An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Worms: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about worms?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to worms. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about worms.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about worms, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Carl and the Meaning of Life to popular sellers like How To Eat Fried Worms.

We hope this list of kids books about worms can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
I Can Only Draw Worms
Written & illustrated by Will Mabbitt
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A hilarious picture book in Day-Glo colors all about worms that is perfect for fans of The Book With No Pictures and The Day the Crayons Quit. This is part counting book, part introduction to worms, but all superbly silly. The fact that the author/illustrator can only draw worms will not take anything away from the laugh-out-loud adventure readers will have as they turn the pages of this slightly subversive picture book.

Buy book
$14.99
Bookshop
$12.74
Amazon
$8.99
Used $4.26
Prices as of Feb 24
Add to list
Diary of a Worm
Written by Doreen Cronin & illustrated by Harry Bliss
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

One small worm . one big world! This is the diary . of a worm. This worm lives with his parents, plays with his friends, and even goes to school. But unlike you or me, he never has to take a bath, he gets to eat his homework, and because he doesn’t have legs, he just can’t do the hokey pokey – no matter how hard he tries. This hysterical picture book by New York Times bestselling author Doreen Cronin and New York Times bestselling illustrator Harry Bliss tells the daily doings of a small worm in a gigantic worm world. Ages 4–8

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$12.69
Used $0.20
Prices as of Feb 24
Add to list
Black Gold
Written by Sara Cassidy & illustrated by Helen Flook
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-10

Cyrus and Rudy spend the last days of summer selling dahlias, blackberries and tomatoes at their roadside stand. When a neighbor drops off a bin full of red wigglers, California earthworms that break down compost into fertilizer, Rudy and Cyrus become worm moguls as they discover just how in demand the Eisenia fetida are.

Black Gold is the third book featuring Cyrus and Rudy’s adventures on the farm, following Not for Sale and Blackberry Juice.

Buy book
$6.95
Bookshop
$5.91
Amazon
$6.95
Used $6.95
Prices as of Feb 24
Add to list
How To Eat Fried Worms
Written by Thomas Rockwell & illustrated by Emily Arnold Mccully
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Billy isn’t one to back down from a bet.

But this one is gross: If he eats fifteen worms in fifteen days, Alan will pay him fifty dollars. Billy takes the bet and tries worms smothered in ketchup, drowned in mustard, even breaded and fried.

Worm by worm, Billy gets closer to victory, and to buying the minibike he’s always wanted. But Alan won’t let him win that easily…

Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$6.99
Used $6.99
Prices as of Feb 24
Add to list
Binkle's Time to Fly
Written by Sharmila Collins & illustrated by Carolina Rabei
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Binkle cant wait until he turns from caterpillar to butterfly. Hell finally have strong, beautiful wings to take him high into the sky! But when the day comes, something is terribly wrong. Why are Binkles wings so wispy and weak? How will he ever fly like the other butterflies if his wings are nothing like theirs?

Yet with some help and creativity, maybe theres more than one way to fly . . .

As this charming, gorgeously illustrated story reminds us, life can present us with unwelcome challenges, but inventive alternatives and the support of others can make all the difference.

Buy book
$17.00
Bookshop
$14.45
Amazon
$17.00
Used $17.00
Prices as of Feb 24
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Day of the Night Crawlers - Monsters have never been this much fun!

  • Ricky Ricotta's Mighty Robot vs. the Naughty Nightcrawlers from Neptune (Ricky Ricotta's Mighty Robot #8), Volume 8 - An out-of-this-world friendship adventure by Captain Underpants creator Dav Pilkey, with full-color art and mini comics by Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat.

  • Carl and the Meaning of Life - From the often Caldecott-buzzed Deborah Freedman, a sweet and funny story about finding your place in the world. Carl is an earthworm. He spends his days happily tunneling in the soil until a field mouse asks him a simple question that stops him short: “Why?” Carl’s quest takes him on an adventure to meet all the animals of the forest, each of whom seems to know exactly what they were put on this earth to do, unlike the curious Carl. But it’s not until the world around him has changed that Carl begins to realize everyone, no matter how small, makes a big difference just by being themselves.

  • What about Worms!? - From #1 <i>New York Times</i> best-selling author Ryan T. Higgins comes <i>What About Worms!?</i></p> </p>Tiger is BIG. Tiger is BRAVE. And Tiger is NOT afraid of anything . . . except WORMS! Are Tiger’s worm worries worse than worms?</p>

Add to list
Bad Apple: A Tale of Friendship
Written & illustrated by Edward Hemingway
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

It takes a firm apple to stand up to bullies.

