The Definitive Guide to

P.S. Be Eleven

Written & illustrated by Rita Williams-Garcia
Published by Amistad
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 26
$7.99
Retail Price
$6.79
Bookshop
$4.99
used $0.99
Amazon
Jan 27, 2015
Publication Date
304
Pages
8-12
Target Age

What's P.S. Be Eleven About

Publisher Summary

The Gaither sisters are at it again! A sequel to the Newbery Honor Book One Crazy Summer, this Coretta Scott King Award-winning novel will find a home in the hearts of readers who loved Brown Girl Dreaming and As Brave as You. After spending the summer in Oakland, California, with their mother and the Black Panthers, Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern arrive home with a newfound streak of independence. That doesn’t sit well with Big Ma, who doesn’t like the way things are changing. Neither does Delphine. Pa has a new girlfriend. Uncle Darnell comes home from Vietnam, but he’s not the same. And her new sixth-grade teacher isn’t the fun, stylish Miss Honeywell—it’s Mr. Mwila, a stern exchange teacher from Zambia. But the one thing that doesn’t change during this turbulent year is the advice that Delphine receives from her mother, who reminds her not to grow up too fast. To be eleven while she can.

What Kind of Book is P.S. Be Eleven

Book Lists That Include P.S. Be Eleven

Book Topics › Coretta Scott King Award Winners
Children's Books About Coretta Scott King Award Winners
Book Topics › African Americans
Children's Books About African Americans
Book Topics › girls and women
Children's Books About Girls And Women
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote P.S. Be Eleven

author & illustrator
Rita Williams-Garcia

<p>Rita Williams-Garcia’s Newbery Honor-winning novel, <em>One Crazy Summer</em>, was a winner of the Coretta Scott King Award, a National Book Award finalist, the recipient of the Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction, and a <em>New York Times</em> bestseller. The sequel, <em>P.S. Be Eleven</em>, was also a Coretta Scott King Award winner and an ALA Notable Children’s Book for Middle Readers. She is also the author of six distinguished novels for young adults: <em>Jumped</em>, a National Book Award finalist; <em>No Laughter Here, Every Time a Rainbow Dies</em> (a <em>Publishers Weekly</em> Best Children’s Book), and <em>Fast Talk on a Slow Track</em> (all ALA Best Books for Young Adults); <em>Blue Tights</em>; and <em>Like Sisters on the Homefront</em>, a Coretta Scott King Honor Book. Rita Williams-Garcia lives in Jamaica, New York, is on the faculty at the Vermont College of Fine Arts in the Writing for Children & Young Adults Program, and has two adult daughters, Stephanie and Michelle, and a son-in-law, Adam.</p>

View Author

What Has Rita Williams-Garcia Said About P.S. Be Eleven

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Rita know that you want more details about P.S. Be Eleven!

Did P.S. Be Eleven Win Any Awards

You bet it did. Check it out below!

More Books by Rita Williams-Garcia

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked P.S. Be Eleven

Book Details

ISBN:
9780061938641
Publication Date:
January 27, 2015
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0061938645

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 55%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.