Weird Kid
Weird Kid
4.8/7
Bookroo
3.8/5
Goodreads

Weird Kid

Hardcover
$16.99
$15.80
8 - 12
Reading age
208
Page count
163
Words per page
~681L
Lexile measure
Jul 27, 2021
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's Weird Kid About

Publisher Summary

From the author of Cog and Voyage of the Dogs, Weird Kid is a hilarious and heartfelt homage to everyone who feels like they don’t belong. Perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Stuart Gibb. Jake Wind is trying to stay under the radar. Whose radar? Anyone who might be too interested in the fact that he has shapeshifting abilities he can’t control. Or that his parents found him as a ball of goo when he was a baby.Keeping his powers in check is crucial, though, if he wants to live a normal life and go to middle school instead of being homeschooled (and if he wants to avoid being kidnapped and experimented on, of course). Things feel like they’re going his way when he survives his first day of school without transforming and makes a new friend. But when mysterious sinkholes start popping up around town–sinkholes filled with the same extraterrestrial substance as Jake–and his neighbors, classmates, and even his family start acting a little, well, weird, Jake will have to learn to use his powers in order to save his town.

What Kind of Book is Weird Kid

Topics

Reviews

Book Lists That Include Weird Kid

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Weird Kid

    chapter • 208 Pages
    Junkyard Bot: Robots Rule, Book 1
    chapter • 192 Pages
    I Left My Sneakers in Dimension X: Rod Allbright and the Galactic Patrol
    Bruce Coville, Katherine Coville
    chapter • 224 Pages
    Margot and Mateo Save the World
    Darcy Miller
    chapter • 224 Pages
    The Terrible Two
    5.5
    #1 in Series
    Mac Barnett, Jory John, Kevin Cornell
    chapter • 176 Pages
    The Bad Beginning
    5.3
    #1 in Series
    Lemony Snicket, Brett Helquist, Michael Kupperman
    chapter • 217 Pages
    Ninth Ward
    Jewell Parker Rhodes
    chapter • 232 Pages
    The Mysterious Abductions
    Tracey Hecht, Kate Liebman
    chapter • 224 Pages
    Bad Order
    B.B. Ullman
    chapter • 224 Pages
    Project Terra: Crash Course
    Landry Q Walker, Keith Zoo
    chapter • 192 Pages
    Bridge to Terabithia
    5.8
    Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson
    View more

Book Details

ISBN
9780062970602
Publication Date
July 27, 2021
Publisher
HarperCollins
Page Count
208
Words Per Page
163
Audience
Middle Grade
Reading Age
8 - 12 years
Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
2020040566
Est. Lexile® Level
~681L
Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
~P
ATOS® Book Level
4.4
Accelerated Reader® Points
5
Accelerated Reader Quiz
513429
Accelerated Reader Interest Level
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 40%

Still needs the basics.

Depth Score - 15%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

Bookroo

Book Clubs

Follow Bookroo