together
Halloween · witches · counting · numbers · bats · ghosts
Zip! Zoom! On a Broom
art · museum · being yourself · culture · feelings and emotions · finding your passion · colors
The Art Collector
Christmas · penguins · holidays · friendship · snow · helping others · bunny
The Little Red Elf
Ella and Penguin: A Perfect Match book
3.3
friendship · penguins · tutu · being different · being yourself · feelings and emotions
Ella and Penguin: A Perfect Match
jealousy · new baby · siblings · twins · babies
Poppy's Best Babies

What Books to Read Next

To the Sea book
6.7
making friends · kindness · calming reads for bedtime · problem solving · friendship · being nice · hard work · loneliness
To the Sea
Penguin and Pinecone book
6.0
friendship · love · penguins
Penguin and Pinecone
My Heart Is Like a Zoo book
5.9
Unique Books for Baby Shower Gifts · animals · the zoo · stuffed animal friends · valentines
My Heart Is Like a Zoo
Best Friends: We Are A Family book
5.8
families · ice cream · rhyming · diversity · friendship · family · love
Best Friends: We Are A Family
The Whale in My Swimming Pool  book
5.8
animals · innovation · problem solving · friendship · whales
The Whale in My Swimming Pool
We are Better Together book
5.8
teamwork · love · friendship · rhyming
We are Better Together
Too Many Carrots book
5.3
sharing · coping with failure · friendship · carrots
Too Many Carrots
Good Job, Athena! book
5.0
admitting you are wrong · friendship · mythology
Good Job, Athena!