Quest of the Cubs (Bears of the Ice #1), Volume 1
Quest of the Cubs (Bears of the Ice #1), Volume 1
4.0/5
Goodreads

Quest of the Cubs (Bears of the Ice #1), Volume 1

Written by Kathryn Lasky
Paperback
$6.99
$6.74
8 - 12
Reading age
240
Page count
189
Words per page
650L
Lexile measure
Sep 11, 2018
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Perfect for fans of His Dark Materials! A gripping adventure where nature, magic, and legend combine to create a world like no other. – Kirkus Reviews, starred reviewFor generations, the noble polar bears have ruled the Northern Kingdoms. But now, their society is on the brink of collapse. A group of power-hungry bears has seized control, and darkness is creeping across the snow.Cubs First and Second don’t know any of this. Although they’re twins, they couldn’t be more different. First loves imagining stories, while his daring sister, Second, wants to live them.When their mother is taken prisoner, the cubs’ world falls apart. They know they have to rescue her, but how can two cubs who’ve barely learned to hunt survive a treacherous journey across the ice? Their only chance is to learn to trust each other and – even more important – trust themselves. But survival is only the beginning. And soon, these two unlikely heroes find themselves at the heart of a battle unlike anything Ga’Hoole has ever seen.

What Kind of Book is Quest of the Cubs (Bears of the Ice #1), Volume 1

Topics

bearsarctic and antarctic

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Kathryn Lasky Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! Let Kathryn Lasky know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    More Books by Kathryn Lasky

      chapter • 56 Pages
      Vision of Beauty: Candlewick Biographies: The Story of Sarah Breedlove Walker
      Kathryn Lasky, Nneka Bennett
      chapter • 304 Pages
      Rise of a Legend
      Kathryn Lasky
      chapter • 256 Pages
      Den of Forever Frost (Bears of the Ice #2): Volume 2
      Kathryn Lasky
      chapter • 240 Pages
      Lone Wolf
      #1 in Series
      Kathryn Lasky
      picture • 40 Pages
      She's Wearing a Dead Bird on Her Head!
      Kathryn Lasky, David Catrow
      chapter • 240 Pages
      The Capture
      Kathryn Lasky
      chapter • 215 Pages
      Marie Antoinette: Princess of Versailles, Austria-France, 1769
      Kathryn Lasky
      chapter • 192 Pages
      Jahanara, Princess of Princesses
      Kathryn Lasky
      chapter • 400 Pages
      Tangled in Time: The Portal
      Kathryn Lasky
      picture • 48 Pages
      Newton's Rainbow: The Revolutionary Discoveries of a Young Scientist
      Kathryn Lasky, Kevin Hawkes
      chapter • 64 Pages
      Sugaring Time
      Kathryn Lasky
      chapter • 170 Pages
      Journal of Augustus Pelletier: The Lewis and Clark Expedition
      Kathryn Lasky
      View more

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      chapter • 256 Pages
      The Language of Spells
      5.5
      Katie Harnett, Garret Weyr
      chapter • 288 Pages
      Misfits
       
      chapter • 288 Pages
      The Ruins of Gorlan
      John Flanagan
      chapter • 256 Pages
      Tuesdays at the Castle
      Jessica Day George
      chapter • 288 Pages
      Withering-by-Sea
      Judith Rossell
      chapter • 272 Pages
      At the Bottom of the World
      Bill Nye, Gregory Mone, Nicholas Iluzada
      chapter • 192 Pages
      The Twenty-One Balloons
      William Pene du Bois
      chapter • 288 Pages
      The City of Ember
      Jeanne DuPrau
      chapter • 192 Pages
      The Return
      Varian Johnson
      chapter • 272 Pages
      Creatures of the Flood
      Erin Hunter

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780545683067
    Publication Date
    September 11, 2018
    Publisher
    Scholastic Press
    Page Count
    240
    Words Per Page
    189
    Audience
    Middle Grade
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2017059655
    WorldCat Number (OCLC)
    1026983577
    Lexile® Level
    650L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~P
    ATOS® Book Level
    4.6
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    7
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    193823
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    MG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 95%

    So, SO close to perfection!

    Depth Score - 9%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @mamabearian
    10

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo