Rump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Rumpelstiltskin
Rump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Rumpelstiltskin
Goodreads4.0 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

Rump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Rumpelstiltskin

Written and illustrated by Liesl Shurtliff
Published by Yearling
Prices as of Oct 26

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. New York Times Bestselling author Liesl Shurtliff “spins words into gold [Kirby Larson, Newbery Honor winner].” In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone’s joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she’s right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse. To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—he just might triumph in the end. A Texas Bluebonnet finalist and winner of the ILA award for middle grade fiction, Rump is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine’s Ella Enchanted or Adam Gidwitz’s A Tale Dark and Grimm. And don’t miss Liesl Shurtliff’s other fairy tale retellings: Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk and Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood.

What Kind of Book is Rump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Rumpelstiltskin

Topics

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Liesl Shurtliff Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Liesl Shurtliff know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
      7.0
      J. K. Rowling, Mary GrandPré
      Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
      7.0
      J. K. Rowling, Mary GrandPré
      Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
      7.0
      J. K. Rowling, Mary GrandPré
      Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
      6.9
      J. K. Rowling, Mary GrandPré
      The Silver Arrow
      6.3
      Lev Grossman
      Fortune's Magic Farm
      6.1
      Suzanne Selfors
      Peter and the Starcatchers
      6.0
      Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson, Greg Call
      The Adventurer's Guide to Successful Escapes
      6.0
      Wade Albert White, Mariano Epelbaum
      The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel
      6.0
      Natasha Lowe
      Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
      6.0
      J. K. Rowling, Mary GrandPré

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780307977960
    Publication Date
    April 22, 2014
    Page Count
    288
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    030797796X

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 48%

    Still needs the basics.

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.