The Definitive Guide to

The Big Game

Written by Tim Green
Published by HarperCollins
Goodreads Rating - 4.3 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 23
$16.99
Retail Price
$14.44
Bookshop
$7.99
used $1.49
Amazon
Aug 14, 2018
Publication Date
320
Pages
8-12
Target Age

What's The Big Game About

Publisher Summary

New York Times bestselling author and former NFL defensive end Tim Green encourages readers to fight for their dreams in this heartfelt story about a young football star grappling with the stress of living up to his father’s name. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica! Danny Owens is dedicating his seventh-grade season to his Super Bowl champion father, who recently passed away. Danny promises everyone that, just like his dad, he’ll dominate the big game at the end of the season and earn a spot on the high school varsity team. Then his English teacher catches him cheating on a test. Even though Danny can retake it, he knows there’s no point. He can’t read. And if Danny can’t pass this class, he won’t be eligible to play in the championship game that could unlock his future. While his resentment rises against the only person willing to help him win off the field, the pressure to succeed begins to weigh heavily on Danny’s shoulders. Danny is being tested on every level now, and to pass, he may very well have to choose a different path from his father’s.

What Kind of Book is The Big Game

Book Lists That Include The Big Game

Book Topics › action and adventure
Awesome Children's Books About Adventure
Book Topics › family life
Children's Books About Family Life
Book Topics › school
Children's Books About School
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Big Game

author
Tim Green

Tim Green, for many years a star defensive end with the Atlanta Falcons, is a man of many talents. He’s the author of such gripping books for adults as the New York Times bestselling The Dark Side of the Game and American Outrage. Tim graduated covaledictorian from Syracuse University and was a first-round draft pick. He later earned his law degree with honors, and he has also worked as an NFL commentator for FOX Sports and NPR.

His first book for young readers, Football Genius, inspired in part by his players and his own kids, became a New York Times bestseller and was followed by Football Hero, Football Champ, The Big Time, and Deep Zone. He drew on his experiences playing and coaching Little League for Rivals and Pinch Hit and two more New York Times bestsellers: Baseball Great and Best of the Best.

Bestselling author Jon Scieszka called Tim Green’s Unstoppable, a book about a boy’s struggle with cancer that debuted at #2 on the New York Times bestseller list, “Absolutely heroic. And something every guy should read.”

Tim Green lives with his wife, Illyssa, and their five children in upstate New York.

View Author

What Has Tim Green Said About The Big Game

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Tim know that you want more details about The Big Game!

More Books by Tim Green

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Big Game

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062485045
Publication Date:
August 14, 2018
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2018013363
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0062485040
Lexile® Level:
HL670L
ATOS® Book Level:
4.4
Accelerated Reader® Points:
9.0
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
197166
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.