The Book of Mistakes
The Book of Mistakes
Bookroo5.5 / 7Goodreads4.2 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

The Book of Mistakes

Written and illustrated by Corinna Luyken
Published by Dial Books for Young Readers
Prices as of Sep 15

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Zoom meets Beautiful Oops! in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which “mistakes” can blossom into inspiration One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake. The weird frog-cat-cow thing? It made an excellent bush. And the inky smudges… they look as if they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky. As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest “mistakes” can be the source of the brightest ideas—and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too. Fans of Peter Reynolds’s Ish and Patrick McDonnell’s A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You’ll Go!, it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life’s obstacles.

What Kind of Book is The Book of Mistakes

Topics

Reviews

Book Lists That Include This Book

The Creative Behind the Book

Trivia to Know About This Book

What Has Corinna Luyken Said About This Book

Nothing yet! You should let Corinna Luyken know that you want to hear from them about their book.

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

    Beautiful Oops!
    5.8
    Barney Saltzberg
    Dog Loves Drawing
    5.5
    Louise Yates
    When I Draw a Panda
    5.1
    Amy June Bates
    Flora's Tree House
    5.0
    Gabriel Alborozo
    Draw!
    5.0
    Raúl Colón
    Sam & Eva
    5.0
    Debbie Ridpath Ohi
    Too Much Glue
    Jason Lefebvre, Zac Retz
    If I Built a School
    Chris Van Dusen
    Harold and the Purple Crayon
    6.1
    Crockett Johnson
    The Big Ideas of Buster Bickles
    5.9
    Dave Wasson

Book Details

ISBN
9780735227927
Publication Date
April 17, 2017
Page Count
56
Reading Age
4 - 8 years
Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
2016028512
ASIN/ISBN 10
0735227926
Lexile® Level
AD520L
ATOS® Book Level
2.4
Accelerated Reader® Points
0.5
Accelerated Reader Quiz
189687
Accelerated Reader Interest Level
LG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 62%

More than halfway there—keep going!

Depth Score - 25%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.