The Definitive Guide to

The Night Is for Darkness

Written by Jonathan Stutzman & illustrated by Joseph Kuefler
Published by Balzer + Bray
1234567
4.25
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.1 / 5.0
$17.99
List Price
4-8
Target Age
40
Pages
Picture
Book Type

What Does Bookroo Think of This Book

“A nighttime move set to calming text proves fresh and just a touch odd.”

A journey through the darkness takes a family to a new home, on a timeline that many who have moved close enough to allow multiple trips can relate to. The two children and their father experience common animal nightlife—including deer, bats, and rabbits—from the safe confines of their car as they travel, and finally arrive at their new home, where they are greeted by a loving mother who appears to have been hard at work getting their house in order. Stories and snacks in a fort, bedtime prayers and finally snuggles round out the night as the two children fall peacefully asleep in their new home. The combination of the themes of nighttime and moving is an interesting one, simultaneously feeling like a fresh take on both while leaving the reader just a tad confused as the story progresses as to what the book is actually about. Stutzman’s text is lyrical, and the cadence and rhyming feel calming—the ideal tone to address children’s fears about either moving or encountering the dark. Since many children, with their early bedtimes, have less experience with the natural world in the dark, the description and illustrations of nightlife are illuminating—in more ways than one, thanks to Kuefler’s masterful use of light.

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A gorgeous bedtime book that is also a tribute to the beauty of the natural world, from popular picture book creators Jonathan Stutzman and Joseph Kuefler. Perfect for fans of The Night Gardener.

The night is for darkness . . . and for surprising moonlit discoveries.

This lyrical story celebrates the wondrous beauty of the natural world and the intimate family moments we share each night.

The Night Is for Darkness is a story full of warmth and love—an ideal sendoff into the land of dreams.

What Kind of Book is The Night Is for Darkness

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

The Goodfather
Husband. Father. Children's Book Critic Extraordinaire:)
1234567
4.5
Mom of Boys
Three little boys who love books about dragons, whangdoodles and magic.
1234567
4.5
Readerly Mom
Bay Area mother of two, world traveler, book lover, picky reader
1234567
3.75

Book Lists That Include The Night Is for Darkness

Book Topics › bedtime and dreams
Children's Books About Bedtime And Dreams
Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Book Topics › night
Children's Books About Night
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Night Is for Darkness

author
Jonathan Stutzman

Jonathan Stutzman is an award-winning filmmaker and writer. His short films have screened at film festivals all over the world and on television. He lives in Palmyra, Pennsylvania.

View Author

Who Illustrated The Night Is for Darkness

illustrator
Joseph Kuefler

Joseph Kuefler is the author-illustrator of many picture books, including Beyond the Pond and The Digger and the Flower. He lives in the Twin Cities of Minnesota with his family.

View Illustrator

What Has Jonathan Stutzman Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Jonathan know that you want more details about The Night Is for Darkness! Try tweeting Jonathan on twitter (@dustdancestoo) or messaging Jonathan on instagram (@thedustdancestoo).

What Has Joseph Kuefler Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Joseph know that you want more details about The Night Is for Darkness!

More Books From These Creatives

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Night Is for Darkness

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062912534
Publication Date:
June 2, 2020

Suggested Links