Discover

Company

Mail: Books For Kids

This list of the best kids books about mail is sure to include a new favorite for the voracious young reader in your life! From The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles to Abuela's Special Letters there's something here for everyone's tastes. Do you have a favorite book about mail? Let us know!

The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles book
#1
The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles
Written by Michelle Cuevas and illustrated by Erin E. Stead
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

"The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles has a job of the utmost importance. It is his task to open any bottle found at sea and make sure that the message is delivered. He loves his job, although he always wishes that one of the letters would someday be addressed to him. Then one day he finds a bottle with the most intriguing note inside, and no name attached. As he devotes himself to the mystery, he ends up finding what his heart wanted all along."

The Jolly Postman book
#2
The Jolly Postman
Written by Allan Ahlberg and illustrated by Janet Ahlberg, Allan Ahlberg
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

This gorgeously illustrated, full-color classic celebrates a time before email by depicting amusing correspondence between fairy tale and Mother Goose characters. What could possibly be in a letter from Goldilocks to the Three Bears? Who would write to the Wicked Witch? Open this book, take out the letters, and discover what favorite characters would write to each other--and reimagine best-loved tales together.

Bunny Mail book
#3
Bunny Mail
Written and illustrated by Rosemary Wells
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Ruby is busy sending out party invitations, so Max decides he'll write a letter too, asking for a special present. But when the postman delivers the letter to Grandma, she thinks Max is just saying hello. So Max sends another letter. It soon becomes clear to Grandma that Max is asking for something special. The only question is what? With eight clever flaps to lift, this heartwarming and interactive picture book gives Rosemary Wells fans even more reasons to love Max and Ruby, who are now starring in their own Nickelodeon television show.

Dear Dragon book
#4
Dear Dragon
Written by Josh Funk and illustrated by Rodolfo Montalvo
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A sweet and clever friendship story in rhyme, about looking past physical differences to appreciate the person (or dragon) underneath. George and Blaise are pen pals, and they write letters to each other about everything: their pets, birthdays, favorite sports, and science fair projects. There’s just one thing that the two friends don’t know: George is a human, while Blaise is a dragon! What will happen when these pen pals finally meet face-to-face?

Dear Santa, I Know it Looks Bad, But it Wasn't My Fault book
#5
Dear Santa, I Know it Looks Bad, But it Wasn't My Fault
Written by Norma Lewis and illustrated by Olivia Beckman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

In a series of letters to Santa, Scalawag the cat explains his recent misadventures, including an incident involving a small house fire, a visit from the paramedics, and broken Christmas tree ornaments.

  1. Can I Be Your Dog? - A dog looking for a home sends letters to prospective owners on Butternut Street, with surprising results.

  2. I Love You, Michael Collins - A funny and heartwarming middle-grade historical fiction novel about a girl who writes letters to her favorite astronaut as America prepares for the moon landing. It’s 1969 and the country is gearing up for what looks to be the most exciting moment in U.S. history: men landing on the moon. Ten-year-old Mamie’s class is given an assignment to write letters to the astronauts. All the girls write to Neil Armstrong ("So cute!") and all the boys write to Buzz Aldrin ("So cool!"). Only Mamie writes to Michael Collins, the astronaut who will come so close but never achieve everyone else's dream of walking on the moon, because he is the one who must stay out in space with the ship. After school ends, Mamie keeps writing to Michael Collins, taking comfort in telling someone about what's going on with her family as, one by one, they leave the house thinking that someone else is taking care of her—until she is all alone except for her cat and her best friend, Buster. And as the date of the launch nears, Mamie can't help but wonder: Does no one stay with the ship anymore? With I Love You, Michael Collins, Lauren Baratz-Logsted has created a heartwarming story about family and being true to yourself. A Margaret Ferguson Book “Baratz-Logsted weaves in just enough history to root Mamie’s story in her time, a moment when a nation came together and felt proud of human possibilities. . . . Readers will be charmed by Mamie’s story of hope in a difficult moment in American history.” —Kirkus Reviews

  3. Ice Cream Summer - A little boy writes a letter to his grandfather about all the reading and studying he is doing this summer--but all his activities revolve around ice cream.

  4. P.S. I Miss You - Evie is heartbroken when her strict Catholic parents send her pregnant sister, Cilla, away to stay with a distant great-aunt. All Evie wants is for her older sister to come back. Forbidden from speaking to Cilla, Evie secretly sends her letters.

It Came in the Mail book
#10
It Came in the Mail
Written and illustrated by Ben Clanton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From the author-illustrator of Something Extraordinary comes a tale filled with dragons, pickles, friendship, and lots of mail—perfect for fans of Mo Williams and Bob Shea. Liam really wants some mail, so he writes a letter to his mailbox asking for something in return. His mailbox delivers, sending Liam more than he could have hoped for…and how! But as the mail starts to pile up, Liam realizes that the best packages and parcels are even better when shared with friends.

Alphabeasts book
#11
Alphabeasts
Written and illustrated by Maree Coote
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

A brand new collection of illustrations by this award-winning illustrator. Every image is a typographic portrait of each animal subject, created using only the letters of each animal's name. Remarkable likenesses and body language. A great way to learn the alphabet, improve spelling, letter-recognition and observation, and discover typography and design.

Same Sun Here book
#12
Same Sun Here
Written by Neela Vaswani, Silas House and illustrated by Hilary Schenker
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-16

A twelve-year-old Indian immigrant in New York City and a Kentucky coal miner's son become pen pals, and eventually best friends, through a series of revealing letters exploring such topics as environmental activism, immigration, and racism.

Dear Hank Williams book
#13
Dear Hank Williams
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

It's 1948 in Rippling Creek, Louisiana, and Tate P. Ellerbee's new teacher has just given her class an assignment—learning the art of letter-writing. Luckily, Tate has the perfect pen pal in mind: Hank Williams, a country music singer whose star has just begun to rise. Tate and her great-aunt and -uncle listen to him on the radio every Saturday night, and Tate just knows that she and Hank are kindred spirits. Told entirely through Tate's hopeful letters, this beautifully drawn novel from National Book Award–winning author Kimberly Willis Holt gradually unfolds a story of family love, overcoming tragedy, and an insightful girl learning to find her voice.

You May Already Be a Winner book
#14
You May Already Be a Winner
Written by Ann Dee Ellis
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

Twelve-year-old Olivia Hales has a foolproof plan for winning a million dollars so that she and her little sister, Berkeley, can leave behind Sunny Pines Trailer Park. But first she has to: · Fix the swamp cooler and make dinner and put Berkeley to bed because her mom is too busy to do all that · Write another letter to her dad even though he hasn’t written back yet · Teach Berk the important stuff, like how to make chalk drawings, because they can’t afford day care and Olivia has to stay home from school to watch her · Petition her oddball neighbors for a circus spectacular, because there needs to be something to look forward to at dumb-bum Sunny Pines · Become a super-secret spy to impress her new friend Bart · Enter a minimum of fourteen sweepstakes a day. Who knows? She may already be a winner!

  1. Abuela's Special Letters - Sofia is on a mission to make a family time capsule. The whole family contributes pictures and special items. Abuela even writes a letter to each of her grandchildren to be opened in fifteen years. Can Sofia really wait fifteen years to find out what that letter says? Adorable art, a table of contents, writing prompts, discussion questions, and an English/Spanish glossary are all included in this early chapter book.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!

Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More