The Definitive Guide to

Rump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Rumpelstiltskin

Written and illustrated by Liesl Shurtliff
Published by Yearling
$7.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
288
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. New York Times Bestselling author Liesl Shurtliff “spins words into gold [Kirby Larson, Newbery Honor winner].” In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone’s joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she’s right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse. To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—he just might triumph in the end. A Texas Bluebonnet finalist and winner of the ILA award for middle grade fiction, Rump is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine’s Ella Enchanted or Adam Gidwitz’s A Tale Dark and Grimm. And don’t miss Liesl Shurtliff’s other fairy tale retellings: Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk and Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood.

What Kind of Book is Rump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Rumpelstiltskin

Book Lists That Include Rump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Rumpelstiltskin

Book Lists › Inspired by Brothers Grimm Fairytales
Children's Books About Inspired By Brothers Grimm Fairytales
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Rump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Rumpelstiltskin

author & illustrator
Liesl Shurtliff View Author

What Has Liesl Shurtliff Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Liesl Shurtliff know that we want more details from them about Rump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Rumpelstiltskin!

Book Details

ISBN 10:
030797796X
ISBN 13:
9780307977960
Publication Date:
April 22, 2014