The Definitive Guide to

Spindle's End

Written & illustrated by Robin McKinley
Goodreads Rating - 3.8 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 31
$8.99
Retail Price
$7.64
Bookshop
$8.99
used $8.99
Amazon
Jun 1, 2001
Publication Date
368
Pages
12-17
Target Age

What's Spindle's End About

Publisher Summary

“We will keep her safe.” All the creatures of the forest and field and riverbank knew the infant was special. She was the princess, spirited away from the evil fairy Pernicia on her name-day. But the curse was cast: Rosie was fated to prick her finger on the spindle of a spinning wheel and fall into a poisoned sleep—a slumber from which no one would be able to rouse her… In the tradition of Beauty and Rose Daughter, Robin McKinley “lends a fresh perspective to a classic fairy tale, developing the story of ‘Sleeping Beauty’ into a richly imagined, vividly depicted novel.” (School Library Journal)

What Kind of Book is Spindle's End

Book Lists That Include Spindle's End

Book Topics › Sleeping Beauty
Splendid Children's Books About Sleeping Beauty
Book Topics › fantasy and magic
Children's Books About Fantasy And Magic
Book Topics › fairy tales
Children's Books About Fairy Tales
Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Spindle's End

author & illustrator
Robin McKinley

Robin McKinley has won various awards and citations for her writing, including the Newbery Medal for <i>The Hero and the Crown</i> and a Newbery Honor for <i>The Blue Sword</i>. Her other books include <i>Sunshine</i>; the <i>New York Times</i> bestseller <i>Spindle’s End</i>; two novel-length retellings of the fairy tale <i>Beauty and the Beast</i>, <i>Beauty and Rose Daughter</i>; and a retelling of the <i>Robin Hood</i> legend, <i>The Outlaws of Sherwood</i>. She lives with her husband, the English writer Peter Dickinson.

View Author

What Has Robin McKinley Said About Spindle's End

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Robin know that you want more details about Spindle's End!

More Books by Robin McKinley

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Spindle's End

Book Details

ISBN:
9780441008650
Publication Date:
June 1, 2001
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0441008658

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 51%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.