An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Character Traits and Responsibility: Books For Kids

This list of the best kids books about character traits is sure to include a new favorite for the voracious young reader in your life!

Add to list
The Hula Hoopin' Queen
Written by Thelma Lynne Godin & illustrated by Vanessa Brantley-Newton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-10
A spunky girl has a hula-hooping competition with her friends in Harlem, and soon everyone in the neighborhood—young and old alike—joins in on the fun. Kameeka is confident that today she will finally beat her rival, Jamara, and become the Hula-Hoopin’ Queen of 139th Street. But then Mama reminds her that today is their neighbor Miz Adeline’s birthday, and Kameeka has a ton of chores to do to get ready for the party they are hosting. Kameeka’s disappointed to be stuck at home and can only think about the hoopin’ competition. Distracted, Kameeka accidentally ruins Miz Adeline’s birthday cake, and has to confess to her that there won’t be a cake for her special day. But then Miz Adeline’s confesses something too: she’s also got the itch—the hula-hoopin’ itch! Her fingers start snappin’. Her hips start swingin’. Soon everyone’s hips are swinging as the party spills out onto the street. The whole neighborhood’s got the itch—the hula-hoopin’ itch! With vibrant illustrations by Vanessa Brantley-Newton, *The Hula-Hoopin’ Queen* is a charming celebration of family and community ties. Set in Harlem, this intergenerational story shows the importance of staying young at heart.
Add to list
Caterpillar Summer
Written by Gillian McDunn
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
Cat and her brother Chicken have always had a very special bond. When Chicken has a "meltdown", Cat’s the one who scratches his back and reads his favorite story. She’s always knows what he needs. Since their mom has had to work double-hard to keep their family afloat after their father passed away, Cat is the glue holding her family together. When a summer trip doesn’t go as planned, Cat and Chicken end up spending three weeks with grandparents they’ve never met. With their help, Cat can be a kid again for the first time in years, and the journey she takes shows that even the most broken relationships can be healed if people take the time to walk in one another’s shoes. Perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Ali Benjamin, this special novel features an unforgettable voice and is brimming with heart.
Add to list
Vilonia Beebe Takes Charge
Written by Kristin L. Gray
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
"Vilonia must prove she is responsible enough to get a dog in order to help her mom get over her grief"--
Add to list
The Purr-fect Scoop
Written by Coco Simon
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
Sierra tries to find a way to balance all of the activities in her life in this third delicious book in the Sprinkle Sundays series from the author of the Cupcake Diaries series! Sierra does lots of things. She’s captain of the softball team, the director of the school play, and she’s on Student Council, but her favorite thing to do is work at the ice cream shop with her best friends Tamiko and Allie. But when her parents decide to foster three kittens and their mama, Sierra’s life gets a lot more catty! Can Sierra do it all—and maybe find homes for the cats, too?
Add to list
Yasmin the Teacher
Written by Saadia Faruqi & illustrated by Hatem Aly
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8
When Ms. Alex is called away from the classroom, she leaves Yasmin in charge, but the other children just ignore her and start acting silly and noisy--until Yasmin thinks up a way to motivate them to finish the math assignment, quietly.
Farm The Farm book
Add to list
My Fourth of July book
Add to list
  • Farm The Farm - A lift-the-flap book that lets little ones farm the farm! This interactive novelty board book encourages readers to care for animals at the farm by lifting the sturdy flaps on each spread. Feed the hens, brush the pony’s mane, and open the gate so the cow can graze in the pasture in this inventive and engaging book that teaches little ones how to be responsible.

  • My Fourth of July - A young boy and his family celebrate his favorite day, Independence Day, by seeing a parade, having a picnic, watching a talent show, and enjoying fireworks.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

Suggested Links