Book Series

The Unmapped Chronicles Books

In order from Casper Tock and the Everdark Wings to Zeb Bolt and the Ember Scroll
Casper Tock and the Everdark Wings
The Bickery Twins and the Phoenix Tear
Zeb Bolt and the Ember Scroll
Casper Tock and the Everdark Wings
The Bickery Twins and the Phoenix Tear
chapter • 384 Pages
Casper Tock and the Everdark Wings
#1 in Series
Book #1

Casper Tock and the Everdark Wings

Written and illustrated by Abi Elphinstone
8 - 12
Reading age
Page count
Jan 7, 2020
Publication date
Physical book


From bestselling author Abi Elphinstone comes a wondrous new series about four secret unmapped kingdoms hidden in our own world! Casper Tock hates risks and is allergic to adventures. So it comes as a nasty shock to him one day when he hides from bullies in an ancient grandfather clock—and ends up finding an entire world inside. Casper discovers that this sky kingdom of Rumblestar is one of the four Unmapped Kingdoms in charge of controlling the weather in Casper’s own world. What’s more, Casper is now stuck in Rumblestar, and the only person there who doesn’t think he’s a demon spy is a strange girl named Utterly, who hates rules and is allergic to behaving. All Casper wants is to find his way home, but Rumblestar is in trouble. An evil harpy called Morg is trying to steal the magic of the Unmapped Kingdoms. And if these kingdoms fall, Casper’s world will be destroyed as well. And so, together with Utterly and her miniature dragon, Arlo, Casper embarks on a quest full of cloud giants, storm ogres, and drizzle hags. Can he, Utterly, and Arlo—the unlikeliest of heroes—save both their worlds from the clutches of Morg?

The Unmapped Chronicles Series

Published from 2020 - 2021
3 books
chapter • 384 Pages
Casper Tock and the Everdark Wings
Physical book
chapter • 352 Pages
The Bickery Twins and the Phoenix Tear
#2 in Series
chapter • 320 Pages
Zeb Bolt and the Ember Scroll
#3 in Series
20201Casper Tock and the Everdark Wings384
20212The Bickery Twins and the Phoenix Tear352
20213Zeb Bolt and the Ember Scroll320

The Creative Behind the Books

    Author & Illustrator
    Abi Elphinstone

    Abi Elphinstone grew up in Scotland where she spent most of her childhood building dens, hiding in tree houses, and running wild across highland glens. After being coaxed out of her treehouse, she studied English at Bristol University and then worked as a teacher in Africa, Berkshire, and London. She is the author of the Dreamsnatcher trilogy and the Unmapped Chronicles, among other books for young readers, and the editor of anthology Winter Magic. When she’s not writing, Abi volunteers for the children’s literacy charity Coram Beanstalk, speaks in schools, and travels the world looking for her next story. You can find more about Abi at or on Facebook at Abi.Elphinstone.

Similar Series

    The Adventurer's Guide to Successful Escapes
    Saint Lupin's Quest Academy for Consistently Dangerous and Absolutely Terrifying Adventures
    Royal Academy Rebels
    Story Thieves
    Story Thieves
    Dragon Captives
    The Unwanteds Quests
    The Awakening Storm
    City of Dragons
    Dragon's Green
    The Wishmakers
    Peter and the Starcatchers


Book Clubs

Follow Bookroo