The Definitive Guide to

The Bear Ate Your Sandwich

Written and illustrated by Julia Sarcone-Roach
1234567
6.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.1 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
3-7
Target Age
40
Pages
Picture
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Bear meets sandwich, adventure ensues. . . . A sly classic-in-the-making for fans of Jon Klassen, Peter Brown, and Mo Willems.

By now I think you know what happened to your sandwich. But you may not know how it happened. So let me tell you. It all started with the bear . . .

So begins Julia Sarcone-Roach’s delicious tale of a bear, lost in the city, who happens upon an unattended sandwich in the park. The bear’s journey from forest to city and back home again is full of happy accidents, funny encounters, and sensory delights. The story is so engrossing, it’s not until the very end that we begin to suspect this is a TALL tale.

The wonderfully told story, spectacular illustrations, and surprise ending make this Julia Sarcone-Roach’s best book to date. You’ll want to share it with your friends (and keep a close eye on your lunch).

What Kind of Book is The Bear Ate Your Sandwich

Video Gallery

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

Grammy
English Degree, Former SAHM, Grammy Extraordinare
1234567
6.0

This delightful story is told in absolute opposition to Occam’s razor. While the simplest explanation may be the most likely, it can’t possibly be so entertaining. On pages drenched with color, we witness the bear’s alleged antics; he has so much character and personality. Keep an eye open for the visual jokes. You will want to read this one again and again.

Mom of Boys
Three little boys who love books about dragons, whangdoodles and magic.
1234567
6.0

Book Lists That Include The Bear Ate Your Sandwich

Book Lists › Preschool
Children's Books About Preschool
Book Lists › Age 4
Children's Books About Age 4
Book Lists › 100 Hidden Gem
The Best 100 Hidden Gem Children's Books
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Bear Ate Your Sandwich

author & illustrator
Julia Sarcone-Roach

Julia is a Brooklyn-based children’s author and illustrator. She studied film and animation at the Rhode Island School of Design. After graduating, she worked in film before creating and directing her own award winning animated film, “Call of the Wild,” which has been shown at film festivals around the world. Along with her success in film-making, Julia is also a talented, award winning children’s book author and illustrator.

View Author

What Has Julia Sarcone-Roach Said About This Book

  • What do you hope young readers enjoy about The Bear Ate Your Sandwich?

    Just like the Bear, I hope readers will enjoy every crumb of silly adventure, a little taste of mystery, and maybe come back for seconds!

Trivia to Know About This Book

  • What was the inspiration for The Bear Ate Your Sandwich?

    Julia: One winter day I was walking from the subway to work. I was bundled up in a big winter coat, feeling like a burly bear. Moving along the crowded sidewalks, I felt both invisible and also like I was in everyone else’s way. As I bumbled along, I imagined a bright, bustling city street with a confused but curious bear in the middle of the sidewalk, completely unnoticed.

    At work I wondered about the bear. “What would the bear be doing in the city?” Then I began to do serious research. Walking to work, I would pretend I was a bear. “If I was a bear and could climb anywhere, where would I go? What would the sidewalk feel like under my paws?”

    I kept drawing the bear in the city and from there the story developed. The serious research went beyond pretending to be a bear. A lot of sandwiches were also eaten in the making of this book.

More Books From These Creatives

There Are No Bears in This Bakery book
5.1
cats · bears · animals
There Are No Bears in This Bakery
picture book
Excellent Ed

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

Madeline book
6.8
Paris · bravery · doctors · illness · female role models · adventure
Madeline
The Boy Who Spoke to the Earth book
6.8
Unique Books for Baby Shower Gifts · nature
The Boy Who Spoke to the Earth
To the Sea book
6.7
making friends · kindness · problem solving · friendship · being nice · hard work · loneliness
To the Sea
Where the Wild Things Are book
6.7
imagination · monsters
Where the Wild Things Are
Hop Along Boo, Time for Bed book
6.5
bedtime · getting ready for bed · stuffed animal friends
Hop Along Boo, Time for Bed
Wherever You Go book
6.5
Unique Books for Baby Shower Gifts · being yourself · travel · seasons · adventure · leaving home
Wherever You Go
Koalas Eat Gum Leaves book
6.5
picture book
Koalas Eat Gum Leaves
Hello, Mr. Dodo! book
6.5
picture book
Hello, Mr. Dodo!

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0375858601
ISBN 13:
9780375858604
Publication Date:
January 6, 2015