When Mac, an apple, meets Will, a worm, they become fast friends, teaching each other games and even finishing each other’s sentences. But apples aren’t supposed to like worms, and Mac gets called “rotten” and “bad apple.” At first, Mac doesn’t know what to do–it’s never easy standing up to bullies–but after a lonely day without Will, Mac decides he’d rather be a bad apple with Will than a sad apple without.

Edward Hemingway’s warm art and simple, crisp text are the perfect pairing, and themes of bullying and friendship are sure to hit readers’ sweet spots all year round.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $2.54
Prices as of Feb 24
Add to list
Snail and Worm Again: Three Stories About Two Friends
Written & illustrated by Tina Kügler
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime Book Box – a children’s subscription that inspires a love of reading.Geisel Honor Winner

In this silly sequel to Snail and Worm, the dynamic duo are back for more fun and giggles in three new comic shorts brimming with quirky humor and unflappable friendship. At turns clever and sweet, these laugh-out-loud stories are perfect for readers coming out of their own shells and making the transition between picture books and chapter books.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$13.99
Used $1.75
Prices as of Feb 24
Add to list
Way Home (Owly #1), Volume 1
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10
All Owly wants is a friend...
Buy book
$22.99
Bookshop
$19.54
Amazon
$16.89
Used $5.67
Prices as of Feb 24
Add to list
Worm Loves Worm
Written by & illustrated by Mike Curato
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

One of Time Out's "LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month," this irresistible picture book is a celebration of love in all its splendid forms from debut author J. J. Austrian and the acclaimed author-illustrator of Little Elliot, Big City, Mike Curato.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$10.99
Used $6.01
Prices as of Feb 24
Add to list
Snail and Worm All Day: Three Stories about Two Friends
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9
Kirkus Best Book / School Library Journal Best Book / Chicago Public Library Best Book
Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$12.79
Used $3.41
Prices as of Feb 24
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • We Dig Worms! - What do worms do all day? How do they see? And why are they so cold and squishy? Find out by going on an underground tour through the hidden world of earthworms. Kevin McCloskey’s book even shows readers what’s happening inside a worm’s body— brain, crop, gizzard, and more. The book takes young readers from “ew!” to “wow!” as they learn about the different ways worms work hard to help the earth. Kids may pick up many of the life science lessons contained here on their first read, but they’ll return to We Dig Worms! again and again to rediscover its story. Deceptively simple, humble yet charming, this little book reaches surprising depths…just like, well, a worm!

  • Ned's New Home - When Ned’s apple begins to rot, he must search for a new house. A pear isn’t quite right. A watermelon isn’t perfect either. A pile of blueberries? All wrong! Will any other fruit make Ned feel at home again? Little ones will love this happy story about finding the perfect place to call home.

  • Snail and Worm: Three Stories about Two Friends - Readers of Stick and Stone and Elephant and Piggie will love Snail and Worm, an unlikely pair sure to delight with three different laugh-out-loud adventures. By Geisel Honor winner Tina Kügler.

  • Worm Weather - Drip,drop, skip and hop. Splish, splash, sidewalk dash! It’s worm weather! Join in the rainy-day fun, as kids splash through the puddles, affecting another weather enthusiast, a nearby worm. An imaginative and playful story, readers will love seeing the worm delight in the weather just as much as the kids.

Add to list
Project Mulberry
Written by Linda Sue Park
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-12

Julia Song and her friend Patrick would love to win a blue ribbon, maybe even two, at the state fair. They’ve always done projects together, and they work well as a team. This time, though, they’re having trouble coming up with just the right project. Then Julia’s mother offers a suggestion: They can raise silkworms, as she did when she was a girl in Korea. <p/> Patrick thinks it’s a great idea. Of course there are obstacles–for example, where will they get mulberry leaves, the only thing silkworms eat?–but nothing they can’t handle. <p/> Julia isn’t so sure. The club where kids do their projects is all about traditional American stuff, and raising silkworms just doesn’t fit in. Moreover, the author, Ms. Park, seems determined to make Julia’s life as complicated as possible, no matter how hard Julia tries to talk her out of it. <p/> In this contemporary novel, Linda Sue Park delivers a funny, lively story that illuminates both the process of writing a novel and the meaning of growing up American.

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$7.99
Used $7.99
Prices as of Feb 24
Add to list
Jonathan and Martha
Written by Petr Horacek
picture book
Recommend Ages: 1-6

Classic tale of friendship and love starring two lonely worms

Buy book
$14.95
Bookshop
$12.71
Amazon
$14.95
Used $3.74
Prices as of Feb 24

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.