Boxes: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about boxes?

As you can see, this list of kids books about boxes is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about boxes, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

What To Do With a Box book
#1
What To Do With a Box
Written by Jane Yolen and illustrated by Chris Sheban
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8

If you give a child a box, who can tell what will happen next? It may become a library or a boat. It could set the scene for a fairy tale or a wild expedition. The most wonderful thing is its seemingly endless capacity for magical adventure, a feature imaginatively captured in cardboardesque art by Chris Sheban and rhythmically celebrated in this poetic tribute by renowned children’s author Jane Yolen.

The Nowhere Box book
#2
The Nowhere Box
Written and illustrated by Sam Zuppardi
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Frustrated by little brothers who follow him everywhere and wreck his toys and games, George commandeers an empty washing machine box for an imaginative escape that is free of pirates, dragons and bothersome younger siblings.

Not a Box book
#3
Not a Box
Written and illustrated by Antoinette Portis
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-4

A box is just a box…unless it’s not a box. From mountain to rocket ship, a small rabbit shows that a box will go as far as the imagination allows.

Inspired by a memory of sitting in a box on her driveway with her sister, Antoinette Portis captures the thrill when pretend feels so real that it actually becomes real—when the imagination takes over inside a cardboard box, and through play, a child is transported to a world where anything is possible.

This board book edition has sturdy pages and is a good size for the youngest readers.

Bruno's Box book
#4
Bruno's Box
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

‘My name is Bruno, and this is my box It’s not just an ordinary box though, I can be whatever I like’. Leap into Bruno’s world, where you can be a racing driver, or an astronaut, a pirate or even a dinosaur.

Big Box Little Box book
#5
Big Box Little Box
Written by Caryl Hart and illustrated by Edward Underwood
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

With bright, bold illustrations, this stylish board book stars one cool cat and will have readers laughing with delight, perfect for fans of Pete the Cat. Big box, little box Shoe box, hat box . . . Perfect for a cat box! Join one cool cat and lots of fun boxes in this charming take on curiosity and friendship.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!