An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Pigeons: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about pigeons?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to pigeons. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about pigeons.

Our list includes board books, picture books, and chapter books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about pigeons, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Always Come Home to Me to popular sellers like Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!.

We hope this list of kids books about pigeons can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!
Written & illustrated by Mo Willems
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

When a bus driver takes a break from his route, a very unlikely volunteer springs up to take his place-a pigeon! But you’ve never met one like this before. As he pleads, wheedles, and begs his way through the book, children will love being able to answer back and decide his fate. In his hilarious picture book debut, popular cartoonist Mo Willems perfectly captures a preschooler’s temper tantrum.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$11.21
Used $1.90
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
The Pigeon HAS to Go to School!
Written & illustrated by Mo Willems
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Why does the Pigeon have to go to school? He already knows everything! And what if he doesn’t like it? What if the teacher doesn’t like him? What if he learns TOO MUCH!?! Ask not for whom the school bell rings; it rings for the Pigeon!

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$7.78
Used $3.80
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
Don't Feed the Coos!
Written by Jonathan Stutzman & illustrated by Heather Fox
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

The dynamic team behind Llama Destroys the World returns with a laugh-out-loud tale about the dangers…of feeding pigeons! When you see a coo, you will be tempted to give it a treat. Coos are adorable, peaceful, kind of silly. But DON’T FEED THE COO! If you feed one, they will ALL come… So begins Don’t Feed the Coos, a cautionary tale that details the fallout when a little girl decides to share some bread with a coo (aka pigeon). From the park to home to the arcade to karate practice, the coos follow the generous-but-foolish girl who didn’t heed the warning. Because when you give a coo a crumb…the entire population of coos will come! But fret not: our spunky little heroine will discover that even the biggest of problems can be solved with a little determination. In the grand tradition of If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, Don’t Feed the Coos reminds us that the most disastrous of reactions can come from the most innocent of actions. Jonathan Stutzman and Heather Fox deliver another ridiculous and hilarious story, sure to delight fans of The Bad Seed and I Want My Hat Back.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
Pigeon P.I.
Written & illustrated by Meg McLaren
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

This clever and engaging picture book is a delightful and witty first look at the “noir” detective genre for young readers. A pigeon private investigator emerges from retirement to track down a birdnapper with the help of his feathered friends. A cute chick reports the crime and makes herself useful enough to become a partner in the detective agency, which by the end of the book is back in business. Includes comical directions for doing detective work.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $2.13
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
The Duckling Gets a Cookie!?
Written & illustrated by Mo Willems
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-6

Pigeon is very angry when the duckling gets a cookie just by asking politely.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$9.00
Used $1.78
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • The Pigeon Has Feelings, Too! - How does it feel to be a Pigeon? Well, the bus driver is trying to get him to act happy, but as we all know, this is one bird that is not going to be told what to do! Throughout this hilarious board book, Pigeon runs through his signature gamut of emotions while attempting to thwart his old nemesis.

  • The Antlered Ship - An inquisitive fox named Marco and a bored flock of pigeons join the crew of deer Captain Sylvia, setting sail in her antlered ship in search of a wonderful island and finding friendship on the way.

  • Don't Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late! - Don’t Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late!

  • The Pigeon Needs a Bath! - The Pigeon really needs a bath! Except, the Pigeon’s not so sure about that. Besides, he took a bath last month! Maybe. It’s going to take some serious convincing to try and get the Pigeon to take the plunge.

Add to list
Angelo
Written by David Macaulay
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

High above the rooftops of Rome, Angelo begins his work restoring the façade of a once glorious church. As with every project, he starts his final masterpiece by clearing away the years of debris left behind by the many pigeons who nest in the nooks and crannies of Rome’s great architecture. There, among the sticks and feathers, he discovers a wounded bird. Finding no safe place to leave her, Angelo becomes the bird’s reluctant savior.<br> As the church nears completion, Angelo begins to worry about the future of his aviary friend. “What will become of you? Where will you go . . . where will you . . . live?” he asks her. Realizing what he must do, Angelo returns to the church to add one final finishing touch. Through his artistry as a master craftsman he answers the questions about his humble friend and assures that he will not be forgotten.<br> With his expressive illustrations, filled with detail and humor and infused with the warm, terra-cotta glow of the Mediterranean, David Macaulay will once again capture his readers’ hearts and imaginations with this poignant story of enduring friendship.

