Discover

Company
The Bear Ate Your Sandwich Book
The Bear Ate Your Sandwich Book
A BookrooView of

The Bear Ate Your Sandwich

Written and illustrated by Julia Sarcone-Roach

Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers

1234567
6.0
Overall

Publisher's Summary

Bear meets sandwich, adventure ensues. . . . A sly classic-in-the-making for fans of Jon Klassen, Peter Brown, and Mo Willems.

By now I think you know what happened to your sandwich.
But you may not know how it happened.
So let me tell you.
It all started with the bear . . .

So begins Julia Sarcone-Roach’s delicious tale of a bear, lost in the city, who happens upon an unattended sandwich in the park. The bear’s journey from forest to city and back home again is full of happy accidents, funny encounters, and sensory delights. The story is so engrossing, it’s not until the very end that we begin to suspect this is a TALL tale.

The wonderfully told story, spectacular illustrations, and surprise ending make this Julia Sarcone-Roach’s best book to date. You’ll want to share it with your friends (and keep a close eye on your lunch).

Gallery

Topics in The Bear Ate Your Sandwich

What do you hope young readers enjoy about The Bear Ate Your Sandwich?

Julia: Just like the Bear, I hope readers will enjoy every crumb of silly adventure, a little taste of mystery, and maybe come back for seconds!

What was the inspiration for The Bear Ate Your Sandwich?

Julia: One winter day I was walking from the subway to work. I was bundled up in a big winter coat, feeling like a burly bear. Moving along the crowded sidewalks, I felt both invisible and also like I was in everyone else’s way. As I bumbled along, I imagined a bright, bustling city street with a confused but curious bear in the middle of the sidewalk, completely unnoticed.

At work I wondered about the bear. “What would the bear be doing in the city?” Then I began to do serious research. Walking to work, I would pretend I was a bear. “If I was a bear and could climb anywhere, where would I go? What would the sidewalk feel like under my paws?”

I kept drawing the bear in the city and from there the story developed. The serious research went beyond pretending to be a bear. A lot of sandwiches were also eaten in the making of this book.

Details

  • Age Range: 3-7
  • Pages: 40
  • Book Type: picture
  • Publication Date: January 6, 2015
  • ISBN: 0375858601
  • ISBN 13: 978-0375858604
Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More
BOOKROOVIEWERS
1234567
6.0
Grammy
English Degree, Former SAHM, Grammy Extraordinare

This delightful story is told in absolute opposition to Occam's razor. While the simplest explanation may be the most likely, it can't possibly be so entertaining. On pages drenched with color, we witness the bear's alleged antics; he has so much character and personality. Keep an eye open for the visual jokes. You will want to read this one again and again.

1234567
6.0
Mom of Boys
Three little boys who love books about dragons, whangdoodles and magic.

author & illustrator
Julia Sarcone-Roach

Julia is a Brooklyn-based children’s author and illustrator. She studied film and animation at the Rhode Island School of Design. After graduating, she worked in film before creating and directing her own award winning animated film, “Call of the Wild,” which has been shown at film festivals around the world. Along with her success in film-making, Julia is also a talented, award winning children’s book author and illustrator.

View Author
Julia Sarcone-Roach

More books like The Bear Ate Your Sandwich

View All ›
This Little Explorer book
6.9
Age 2 · explorers · biography · Best Children's Books by Age · travel · adventure · female role models · journeys · Native Americans · diversity
This Little Explorer
Eyes book
6.8
Age 3 · Best Children's Books by Age · animals · eyes · diversity
Eyes
To the Sea book
6.7
Preschool · 100 Hidden Gem · making friends · kindness · calming reads for bedtime · problem solving · friendship · being nice · hard work · loneliness
To the Sea
Mrs. Peanuckle's Vegetable Alphabet book
6.3
Preschool · vegetables · alphabet (abc's) · food
Mrs. Peanuckle's Vegetable Alphabet
Mrs. Peanuckle's Fruit Alphabet book
6.2
Age 3 · fruit · 100 Hidden Gem · Best Children's Books by Age · food · alphabet (abc's)
Mrs. Peanuckle's Fruit Alphabet
This Little Hamster book
6.1
Age 1 · Best Children's Books by Age · 100 Hidden Gem · animals · colors · rhyming
This Little Hamster
Bears Are Big book
6.0
animals · opposites · bears
Bears Are Big
More Than Balloons book
6.0
Best Children's Books by Age · 100 Hidden Gem · calming reads for bedtime · love · children's books for adults · valentines · babies · parents
More Than Balloons