The Definite Guide to

The Ersatz Elevator

Written by Lemony Snicket and illustrated by Brett Helquist and Michael Kupperman
Published by HarperCollins
1234567
4.75
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
$13.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
Chapter
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe.

In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits.

Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.

Who Wrote The Ersatz Elevator

author
Lemony Snicket

Lemony Snicket is the author of the thirteen volumes in A Series of Unfortunate Events; several picture books, including The Dark; and the books collectively titled All the Wrong Questions.

View Author

Who Illustrated The Ersatz Elevator

illustrator
Brett Helquist

Coming soon!

View Illustrator
illustrator
Michael Kupperman

Coming soon!

View Illustrator

What Has Lemony Snicket Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 馃し You should let Lemony Snicket know that we want more details from them about The Ersatz Elevator!

What Has Brett Helquist Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 馃し You should let Brett Helquist know that we want more details from them about The Ersatz Elevator!

What Has Michael Kupperman Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 馃し You should let Michael Kupperman know that we want more details from them about The Ersatz Elevator!
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

Readerly Mom
Bay Area mother of two, world traveler, book lover, picky reader
Readerly Mom's Rating
1234567
4.75

This is the sixth book in the Series of Unfortunate Events book series, and it was one of my favorites. The hilariously tragic plight of the Baudelaire children continues, but it was around this point that the pace and structure of the plot really started to pick up, becoming less episodic and more continuous. Each book is like a little puzzle to figure out, and the series as a whole is a much bigger puzzle.

More Books From These Creatives

A Series of Unfortunate Events #1: The Bad Beginning book
5.3
books made into movies 路 The Ultimate Grade-By-Grade Guide to Books 路 new parents 路 coping with failure 路 sisters 路 innovation 路 humor 路 siblings 路 mystery 路 sleuthing
A Series of Unfortunate Events #1: The Bad Beginning
The Dark book
4.8
facing fears
The Dark
Guitar Genius book
4.8
famous people 路 famous places 路 innovation 路 musical-instruments 路 biography 路 inventions 路 music 路 based on a true story
Guitar Genius
The Ersatz Elevator book
4.8
chapter book
The Ersatz Elevator
The Carnivorous Carnival book
4.8
chapter book
The Carnivorous Carnival
The Grim Grotto book
4.8
chapter book
The Grim Grotto
The Penultimate Peril book
4.8
chapter book
The Penultimate Peril
The End book
4.8
chapter book
The End
Martina & Chrissie book
4.5
female role models 路 sports 路 history 路 biography
Martina & Chrissie