Buy book
$16.00
Bookshop
$13.60
Amazon
$16.00
Used $2.55
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
Pigeon Loves Things That Go!
Written & illustrated by Mo Willems
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

In Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!, the pigeon dreamed of driving the titular bus. In this board book, readers will see him deliriously emoting at the thought of driving a plane, a train, a car, and more, all in his uproariously over-the-top style.

Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$6.99
Used $6.99
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
The Pigeon Finds a Hot Dog!
Written & illustrated by Mo Willems
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Pigeon learns about sharing when a curious duckling keeps asking questions about the hot dog Pigeon has found.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$15.29
Used $2.28
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
Meet at the Ark at Eight
Written by & illustrated by Jorg Muhle
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

News reaches a pair of penguins that a great flood is coming to destroy the earth – and that they are the only two penguins who have been chosen to board Noah’s Ark. They decide, however, to smuggle their friend aboard in a suitcase, and a wild forty-day journey ensues. <p/> This creative twist on the classic biblical tale encourages readers to ask questions about God, though it never presumes that the answers will be quick and easy. Ulrich Hub’s humorous, yet thought-provoking retelling of this well-known Bible story is complemented by Jörg Mühle’s witty illustrations.

Buy book
$12.00
Bookshop
$10.20
Amazon
$12.00
Used $3.00
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
Real Pigeons Fight Crime
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
Spending too much time staring at birds out your window? Well take another look, because what looks like an ordinary pigeon might just be saving your butt! Meet the heroic pigeons secretly flying around chasing bad guys in this hilarious illustrated series perfect for fans of BAD GUYS and DOG MAN.
Buy book
$13.99
Bookshop
$11.89
Amazon
$11.88
Used $4.74
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • King of the Sky - In this tale of a young boy, an old man, and a dauntless pigeon, a lyrical text and extraordinary illustrations offer a gorgeous meditation on loneliness, belonging, and home. A young Italian boy has moved to the Welsh hills with his family. He feels isolated and unhappy, a stranger in a strange land. It is only when he makes an unlikely friend, an old man who lets him fly one of his pigeons in a race, that he learns how he can belong. Nicola Davies’s beautiful story — an immigrant’s tale with powerful resonance in our troubled times — is illustrated by an artist who makes the world anew with every picture.

  • Only a Pigeon - Ondu-ahlem thinks of his favorite bird, Chinkay, as more than just a pigeon, and when the young Ethiopian boy sets the bird free, he learns that the pigeon represents everything that is proud, beautiful, and free.

  • Pippa - Pippa is a little pigeon with big blue-sky ambitions: to fly solo and explore the world beyond her nest. Her parents are less than thrilled with their risk-taking feathered fledgling and smother her with well-meant yet suffocating warnings until one day she ignores them all and takes the leap into the unknown…alone. But how will she survive in this new uncharted territory with all its treacherous dangers and make it back home in time for tea? Join Pippa on her incredible adventure as she discovers home is where the heart is. Pippa is a light-hearted adventure tale about striking out alone, following your dreams and desires and experiencing what it’s like when you get there. It is a tale that acknowledges the sometimes-suffocating affection parents have for their offspring, which can temper and frustrate a child’s sense of freedom and adventure, and suggests that it’s okay to take risks from time to time. Although the adventure may be perilous, it is still worth experiencing for you never know what glorious discoveries lie in ahead.

  • Wringer - Newbery Honor Book * ALA Notable Children's Book

Add to list
Always Come Home to Me
Written & illustrated by Belle Yang
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A moving and uplifting tale of two children and their parents, and the beloved pet doves that help them to understand one another. “Fei, fei — fly, fly, little birds, but always come home to me!” Mei-Mei and Di-Di are head-over-heels in love with their new doves. Like devoted parents, the siblings tenderly nurture Butterfly and Squeaky as they grow from chicks to fledglings to birds. But when Mei-Mei and Di-Di arrive home to find that the doves have disappeared, their young hearts break into a thousand pieces — and they run away, determined to reclaim their beloved birds. Will Mei-Mei and Di-Di return home with the doves before they break their own parents’ hearts?.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$8.98
Used $2.70
Prices as of Jan 16

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.