The Definitive Guide to

The Ersatz Elevator

Written by Lemony Snicket & illustrated by Brett Helquist and Michael Kupperman
Published by HarperCollins
1234567
4.75 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 22
$13.99
Retail Price
$11.89
Bookshop
$11.35
used $1.02
Amazon
Feb 20, 2001
Publication Date
259
Pages
8-12
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I’m sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe.

In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits.

Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket’s uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.

What Kind of Book is The Ersatz Elevator

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

Readerly Mom
Bay Area mother of two, world traveler, book lover, picky reader
1234567
4.75 / 7.0

This is the sixth book in the Series of Unfortunate Events book series, and it was one of my favorites. The hilariously tragic plight of the Baudelaire children continues, but it was around this point that the pace and structure of the plot really started to pick up, becoming less episodic and more continuous. Each book is like a little puzzle to figure out, and the series as a whole is a much bigger puzzle.

Book Lists That Include The Ersatz Elevator

Book Topics › funny and humorous
Hilarious Children's Books Filled With Humor
Book Topics › action and adventure
Awesome Children's Books About Adventure
Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Ersatz Elevator

author
Lemony Snicket

Lemony Snicket is the author of the thirteen volumes in A Series of Unfortunate Events; several picture books, including The Dark; and the books collectively titled All the Wrong Questions.

View Author

Who Illustrated The Ersatz Elevator

illustrator
Brett Helquist

<p>Brett Helquist’s celebrated art has graced books from the charming <em>Bedtime for Bear</em>, which he also wrote, to the <em>New York Times</em>-bestselling <em>A Series of Unfortunate Events</em> by Lemony Snicket to the glorious picture book adaptation of Charles Dickens’s <em>A Christmas Carol</em>. He lives with his family in Brooklyn, New York.</p>

View Illustrator
illustrator
Michael Kupperman

Michael Kupperman has done many illustrations for such publications as <em>Fortune, The New Yorker, and The New York Times.</em> He frequently writes scripts for DC Comics. This is his first book.

View Illustrator

What Has Lemony Snicket Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Lemony know that you want more details about The Ersatz Elevator!

What Has Brett Helquist Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Brett know that you want more details about The Ersatz Elevator!

What Has Michael Kupperman Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Michael know that you want more details about The Ersatz Elevator!

Discover All the Books in the A Series of Unfortunate Events Series

The Series

View All
Chapter book
4.8
Add to list
Chapter book
4.5
Add to list
Chapter book
4.8
Add to list
Chapter book
4.5
Add to list
Chapter book
4.8
Add to list
Chapter book
4.5
Add to list
Chapter book
4.8
Add to list
Chapter book
4.5
Add to list
Chapter book
4.8
Add to list
Chapter book
4.8
Add to list
Chapter book
4.5
Add to list
Chapter book
5.3
Add to list

More Books From These Creatives

Lemony Snicket, Seth
Chapter book
4.5
Add to list
Lemony Snicket
Chapter book
4.5
Add to list
Blue Balliett, Brett Helquist
Chapter book
Add to list
Blue Balliett, Brett Helquist
Chapter book
Add to list

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Ersatz Elevator

Book Details

ISBN:
9780064408646
Publication Date:
February 20, 2001
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0064408647

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 55%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 12%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.