The Definitive Guide to

Courage

Written by Barbara Binns
Published by HarperCollins
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
368
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's Courage About

Publisher Summary

For fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander, a poignant and timely novel about race, class, and second chances. Ever since T’Shawn’s dad died, his mother has been struggling to keep the family afloat. So when he’s offered a spot on a prestigious diving team at the local private swim club, he knows that joining would only add another bill to the pile. But T studies hard and never gets into trouble, so he thinks his mom might be willing to bear the cost… until he finds out that his older brother, Lamont, is getting released early from prison. Luckily, T’Shawn is given a scholarship, and he can put all his frustration into diving practices. But when criminal activity increases in the neighborhood and people begin to suspect Lamont, T’Shawn begins to worry that maybe his brother hasn’t left his criminal past behind after all. And he struggles to hold on to the hope that they can put the broken pieces of their damaged relationship back together.

Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Courage

author
Barbara Binns

Barbara Binns grew up on Chicago’s south side and now lives and writes in a suburb of the city. She frequently contributes to the Almanac of Arlington Heights, a quarterly publication in Arlington Heights, Illinois. Her debut middle grade novel is Courage. She speaks to students, teachers, and librarians across the country at conferences and other events. Visit her website at www.babinns.com or follow her on Twitter @barbarabinns.

View Author

What Has Barbara Binns Said About Courage

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Barbara Binns know that we want more details from them about Courage!

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0062561650
ISBN 13:
9780062561657
Publication Date:
July 31, 2018