Egypt's Fire
Egypt's Fire
Goodreads4.4 / 5

Egypt's Fire

Written by Tom Phillips
Book #1 in the The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves Series
Published by Pixel+ink
Prices as of Sep 30

What's Egypt's Fire About

Publisher Summary

The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves is a great ride, but you don’t have to take my word for it. –LeVar Burton Follow the world’s greatest detective you’ve never heard of in this madcap middle grade mystery for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events and Enola Holmes. After twelve-year-old John Boarhog’s mom dies, the last thing he wants is to be schlepped off to the Jersey Home for Boys, where kids are forced to make skinny jeans for hipsters and are fed nothing but kale. Instead, he makes himself a snug home in the ceiling of the New York Museum of Natural History, where he reads anything he get his hands on and explores the artifacts afterhours. But when a rare Egyptian ruby–the highlight of the museum’s new exhibit–goes missing, John is accused of the crime. That is until the unpredictable Inspector Toadius McGee sweeps in to wrestle control of the case, certain that the true culprit is a notorious criminal he’s been tracking for years. John quickly becomes the Watson to Toadius’s Holmes as they race from Broadway to back alleys to a speak-easy that only serves root beer. And along the way, John uncovers secrets about his own past, including that he’s a lot more involved in this web of endearing ne’er-do-wells than he ever could have imagined. A love letter to classic middle grade, Egypt’s Fire introduces a remarkable new duo that will steal your heart as surely as it leaves you begging for their next grand adventure. A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

What Kind of Book is Egypt's Fire

Topics

Locations

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include Egypt's Fire

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Tom Phillips Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Tom Phillips know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Egypt's Fire

      Notorious
      6.8
      Gordon Korman
      The Wishmakers
      6.3
      #1 in Series
      Tyler Whitesides, Jessica Warrick
      The Adventurer's Guide to Successful Escapes
      6.0
      #1 in Series
      Wade Albert White, Mariano Epelbaum
      Half Upon a Time
      6.0
      #1 in Series
      James Riley
      A Tail of Camelot
      5.8
      #1 in Series
      Lindsey Carr, Julie Leung
      Greetings from Witness Protection!
      Jake Burt
      The Canyon's Edge
      Dusti Bowling
      Glitter Gets Everywhere
      â €
      Belly Up
      #1 in Series
      Stuart Gibbs
      Book Scavenger
      #1 in Series
      Jennifer Chambliss Bertman
      View more

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781645951056
    Publication Date
    June 7, 2022
    Page Count
    352
    Audience
    Middle Grade
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    1645951057

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 55%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @iheartbooks
    10
    02
    @elainer
    5

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo