The Book of Mistakes
The Book of Mistakes
5.5/7
Bookroo
4.2/5
Goodreads

The Book of Mistakes

Written and illustrated by Corinna Luyken
Hardcover
$18.99
$17.66
4 - 8
Reading age
56
Page count
3
Words per page
AD520L
Lexile measure
Apr 17, 2017
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Zoom meets Beautiful Oops! in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which “mistakes” can blossom into inspiration One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake. The weird frog-cat-cow thing? It made an excellent bush. And the inky smudges… they look as if they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky. As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest “mistakes” can be the source of the brightest ideas—and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too. Fans of Peter Reynolds’s Ish and Patrick McDonnell’s A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You’ll Go!, it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life’s obstacles.

What Kind of Book is The Book of Mistakes

Topics

Reviews

Book Lists That Include This Book

The Creative Behind the Book

Trivia to Know About This Book

What Has Corinna Luyken Said About This Book

Nothing yet! You should let Corinna Luyken know that you want to hear from them about their book.

More Books by Corinna Luyken

    picture • 40 Pages
    Adrian Simcox Does NOT Have a Horse
    6.6
    Marcy Campbell, Corinna Luyken
    picture • 32 Pages
    My Heart
    5.5
    Corinna Luyken
    picture • 48 Pages
    Patchwork
    Matt De La Peña, Corinna Luyken
    picture • 40 Pages
    Nothing in Common
    5.2
    Corinna Luyken, Kate Hoefler
    picture • 56 Pages
    The Tree in Me
    Corinna Luyken
    chapter • 240 Pages
    Weird Little Robots
    Carolyn Crimi, Corinna Luyken
    View more

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

    picture • 56 Pages
    Lift
    Dan Santat, Minh Lê
    picture • 48 Pages
    Accident!
    Graphic Nov.
    Andrea Tsurumi
    picture • 48 Pages
    Spacebot
    Mike Twohy
    picture • 48 Pages
    The Troublemaker
    4.0
    Lauren Castillo
    picture • 48 Pages
    Petra
    6.0
    Marianna Coppo
    picture • 48 Pages
    Life
    5.6
    Cynthia Rylant, Brendan Wenzel
    picture • 48 Pages
    The Breaking News
    5.5
    Sarah Lynne Reul
    picture • 48 Pages
    The Wall in the Middle of the Book
    5.4
    Jon Agee
    picture • 48 Pages
    Layla's Happiness
    Mariahadessa Ekere Tallie, Ashleigh Corrin
    chapter • 64 Pages
    A is for Annabelle: A Doll's Alphabet
    Tasha Tudor

Book Details

ISBN
9780735227927
Publication Date
April 17, 2017
Publisher
Dial Books for Young Readers
Page Count
56
Words Per Page
3.3392857142857144
Audience
Picture
Reading Age
4 - 8 years
Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
2016028512
Lexile® Level
AD520L
Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
~N
ATOS® Book Level
2.4
Accelerated Reader® Points
0.5
Accelerated Reader Quiz
189687
Accelerated Reader Interest Level
LG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 90%

So, SO close to perfection!

Depth Score - 25%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

Bookroo

Book Clubs

Follow Bookroo