The Definitive Guide to

P.S. Be Eleven

Written and illustrated by Rita Williams-Garcia
Published by Amistad
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
$7.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
304
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's P.S. Be Eleven About

Publisher Summary

The Gaither sisters are at it again! A sequel to the Newbery Honor Book One Crazy Summer, this Coretta Scott King Award-winning novel will find a home in the hearts of readers who loved Brown Girl Dreaming and As Brave as You. After spending the summer in Oakland, California, with their mother and the Black Panthers, Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern arrive home with a newfound streak of independence. That doesn’t sit well with Big Ma, who doesn’t like the way things are changing. Neither does Delphine. Pa has a new girlfriend. Uncle Darnell comes home from Vietnam, but he’s not the same. And her new sixth-grade teacher isn’t the fun, stylish Miss Honeywell—it’s Mr. Mwila, a stern exchange teacher from Zambia. But the one thing that doesn’t change during this turbulent year is the advice that Delphine receives from her mother, who reminds her not to grow up too fast. To be eleven while she can.

What Kind of Book is P.S. Be Eleven

Book Lists That Include P.S. Be Eleven

Book Lists › Coretta Scott King Award Winners
Children's Books About Coretta Scott King Award Winners

Who Wrote P.S. Be Eleven

author & illustrator
Rita Williams-Garcia

Coming soon!

View Author

What Has Rita Williams-Garcia Said About P.S. Be Eleven

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Rita Williams-Garcia know that we want more details from them about P.S. Be Eleven!

More Books From These Creatives

Coretta Scott King Award Winners
Gone Crazy in Alabama
Coretta Scott King Award Winners
One Crazy Summer

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked P.S. Be Eleven

Brown Girl Dreaming book
5.5
Boston Globe-Horn Book Award · Coretta Scott King Award Winners · empathy · activism · African Americans
Brown Girl Dreaming
Coretta Scott King Award Winners
The Crossover
Coretta Scott King Award Winners
Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets
Coretta Scott King Award Winners
Finding Langston
Coretta Scott King Award Winners
The Season of Styx Malone
Coretta Scott King Award Winners · forgiveness · brothers
As Brave As You
Coretta Scott King Award Winners · friendship
Ninth Ward

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0061938645
ISBN 13:
9780061938641
Publication Date:
January 27, 2015