The Definitive Guide to

The Rambling

Written by Jimmy Cajoleas
Published by HarperCollins
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
Chapter
Book Type

What's The Rambling About

Publisher Summary

From the author of Goldeline, a Booklist Top 10 First Novels for Youth pick, comes a mesmerizing middle grade fantasy about family and the power of storytelling. Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon and The Thickety. Buddy Pennington is headed to river country, hoping his luck might change. He’ll be better off with his daddy, a wandering soul and a local legend for his skills at Parsnit, a mysterious card game of magic, chance, and storytelling. But no sooner are Buddy and his pop reunited than some of Pop’s old enemies arrive to take him away. Boss Authority, the magical crime lord who has held the rivers in his grasp for years, is ready to collect on an old debt Buddy’s father owes. Now Buddy must set out on a dangerous rescue mission, learning to play Parsnit with the best of them as he goes. Because the stars are aligning for one last epic duel—one that will require a sticky-fingered ally, a lucky twist of fate, and the hand of a lifetime. And in this game, you’re only as strong as the story you tell.

What Kind of Book is The Rambling

Book Lists That Include The Rambling

Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Rambling

author
Jimmy Cajoleas

Coming soon!

View Author

What Has Jimmy Cajoleas Said About The Rambling

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Jimmy Cajoleas know that we want more details from them about The Rambling!

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Rambling

This Little Explorer book
6.9
vikings · Unique Books for Baby Shower Gifts · explorers · travel · adventure · female role models · journeys · Native Americans · diversity
This Little Explorer
Wolf Won't Bite book
6.0
fractured fairy tales · adventure · wolves · pigs
Wolf Won't Bite
Giddy Up, Li'l Buckaroos book
5.5
cowboys and cowgirls · farms · adventure
Giddy Up, Li'l Buckaroos
Russell and the Lost Treasure book
5.5
sleuthing · detectives · opposites · adventure
Russell and the Lost Treasure
Ahoy, Li'l Buccaneers! book
5.5
boats · pirates · adventure
Ahoy, Li'l Buccaneers!
Lit for Little Hands: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland book
5.3
adventure · imagination · inspired by classic literature
Lit for Little Hands: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
Lit for Little Hands: Peter Pan book
5.3
adventure · imagination · inspired by classic literature
Lit for Little Hands: Peter Pan
My Pet Penguins book
5.0
pets · penguins · adventure
My Pet Penguins