The Ersatz Elevator
The Ersatz Elevator
Bookroo4.8 / 7Goodreads4.0 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

The Ersatz Elevator

Written by Lemony Snicket & illustrated by Brett Helquist and Michael Kupperman
Book #6 in the A Series of Unfortunate Events Series
Published by HarperCollins
Prices as of Sep 17

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I’m sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits. Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket’s uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.

What Kind of Book is The Ersatz Elevator

Topics

Reviews

Book Lists That Include This Book

The Creatives Behind the Book

What Has Lemony Snicket Said About This Book

Nothing yet! You should let Lemony Snicket know that you want to hear from them about their book.

What Has Brett Helquist Said About This Book

Nothing yet! You should let Brett Helquist know that you want to hear from them about their book.

What Has Michael Kupperman Said About This Book

Nothing yet! You should let Michael Kupperman know that you want to hear from them about their book.

Discover All the Books in the A Series of Unfortunate Events Series

    The Austere Academy
    4.5
    The Austere Academy
    The Carnivorous Carnival
    4.8
    The Carnivorous Carnival
    The Grim Grotto
    4.8
    The Grim Grotto
    The Ersatz Elevator
    4.8
    The Ersatz Elevator
    The Slippery Slope
    4.5
    The Slippery Slope
    The Reptile Room
    4.8
    The Reptile Room
    The Hostile Hospital
    4.5
    The Hostile Hospital
    The Wide Window
    4.8
    The Wide Window
    The Penultimate Peril
    4.8
    The Penultimate Peril
    The End
    4.8
    The End
    The Vile Village
    4.5
    The Vile Village
    The Miserable Mill
    4.5
    The Miserable Mill
    The Bad Beginning
    5.3
    The Bad Beginning
    See All Books

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

    Ruby Holler
    6.0
    Sharon Creech
    The Thief Lord
    5.8
    Cornelia Funke, Christian Birmingham
    One Shadow on the Wall
    Leah Henderson
    Scarlet  Ibis
    Gill Lewis
    The Doughnut Whodunit
    Gertrude Chandler Warner
    Bubble
    Stewart Foster
    Surprise Island (The Boxcar Children: Time to Read, Level 2)
    Gertrude Chandler Warner
    Beyond the Green
    Sharlee Glenn
    The Day of the Dead Mystery
    Gertrude Chandler Warner
    Lost and Found (Witherwood Reform School Series #2)
    Obert Skye, Keith Thompson

Book Details

ISBN
9780064408646
Publication Date
February 20, 2001
Page Count
259
Reading Age
8 - 12 years
ASIN/ISBN 10
0064408647

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 51%

More than halfway there—keep going!

Depth Score - 12%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.