The Definitive Guide to

Nothing in Common

Written by Kate Hoefler & illustrated by Corinna Luyken
Published by HMH Books
1234567
5.19 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 5.0 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 22
$17.99
Retail Price
$15.29
Bookshop
$17.99
used $17.99
Amazon
Sep 15, 2020
Publication Date
40
Pages
4-7
Target Age

What Does Bookroo Think of This Book

“A work of art with a resounding message—people have more in common than they think.”

The story opens as a boy and a girl look out their windows, never waving because they have “nothing in common.” Except that it turns out . . . they do: they both enjoy watching an old man with his dog that “could do marvelous things.” One day, though, they learn the dog is lost, so they separately set off to find the dog and reunite it and the old man. Working alone, they both check all the same places and experience the same heart-tugging emotions. When they finally discover the dog (in a hot air balloon, marvelously enough), they work together to bring him back to his friend and realize the dog has performed yet another marvel—he’s helped them discover they share more in common than they realized. While the story, at moments, feels a bit random, it simultaneously touches readers “under the floors of their hearts” with its sophistication and depth. Luyken’s illustrations match the words in both abstraction and elegance, and the tri-color scheme is distinctive, effectively emphasizing both the neighbors’ differences as well as the the beauty that comes from their joint friendship. The artistry in both prose and pictures combine to drive home a message that is timely and timeless—being brought together over a common purpose allows us to discover we have more in common than we may realize.

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A tender and timely story of compassion and finding common ground with others, perfect for fans of _I Walk With Vanessa _and Thank You, Omu!

Two neighbors both love to watch the old man and his dog from their windows, but they never wave to each other. After all, they have nothing in common. But everything changes when they are the only ones who notice that one day is different—there is the old man, but where is the dog?

In this lyrical picture book, two strangers learn about the many ways the world connects us—even if the only thing we have in common is how much we care about someone else. Filled with whimsy and warmth, Nothing In Common is a tender friendship story that reminds us to always lead with compassion.

What Kind of Book is Nothing in Common

Where Does This Book Stand Out

Illustration

The “Illustration” badge is awarded to books with exceptional illustrations.

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

Mom of Boys
Mom of three little boys who love books about dragons, whangdoodles and magic.
1234567
5.25 / 7.0
The Goodfather
Favorite pastime? Reading with my kids. Just finished Nana Cracks the Case!
1234567
5.75 / 7.0
The Book Snob Mom
Mom of boys. Lover of Harry Potter, Jane Austen and believes one can never own too many children's books!
1234567
5.0 / 7.0
B is for Bookworm
Book-loving mommy-to-be! Recently enjoyed The Hobbit, Becoming, and The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel.
1234567
4.75 / 7.0

Book Lists That Include Nothing in Common

Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Book Topics › compassion
Children's Books About Compassion
Book Topics › strangers
Children's Books About Strangers
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Nothing in Common

author
Kate Hoefler

Kate Hoefler received her MFA in poetry from the University of Michigan, where she studied as a Colby Fellow. She is the author of <em>Real Cowboys</em> and <em>Great Big Things</em>. She lives in a quiet village in Ohio where she can hear the distant sounds of the highway.

View Author

Who Illustrated Nothing in Common

illustrator
Corinna Luyken

Corinna Luyken is the author-illustrator of THE BOOK OF MISTAKES, which received four starred reviews and has been praised by Entertainment Weekly, the Wall Street Journal, NPR, and more.  She also illustrated ADRIAN SIMCOX DOES NOT HAVE A HORSE, written by Marcy Campbell.  And is she the author-illustrator of the forthcoming MY HEART, which will be released January 8, 2019.  She lives in Olympia, WA with her husband, daughter, and two cats.

View Illustrator

What Has Kate Hoefler Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Kate know that you want more details about Nothing in Common!

What Has Corinna Luyken Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Corinna know that you want more details about Nothing in Common! Try tweeting Corinna on twitter (@corinnaluyken) or messaging Corinna on instagram (@corinnaluyken).

More Books From These Creatives

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Nothing in Common

Book Details

ISBN:
9780544774780
Publication Date:
September 15, 2020
WorldCat Number (OCLC):
1120786016
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0544774787

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 55%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 21%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.