An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

The Best British Columbia Kids Books

Looking for the best British Columbia books?
Share this list
Add to list
The Grizzly Mother
Written by Brett D. Huson & illustrated by Natasha Donovan
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

To the Gitxsan people of northwestern British Columbia, the grizzly is an integral part of the natural landscape. They share the land and forests the Skeena River runs through, as well as the sockeye salmon within it. The Grizzly Mother explores how an ecosystem’s animals, people and seasons are all intertwined.

Buy book
$23.00
Bookshop
$19.55
Amazon
$23.00
Used $23.00
Prices as of Nov 24
Add to list
The Monster Sisters and the Mystery of the Unlocked Cave
Written by Gareth Gaudin
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

When a quiet seaside town is suddenly overrun by hundreds of giant monsters, two young sisters are the only ones prepared to handle the situation. Using their keen interest in architecture, local history, folklore and gymnastics, the two girls attempt to not only stop the monsters’ rampage but also figure out why it’s happening. The story is set in Victoria, British Columbia, and the city’s impressive history and creepy folk- lore add intrigue to the proceedings, as more and more monstrous guests arrive on this unceded Lekwungen Territory.

The Monster Sisters, Enid Jupiter and Lyra Gotham, are two young sleuths in the vein of Nancy Drew or Scooby-Doo, doing superheroic deeds while learning about colonialism on Indigenous land.

Buy book
$19.95
Bookshop
$16.96
Amazon
$19.95
Used $19.95
Prices as of Nov 24
Add to list
Babies of the Great Bear Rainforest
Written by & illustrated by Ian McAllister
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

In this photographic board book, readers are introduced to the baby animals born each spring in the Great Bear Rainforest.

Buy book
$9.95
Bookshop
$8.46
Amazon
$9.95
Used $9.95
Prices as of Nov 24
Add to list
The Bear's Medicine / Sus You
Written & illustrated by Clayton Gauthier
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

A mother bear shares with her cubs how to be grateful for all they have in the natural world. The Bear’s Medicine shows the interconnectedness of all things in the world they live in and how each season brings changes and blessings for the bears. It is a story of a mother’s love for her children as she teaches them how to survive.

Buy book
$19.95
Bookshop
$16.96
Amazon
$11.49
Used $11.61
Prices as of Nov 24
Add to list
The Seal Garden
Written by Ian McAllister & illustrated by Nicholas Read
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

When storms roar and orcas are on the prowl, it’s the seal gardens of the Great Bear Sea that provide safety and shelter to sea lions, otters, a variety of seals and other sea mammals. Ian McAllister’s glorious photographs reveal the beauty and mystery of this rarely seen place of refuge. This is the third book in the My Great Bear Rainforest series, following Wolf Island and A Bear’s Life.

Buy book
$19.95
Bookshop
$16.96
Amazon
$19.95
Used $19.95
Prices as of Nov 24
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • A Whale's World - A Whale’s World follows a pod of spy-hopping orcas as they explore the ecosystems of the Great Bear Sea while hunting for their next meal. Past rocky shores and through kelp forests,they observe foraging wolves, hungry grizzly bears, curious black bears, graceful fin whales, splashing porpoises,slippery seals and other members of the Pacific coastal food web.The book gives readers a fun introduction to the many ways that marine and land animals interact with their environments and with each other.

  • The Vegetable Museum - Thirteen-year-old Chloë left her whole life back in Montreal, including her mom and her best friend. Now she’s stuck in Victoria with her dad and her estranged grandfather, Uli, who recently had a stroke. When Chloë agrees to help Uli look after his garden, she’s determined to find out why he and her dad didn’t speak to each other for years. For decades Uli has collected seeds from people in the community, distinct varieties that have been handed down through generations. The result is a garden full of unusual and endangered produce, from pink broccoli to blue kale to purple potatoes. But Chloë learns that the garden will soon be destroyed to make way for a new apartment complex. And the seed collection is missing! Chloë must somehow find a way to save her grandfather’s legacy

  • Zoe and the Fawn - Zoe and her father are delighted to come across a fawn in the forest. But the fawn is alone—where is its mother? Join Zoe on her quest for the deer, as she encounters animals and learns their syilx (Okanagan) names along the way. Repetition of phrased questions will enhance success for beginning readers while creating a playful rhythm for young listeners.

  • On My Skis - A sweet and rhythmic story about a child who learns to ski.

Add to list
Mr. and Mrs. Bunny - Detectives Extraordinaire!
Written by & illustrated by Sophie Blackall
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11
From National Book Award winner Polly Horvath comes a hopping mad mystery that's perfect for Easter baskets everywhere!
Buy book
$8.99
Bookshop
$7.64
Amazon
$8.99
Used $8.99
Prices as of Nov 24

    Suggested Links