An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Pilgrims: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about Pilgrims?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to Pilgrims. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about Pilgrims.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about Pilgrims, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Squanto’s Journey to popular sellers like The Pilgrim’s Regress.

We hope this list of kids books about Pilgrims can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
Squanto and the Miracle of Thanksgiving
Written by Eric Metaxas & illustrated by Shannon Stirnweis
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-10

Describes how the Massachusetts Indian Squanto was captured by the British, sold into slavery in Spain, and ultimately returned to the New World to become a guide and friend for the Pilgrims.

Buy book
$9.99
Bookshop
$8.49
Amazon
$9.99
Used $1.36
Prices as of Apr 18
Add to list
The Littlest Pilgrim
Written by Brandi Dougherty & illustrated by Kirsten Richards
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Mini is the littlest Pilgrim in her village. She’s too little to sew. Too little to bake. Too little to fish. But she’s not too little to make a friend.

Buy book
$3.99
Bookshop
$3.39
Amazon
$3.99
Used $3.99
Prices as of Apr 19
Add to list
Pete the Cat: The First Thanksgiving
Written by James Dean & illustrated by Kimberly Dean
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Join Pete in New York Times bestselling artist James Dean’s Pete the Cat picture book series as Pete celebrates Thanksgiving in this groovy lift-the-flap book! Starring in the school Thanksgiving play would make even the coolest cat nervous. But when Pete the Cat gets onstage, he makes learning the story of the first Thanksgiving fun. With thirteen flaps that open to reveal hidden surprises, this book is sure to be a holiday favorite for every Pete the Cat fan.

Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$6.28
Used $1.25
Prices as of Apr 18
Add to list
Squanto's Journey
Written by Joseph Bruchac & illustrated by Greg Shed
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

In 1620 an English ship called the Mayflower landed on the shores inhabited by the Pokanoket, and it was Squanto who welcomed the newcomers and taught them how to survive. When a good harvest was gathered, the people feasted together–a tradition that continues almost four hundred years later.

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$7.99
Used $7.99
Prices as of Apr 18
Add to list
History Smashers: The Mayflower
Written by Kate Messner
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
Myths! Lies! Secrets! Smash the stories behind famous moments in history and expose the hidden truth. Perfect for fans of I Survived and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.
Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$7.99
Used $7.99
Prices as of Apr 18
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • 1621: A New Look at Thanksgiving - Countering the prevailing, traditional story of the first Thanksgiving, with its black-hatted, silver-buckled Pilgrims; blanket-clad, be-feathered Indians; cranberry sauce; pumpkin pie; and turkey, this lushly illustrated photo-essay presents a more measured, balanced, and historically accurate version of the three-day harvest celebration in 1621.

  • The Thanksgiving Story - In this festive Caldecott Honor–winning picture book, Alice Dalgiesh brings to life the origin of the Thanksgiving holiday for readers of all ages. Giles, Constance and Damaris Hopkins are all passengers aboard the crowded Mayflower, journeying to the New World to start a new life. Things get a little more cramped when their baby brother Oceanus is born during the passage. However, when they arrive, there are even worse challenges to face as the Pilgrims are subjected to hunger, cold, and sickness that put their small colony in great danger. With the help of the Native Americans though, they might just be able to survive their first year in this strange land—and have a November harvest to celebrate for generations!

  • Samuel Eaton's Day: A Day in the Life of a Pilgrim Boy - Young Samuel Eaton has hardly slept from excitement! Today he will do a man’s work–helping with his first rye harvest. But as his hands become blistered and the sun beats down, he wonders if he’s up to the task.

  • Sarah Morton's Day: A Day in the Life of a Pilgrim Girl - Text and photographs of Plimoth Plantation follow a pilgrim girl through a typical day as she milks the goats, cooks and serves meals, learns her letters, and adjusts to her new stepfather.

Add to list
The Pilgrim's Regress
Written by C. S. Lewis
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 16-100

The first book written by C. S. Lewis after his conversion to Christianity, The Pilgrim’s Regress is, in a sense, a record of Lewis’s own search for meaning and spiritual satisfaction, a search that eventually led him to Christianity.

Here is the story of the pilgrim John and his odyssey to an enchanting island that creates in him an intense longing – a mysterious, sweet desire. John’s pursuit of this desire takes him through adventures with such people as Mr. Enlightenment, Mr. Mammon, Mother Kirk, and Mr. Sensible and through such cities as Thrill and Eschropolis – and through the Valley of Humiliation.

Though the dragons and giants here are different from those in Bunyan’s Pilgrim’s Progress, Lewis’s allegory performs the same function of enabling the author to say with fantasy and simplicity what would otherwise have demanded a full-length philosophy of religion. In Lewis’s skillful hands this fable becomes as effective a Christian apologia as Bunyan’s.

Buy book
$16.00
Bookshop
$13.60
Amazon
$16.00
Used $16.00
Prices as of Apr 18
Add to list
Thanksgiving on Thursday
Written by Mary Pope Osborne & illustrated by Sal Murdocca
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Jack and Annie travel in their magic treehouse to the year 1621, where they celebrate the first Thanksgiving with the Pilgrims and Wampanoag Indians in the New Plymouth Colony.

Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Apr 18
Add to list
The Book of Boy
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

A Newbery Honor Book * Booklist Editors' Choice * BookPage Best Books * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction * Horn Book Fanfare * Kirkus Reviews Best Books * Publishers Weekly Best Books * Wall Street Journal Best of the Year * An ALA Notable Book

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$13.99
Used $1.06
Prices as of Apr 18
Add to list
On the Mayflower
Written & illustrated by Russ Kendall and Kate Waters
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

In color photographs taken on the modern-day reproduction of the colonial “Mayflower” ship, an action-packed adventure follows the journey of William Small and Ellen Moore, two children traveling from England to the New World without their families.

Buy book
$16.95
Bookshop
$14.41
Amazon
$16.95
Used $3.00
Prices as of Apr 18
Add to list
Pilgrims of Plimoth
Written & illustrated by Marcia Sewall
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11

In a text that mirrors their language and thoughts, Marcia Sewall has masterfully recreated the coming of the pilgrims to the New World, and the daily flow of their days during the first years in the colony they called Plimoth. <p/><i>Aye, Governor Bradford calls us pilgrims. We are English and England was our home…But our lives were ruled by King James, and for many years it seemed as though our very hearts were in prison in England…</i><br> <i>September, 1620, our lives changed. We were seventy menfolk and womenfolk, thirty-two good children, a handful of cocks and hens, and two dogs, gathered together on a dock in Plymouth, England, ready to set sail for America in a small ship called the Mayflower…</i> <p/>After an abundance of prayers and tears we made farewells at dockside and boarded our small ship. Our voyage across the Atlantic Ocean “began with a prosperous wind,” but the sea soon became “sharp and violent” and storms howled about us. <p/> When the pilgrims set out for America, they brought with them a dream for the future. Sickness, hardship, and heartache stood in the way of that dream. But the pilgrims worked hard, keeping their dream close to their hearts, until they were finally able to make it come true.

Buy book
$8.99
Bookshop
$7.64
Amazon
$8.49
Used $1.36
Prices as of Apr 18
Add to list

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.