The Definitive Guide to

Rulers of the Playground

Written & illustrated by Joseph Kuefler
Published by Balzer + Bray
1234567
3.5 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 3.6 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 29
$17.99
Retail Price
$15.29
Bookshop
$12.24
used $5.84
Amazon
Apr 18, 2017
Publication Date
48
Pages
4-8
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A stunning picture book about sharing, friendship, and kindness in a playground setting from Joseph Kuefler, the author/illustrator of Beyond the Pond. Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Oliver Jeffers.

One morning, Jonah decided to become ruler of the playground.

Everyone agreed to obey his rules to play in King Jonah’s kingdom . . .

Everyone except for Lennox . . . because she wanted to rule the playground, too.

A gloriously rendered, hilariously deadpan tale of playground politics.

What Kind of Book is Rulers of the Playground

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

Lemony Snickers
Reading contracts all day long. Not bad, but not quite as fun as reading about hobbits.
1234567
3.5 / 7.0

Rulers of the Playground might help teach young readers about not being bossy. The two main characters boss the other kids and compete with each other until they’ve pushed everyone else around them away. Eventually, they realize their mistake and tire of being left alone enough to make apologies and regain their friends.

Book Lists That Include Rulers of the Playground

Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Book Topics › funny and humorous
Hilarious Children's Books Filled With Humor
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Rulers of the Playground

author & illustrator
Joseph Kuefler

Joseph Kuefler is the author-illustrator of many picture books, including Beyond the Pond and The Digger and the Flower. He lives in the Twin Cities of Minnesota with his family.

View Author

What Has Joseph Kuefler Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Joseph know that you want more details about Rulers of the Playground!

More Books by Joseph Kuefler

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Rulers of the Playground

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062424327
Publication Date:
April 18, 2017
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0062424327
ATOS® Book Level:
2.4
Accelerated Reader® Points:
0.5
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
189603
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
LG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 59%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.