Courage
Courage
Goodreads4.2 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

Courage

Written by Barbara Binns
Published by HarperCollins
Prices as of Oct 23

What's Courage About

Publisher Summary

For fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander, a poignant and timely novel about race, class, and second chances. Ever since T’Shawn’s dad died, his mother has been struggling to keep the family afloat. So when he’s offered a spot on a prestigious diving team at the local private swim club, he knows that joining would only add another bill to the pile. But T studies hard and never gets into trouble, so he thinks his mom might be willing to bear the cost… until he finds out that his older brother, Lamont, is getting released early from prison. Luckily, T’Shawn is given a scholarship, and he can put all his frustration into diving practices. But when criminal activity increases in the neighborhood and people begin to suspect Lamont, T’Shawn begins to worry that maybe his brother hasn’t left his criminal past behind after all. And he struggles to hold on to the hope that they can put the broken pieces of their damaged relationship back together.

What Kind of Book is Courage

Topics

Genres

Locations

Race, Ethnicities, & Nationalities

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include Courage

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Barbara Binns Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Barbara Binns know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Courage

      Five Little Peppers and How They Grew
      Beyond the Green
      Sharlee Glenn
      Lizzie Flying Solo
      Nanci Turner Stevenson
      The Misadventures of the Family Flether
      Dana Alison Levy
      The Space We're in
      Katya Balen
      Caterpillar Summer
      7.0
      Gillian McDunn
      The Crossover (Graphic Novel)
      6.5
      Dawud Anyabwile, Kwame Alexander
      Year of Billy Miller
      5.5
      Kevin Henkes
      Charlie & Mouse
      4.0
      Emily Hughes, Laurel Snyder
      Out of Bounds
      Andrea Montalbano

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780062561657
    Publication Date
    July 31, 2018
    Page Count
    368
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2018145873
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    0062561650
    Lexile® Level
    HL660L
    ATOS® Book Level
    4.5
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    10
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    199811
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    MG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 62%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.