An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Boxes: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about boxes?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to boxes. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about boxes.

Our list includes board books and picture books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about boxes, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like The Nowhere Box to popular sellers like Not a Box to some of our favorite hidden gems like What To Do With a Box.

We hope this list of kids books about boxes can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

Share this list
Add to list
What To Do With a Box
Written by Jane Yolen & illustrated by Chris Sheban
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8
If you give a child a box, who can tell what will happen next? It may become a library or a boat. It could set the scene for a fairy tale or a wild expedition. The most wonderful thing is its seemingly endless capacity for magical adventure, a feature imaginatively captured in cardboardesque art by Chris Sheban and rhythmically celebrated in this poetic tribute by renowned children's author Jane Yolen.
Add to list
The Nowhere Box
Written & illustrated by Sam Zuppardi
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Frustrated by little brothers who follow him everywhere and wreck his toys and games, George commandeers an empty washing machine box for an imaginative escape that is free of pirates, dragons and bothersome younger siblings.
Add to list
Thank You Bear
Written & illustrated by Greg Foley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5
Early one morning, a little bear found a little box. He looked inside. Then he exclaimed, “Why, it’s the greatest thing ever! Mouse will love this.” Bear’s friends aren’t so sure of his newfound treasure, however. “That’s not so great,” says Monkey. “I’ve seen those before,” says Owl. And by the time Bear finds Mouse, his own doubts have grown. But Mouse has the last say when he looks inside the little box. “It is the greatest thing ever,” he tells his friend. “Thank you, Bear.” Part mystery, part fable, this deceptively simple story of true friendship is perfect for the very youngest reader. It is sure to tug at your heart. Good Luck Bear is the 2008 winner of the Charlotte Zolotow Award.
Add to list
Not a Box
Written & illustrated by Antoinette Portis
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-4
Don't miss this wholly original celebration of the power of imagination, winner of a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Award A box is just a box...unless it's not a box. From mountain to rocket ship, a small rabbit shows that a box will go as far as the imagination allows. Inspired by a memory of sitting in a box on her driveway with her sister, Antoinette Portis captures the thrill when pretend feels so real that it actually becomes real—when the imagination takes over inside a cardboard box, and through play, a child is transported to a world where anything is possible. The simple text makes the book appropriate for toddlers, but the message and retro feel of the book also lead to it being an original and compelling gift to mark an occasion such as a graduation.
Add to list
Bruno's Box
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-6
'My name is Bruno, and this is my box It's not just an ordinary box though, I can be whatever I like'. Leap into Bruno's world, where you can be a racing driver, or an astronaut, a pirate or even a dinosaur.
A Pig, a Fox, and a Box book
Add to list
All My Treasures book
Add to list
Ginny Goblin Is Not Allowed to Open This Box book
Add to list
Big Box Little Box book
Add to list
  • A Pig, a Fox, and a Box - Jonathan Fenske tells three humorous stories of two friends, Pig and Fox, and their shenanigans with a cardboard box (all of which involved Pig accidentally crushing Fox in the box). With comic art and simple language, this Level 2 reader is sure to have kids rolling with laughter.

  • All My Treasures - When a girl receives a beautiful porcelain box from her grandmother, she immediately wants something special to put inside it. But what could it be? What does she love best? She loves jumping in puddles on rainy days, blowing bubbles in the park, and watching her little sister s first steps. As it turns out, life s most precious treasures cannot be contained in a box! With a gentle message about the immateriality of happiness, this story reminds us to take pleasure in everyday moments. The book is beautifully packaged with a sparkly die-cut star on the cover, and flaps throughout reveal hidden surprises. “

  • Ginny Goblin Is Not Allowed to Open This Box - Ginny Goblin has one simple rule to follow: She is not allowed to open this box. Not until dinnertime. But Ginny Goblin doesn’t like to follow the rules, so nothing will stop her from trying to open this box. Not a tall tower, not a misty mountain, not a frightful forest, and certainly not a murky moat filled with scaly, scary serpents . . . But wait! What is in the box? You’ll have to open this book to find out! (Don’t worry, you’re allowed.)

  • Big Box Little Box - With bright, bold illustrations, this stylish board book stars one cool cat and will have readers laughing with delight, perfect for fans of Pete the Cat. Big box, little box Shoe box, hat box . . . Perfect for a cat box! Join one cool cat and lots of fun boxes in this charming take on curiosity and friendship.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

Suggested Links