An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

King Arthur: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about King Arthur?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to King Arthur. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about King Arthur.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about King Arthur, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like King Arthur and His Knights of the Round Table to popular sellers like Sword in the Stone to some of our favorite hidden gems like A Tail of Camelot.

We hope this list of kids books about King Arthur can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
A Tail of Camelot
Written by Julie Leung & illustrated by Lindsey Carr
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

An epic new middle grade series in the tradition of Redwall and Poppy, based on Arthurian legend and told from the perspective of Camelot’s most humble creatures: mice Young mouse Calib Christopher aspires to be a Knight of the Round Table. For generations, his family has valiantly led the mice who live just out of sight of the humans, defending Camelot from enemies both big and small. But when a new threat arises—one that could catch even the Two-Leggers off guard—it’s up to Calib and his friend Cecily to unmask the real enemy, unite their forces, and save the castle they all call home. With the sweeping adventure of New York Times bestselling series like Wings of Fire and Warriors, Mice of the Round Table brings to life a legendary world of animals and magic that kids will want to return to again and again.

Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$6.99
Used $6.99
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Merlin's Last Quest
Written by Julie Leung & illustrated by Lindsey Carr
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

The thrilling conclusion to the epic middle grade fantasy series that Booklist called "a charming blend of Arthurian legend and Brian Jacques' Redwall series."

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$13.59
Used $4.24
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Voyage to Avalon
Written by Julie Leung & illustrated by Lindsey Carr
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

A mysterious new threat sparks a dangerous quest in book two of the epic middle grade series Booklist called "a charming blend of Arthurian legend and Brian Jacques' Redwall series."

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
Written by Mary Pope Osborne & illustrated by Antonio Javier Caparo
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-9
Christmas has never been more magical! Travel to Camelot with Jack, Annie and The Magic Tree House in this holiday fantasy adventure! Now in a super-giftable deluxe edition with color illustrations!
Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$18.99
Used $18.99
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Cavall in Camelot #1: A Dog In King Arthur’s Court
Written & illustrated by Audrey Mackaman
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

In Camelot, King Arthur’s dog encounters a world of danger and magic… Follow Cavall as he embarks on a quest that will put the unbreakable bond between a dog and his person to the ultimate test. When Cavall and his older brother, Glessic, leave the comfort of their simple barn to join the lavish court of Camelot, Cavall wants nothing more than to prove he’s a good dog to the great knights and dogs of the castle—especially to King Arthur. But Gless says only the best dogs are worthy of greatness, and Cavall has never been as strong, brave, or fast as his brother. Meanwhile, malevolent forces lurk in Camelot, and Cavall must figure out how to protect his person. To make matters worse, Arthur’s mysterious nightmares are threatening to shake his grip on reality and undermine his authority as king. To fight back against the dangers of the dream world, Cavall will need help from some loyal hounds and the enchanting, sometimes frightening creatures who call themselves the fay. In this captivating debut from Audrey Mackaman, Cavall will have to prove not only that he can be a good dog for his person, but that he is capable of a greatness all his own.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$11.99
Used $5.57
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • The Knight's Armor: Book 3 of the Ministry of SUITs - When twelve-year-old Jack Pease and his partner, Trudy, operatives of the Ministry of Strange, Unusual, and Impossible Things, try to find Trudy’s mother, who is being held prisoner by an evil scientist named Mr. M, they uncover a nefarious scheme that involves the legend of King Arthur, Merlin, and the Excalibur.

  • King Arthur and His Knights of the Round Table - Embrace your inner geek with Puffin Pixels Puffin Pixels is a collection of classics featuring pixelated, 8-bit video game cover artwork in the Minecraft style. King Arthur is one of the greatest legends of all time. From the magical moment when Arthur releases the sword in the stone to the quest for the Holy Grail and the final tragedy of the Last Battle, Roger Lancelyn Green brings the enchanting world of King Arthur stunningly to life.

  • Sword in the Stone - “The Sword And The Stone” recreates, against the background of magnificent pageantry and dark magic that was medieval England, the education and training of young King Arthur, who was to become the greatest of Britain’s legendary rulers.<P>Growing up in a colorful world peopled by knights in armor and fair damsels, foul monsters and evil witches, young Arthur slowly learns the code of being a gentleman. Under the wise guidance of Merlin, the all-powerful magician for whom life progresses backwards, the king-to-be is trained in the gusty pursuits of falconry, jousting, hunting and sword play. He is even transformed by his remarkable old tutor into various animals, so that he may experience life from all points of view. In every conceivable and exciting way he is readied for the day when he, and he alone of all Englishmen, is destined to draw forth the marvelous sword from the magic stone and become the rightful King of’ England.

  • Stealing the Sword - New York Times bestselling author Wendy Mass's action-packed early chapter book series is perfect for newly independent readers!

Add to list
Dragon's Boy: A Tale of Young King Arthur
Written by Jane Yolen
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Son of the Dragon

Thirteen-year-old Artos is not as good as swordsplay, romance, or any other knightly accomplishment as his foster brothers Cai, Bedvere, and Lancot. An orphan raised by the kindly Sir Ector, he doesn't even know the identity for his parents. But one day, Artos stumbles into the cave of an old and lonely dragon who offers to teach him the game of wisdom. Artos accepts, and becomes the Pendragon--the son of the dragon, the dragon's boy. And with the dragon's guidance, Artos sets out on a journey to a remarkable destiny--one that he never dreamed could be his own.

Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
The Legend of King Arthur-a-tops
Written by Mo O'Hara & illustrated by Andrew Joyner
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

“Truly this contains some knights to remember.” ―Kirkus Reviews

A bumbling triceratops must prove himself worthy in New York Times bestselling author Mo O’Hara’s second hilarious picture book offering a prehistoric spin on the legend of King Arthur.

It’s the Festival of the Stone, and dinosaurs from across the land will try to pull the great horn Rex-calibur from the magical stone. The one who succeeds shall be crowned king or queen. Arthur-a-tops is probably the least likely to accomplish the task. And yet…could he be the one true king?

In this completely reimagined Camelot featuring dino-squires, the trusty Merlin-a-dactyl, and easy-to-trip-over dinosaur tails, O’Hara transforms this classic tale into an enjoyable, accessible, and truly funny treat for young readers.

Coupled perfectly with Andrew Joyner’s expressive and classic illustrations, this story will induce fits of giggles and lots of knowing nods from parents who want their little geniuses to have the classics down by first grade.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Jan 18

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.