It's the End of the World as I Know It
It's the End of the World as I Know It
Bookroo6.0 / 7Goodreads4.1 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

It's the End of the World as I Know It

Written by Matthew Landis
Published by Dial Books for Young Readers
Prices as of Sep 21

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Derrick is sure that doomsday is coming, and he’s prepping to survive–whether his friends believe him or not–in this middle grade novel for readers of Gary Schmidt, Gordon Korman, and Jack Gantos Ever since his mother was killed in the line of duty in Iraq, Derrick has been absolutely certain that the apocalypse is coming. And he’s prepared: he’s got plenty of canned goods, he’s fully outfitted with HAZMAT suits, and he’s building himself a sturdy fallout shelter. When his neighbor Misty insists on helping with the shelter, Derrick doesn’t think it’s such a good idea. Misty’s just had a kidney transplant, and her reaction to her brush with death is the opposite of Derrick’s: where Derrick wants to hide, Misty wants to see and do everything. But as confident as Misty is, Derrick’s doomsday fears just keep getting worse. And Derrick’s promised apocalypse day begins with a very strange disaster, Derrick and Misty have to figure out a way to survive–especially when the end of the world as they know it looks nothing like they expected.

What Kind of Book is It's the End of the World as I Know It

Primarily about

Genres

What Should I Know As a Parent

Families are unique and have different expectations for the books they choose to read. The following are concepts included in this book that some parents may wish to seek out or avoid.

Note that this list is not exhaustive and there may be concepts in this book that are not included or have been insufficiently or incorrectly detailed here.

Reviews

Book Lists That Include This Book

The Creative Behind the Book

What Has Matthew Landis Said About This Book

Nothing yet! You should let Matthew Landis know that you want to hear from them about their book.

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

    Beginners Welcome
    5.0
    Cindy Baldwin
    Hope in the Holler
    King and the Dragonflies
    Taylor Before and After
    Jennie Englund
    The Memory of Forgotten Things
    Kat Zhang
    Pay Attention, Carter Jones
    Gary D. Schmidt
    Pilu Of The Woods
    Mai K. Nguyen
    The Girl with More Than One Heart
    Laura Geringer Bass
    The Miraculous
    Jess Redman
    Boy in the Black Suit
    Jason Reynolds

Book Details

ISBN
9780735228016
Publication Date
September 24, 2019
Page Count
320
Reading Age
10 - 14 years
Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
2019003307
ASIN/ISBN 10
0735228019
Lexile® Level
540L

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 62%

More than halfway there—keep going!

Depth Score - 21%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

Top Contributors
01
@thegoodfather
20