Discover

Company
Mayday Book
1234567
5.5
Overall

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Counting By 7s and The Thing About Jellyfish, a heartwarming coming-of-age story about grief, family, friendship, and the importance of finding your voice Wayne Kovok lives in a world of After. After his uncle in the army was killed overseas. After Wayne and his mother survived a plane crash while coming back from the funeral. After he lost his voice. Wayne has always used his love of facts to communicate ("Did you know more people die each year from shaking a vending machine than from shark attacks?"). Without his voice, how will he wow the prettiest girl in school? How will he stand up to his drill-sergeant grandfather? And how will he share his hopes with his deadbeat dad? It's not until Wayne loses his voice completely that he realizes how much he doesn't say. Filled with Karen Harrington's signature heart and humor, Mayday tackles an unforgettable journey of family and friendship.

Topics in Mayday

Details

  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Pages: 368
  • Book Type: chapter
  • Publication Date: January 2, 2018
  • ISBN: 0316298034
  • ISBN 13: 9780316298032
Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More
BOOKROOVIEWERS
1234567
5.5

B is for Bookworm

Human Development Degree, Book-loving aunt

author

Karen Harrington

Coming soon!

View Author
Karen Harrington

More books like Mayday

View All ›
When Charlie McButton Lost Power book
6.1
computers · siblings · anger · humor · families · imagination · technology
When Charlie McButton Lost Power
Ocean Meets Sky book
6.0
grandpa · the ocean · boats
Ocean Meets Sky
Amelia Earhart book
5.6
airplanes · female role models · flight · biography
Amelia Earhart
Steam Train, Dream Train book
5.6
100 Hidden Gem · calming reads for bedtime · vehicles · bedtime · trains · trucks · imagination
Steam Train, Dream Train
Animobiles book
5.0
cars · vehicles · animals · animal sounds
Animobiles
Picture Fit Board Books: A Traffic Jam of Trucks book
5.0
cars · touch-and-feel · trucks · colors · vehicles
Picture Fit Board Books: A Traffic Jam of Trucks
Cement Mixer's ABC book
5.0
alphabet (abc's) · vehicles · rhyming · building
Cement Mixer's ABC
Planes, Trains, and Animobiles book
4.8
airplanes · vehicles · ice cream · trucks · transportation · animals
Planes, Trains, and Animobiles