The Definitive Guide to

Mayday

Written by Karen Harrington
1234567
5.5
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.2 / 5.0
$7.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
368
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's Mayday About

Publisher Summary

In the tradition of Counting By 7s and The Thing About Jellyfish, a heartwarming coming-of-age story about grief, family, friendship, and the importance of finding your voice Wayne Kovok lives in a world of After. After his uncle in the army was killed overseas. After Wayne and his mother survived a plane crash while coming back from the funeral. After he lost his voice. Wayne has always used his love of facts to communicate (“Did you know more people die each year from shaking a vending machine than from shark attacks?”). Without his voice, how will he wow the prettiest girl in school? How will he stand up to his drill-sergeant grandfather? And how will he share his hopes with his deadbeat dad? It’s not until Wayne loses his voice completely that he realizes how much he doesn’t say. Filled with Karen Harrington’s signature heart and humor, Mayday tackles an unforgettable journey of family and friendship.

What Kind of Book is Mayday

What Should I Know As a Parent

Families are unique and have different expectations for the books they choose to read. The following is a list of concepts included in this book that some parents may wish to seek out or avoid.

Violence: Wayne’s story stems from a plane crash. He and his mother survived, but there were some casualties.

Wayne has a difficult father situation and at one point his dad hits him once before his grandfather intervenes and stops him.

Note that this list is not exhaustive and there may be concepts in this book that are not included or have been insufficiently or incorrectly detailed here.

What Questions Should I Ask My Child

  • You may want to ask your child how Wayne coped with losing two family members and have a conversation about coping with death or other difficult situations.

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

B is for Bookworm
Human Development Degree, Book-loving aunt
1234567
5.5

Book Lists That Include Mayday

Book Lists › coping with death
Comforting Children's Books About Coping With Death
Book Lists › vehicles
Children's Books About Vehicles
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Mayday

What Has Karen Harrington Said About Mayday

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Karen Harrington know that we want more details from them about Mayday!
What talent does Wayne's friend, Denny, have?
  1. Tap dancing
  2. Singing
  3. Break dancing
  4. Playing the trumpet
Take the Full Quiz!

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Mayday

Where the Red Fern Grows book
6.5
animals · dogs · death · bereavement · coping with death · pets
Where the Red Fern Grows
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory book
5.9
imagination · food · chocolate · grandpa · hard work · kindness · honesty · friendship · bravery
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Heidi book
5.0
grandpa
Heidi
sports · baseball · role models · grandpa
Curveball
Hatchet book
4.5
nature · coping with failure · airplanes
Hatchet
detectives · adventure · death · sleuthing
The Tragically True Adventures of Kit Donovan
feelings and emotions · family · home · death
All the Ways Home
superpowers · airplanes · vacation · heroes
Captain Awesome Takes Flight

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0316298034
ISBN 13:
9780316298032
Publication Date:
January 2, 2018