The Rambling
The Rambling
Goodreads4.0 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

The Rambling

Written by Jimmy Cajoleas
Published by HarperCollins
Prices as of Sep 26

What's The Rambling About

Publisher Summary

From the author of Goldeline, a Booklist Top 10 First Novels for Youth pick, comes a mesmerizing middle grade fantasy about family and the power of storytelling. Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon and The Thickety. Buddy Pennington is headed to river country, hoping his luck might change. He’ll be better off with his daddy, a wandering soul and a local legend for his skills at Parsnit, a mysterious card game of magic, chance, and storytelling. But no sooner are Buddy and his pop reunited than some of Pop’s old enemies arrive to take him away. Boss Authority, the magical crime lord who has held the rivers in his grasp for years, is ready to collect on an old debt Buddy’s father owes. Now Buddy must set out on a dangerous rescue mission, learning to play Parsnit with the best of them as he goes. Because the stars are aligning for one last epic duel—one that will require a sticky-fingered ally, a lucky twist of fate, and the hand of a lifetime. And in this game, you’re only as strong as the story you tell.

What Kind of Book is The Rambling

Topics

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include The Rambling

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Jimmy Cajoleas Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Jimmy Cajoleas know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Rambling

      The Story Web
      Megan Frazer Blakemore
      The Crossover (Graphic Novel)
      6.5
      Dawud Anyabwile, Kwame Alexander
      The Train of Lost Things
      5.3
      Ammi-Joan Paquette
      The Infinity Year of Avalon James
      5.3
      Dana Middleton
      The Band of Merry Kids
      David Skuy
      Heidi Heckelbeck Is So Totally Grounded!
      Wanda Coven, Priscilla Burris
      Sadiq and the Desert Star
      Anjan Sarkar, Siman Nuurali
      A Long Road on a Short Day
      Gary D. Schmidt, Elizabeth Stickney, Eugene Yelchin
      Lord of the Mountain
      Ronald Kidd
      Midnight Hour

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780062498786
    Publication Date
    March 26, 2019
    Page Count
    304
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2018939979
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    0062498789
    Lexile® Level
    820L
    ATOS® Book Level
    5.4
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    11
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    501630
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    MG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 62%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.