The Definitive Guide to

Courage

Written by Barbara Binns
Published by HarperCollins
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Sep 23
$16.99
Retail Price
$14.44
Bookshop
$9.69
used $3.01
Amazon
Jul 31, 2018
Publication Date
368
Pages
8-12
Target Age

What's Courage About

Publisher Summary

For fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander, a poignant and timely novel about race, class, and second chances. Ever since T’Shawn’s dad died, his mother has been struggling to keep the family afloat. So when he’s offered a spot on a prestigious diving team at the local private swim club, he knows that joining would only add another bill to the pile. But T studies hard and never gets into trouble, so he thinks his mom might be willing to bear the cost… until he finds out that his older brother, Lamont, is getting released early from prison. Luckily, T’Shawn is given a scholarship, and he can put all his frustration into diving practices. But when criminal activity increases in the neighborhood and people begin to suspect Lamont, T’Shawn begins to worry that maybe his brother hasn’t left his criminal past behind after all. And he struggles to hold on to the hope that they can put the broken pieces of their damaged relationship back together.

What Kind of Book is Courage

Book Lists That Include Courage

Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Book Topics › family life
Children's Books About Family Life
Book Topics › United States
Children's Books About United States
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Courage

author
Barbara Binns

Barbara Binns grew up on Chicago’s south side and now lives and writes in a suburb of the city. She frequently contributes to the Almanac of Arlington Heights, a quarterly publication in Arlington Heights, Illinois. Her debut middle grade novel is Courage. She speaks to students, teachers, and librarians across the country at conferences and other events. Visit her website at www.babinns.com or follow her on Twitter @barbarabinns.

View Author

What Has Barbara Binns Said About Courage

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Barbara know that you want more details about Courage!

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Courage

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062561657
Publication Date:
July 31, 2018
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2018145873
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0062561650
Lexile® Level:
HL660L
ATOS® Book Level:
4.5
Accelerated Reader® Points:
10.0
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
199811
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.