An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Mars: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about Mars?

As you can see, this list of kids books about Mars is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about Mars, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Life on Mars
Written & illustrated by Jon Agee
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

In this sneaky, silly picture book for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen, an intrepid-but not so clever-space explorer is certain he’s found the only living thing on Mars. A young astronaut is absolutely sure there is life to be found on Mars. He sets off on a solitary mission, determined to prove the naysayers wrong. But when he arrives, equipped with a package of cupcakes as a gift, he sees nothing but a nearly barren planet. Finally, he spies a single flower and packs it away to take back to Earth as proof that there is indeed life on Mars. But as he settles in for the journey home, he cracks open his cupcakes-only to discover that someonehas eaten them all! Readers will love being in on the secret- Unbeknownst to the explorer, a Martian has been wandering through the illustrations the whole time-and he got himself a delicious snack along the way.

Skippyjon Jones-- Lost in Spice
Written & illustrated by Judy Schachner
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

The New York Times bestselling kitty boy blasts off into another hilarious adventure.

Buckle up, amigos— everyone’s favorite kitty boy is about to lift off. You’ll want to be there when the brave Skippito gets lost in spice!

That’s right, spice. Skippy knows— from his big ears to his toes—that the planet Mars is red because it’s covered in spicy red pepper. To prove it, he’s off on a space jaunt replete with craters, crazies, and creatures from Mars. His new adventure is packed with witty wordplay, Spanish phrases, and Judy Schachner’s trademark hilarity. This rollicking romp is simply out of this world.

Curiosity
Written & illustrated by Markus Motum
picture book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Maybe you remember when a little robotic spacecraft landed on a far-off planet. On August 6, 2012, the rover Curiosity touched down on the rocky surface of Mars—and now she’s ready to guide you through her journey firsthand. From idea to creation and beyond, this fact-filled, stylish book introduces readers to Curiosity and her mission: to discover more about the red planet and search for evidence of life. How did Curiosity get her name? What tools does she use to carry out her tasks? In her own voice, the popular NASA rover tells how and why she traveled more than 350,000,000 miles to explore a planet no human has ever visited . . . and what she’s been doing there. In his debut picture book, Markus Motum brings Curiosity’s story to life in vivid color: the deep blues of space set off the warm, rusted hues of Mars’s dusty red surface, marking this lovable rover and her mission as something special—truly a world apart.

Hey Ho, to Mars We'll Go!
Written by Susan Lendroth & illustrated by Bob Kolar and Susan Lendroth
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6

This musical mission to Mars will have young astronauts talking—and singing—about the science of space travel. Singing astronauts on a mission explore the science behind a trip to Mars, from launch to landing on the Red Planet. Set to the tune of “The Farmer in the Dell,” this jaunty journey follows five adorable, bobble-headed astronauts as they learn how to bathe in zero gravity, grow veggies in space, and entertain themselves on the six-month trip.

This book defies gravity—text and art float free on the page, encouraging readers to turn the book sideways and upside-down.

An interactive, innovative approach to interstellar fun.

Mars' First Friends: Come on Over, Rovers!
Written by Susanna Leonard Hill & illustrated by Elisa Paganelli
Select type book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From the creators of New York Times bestseller Moon’s First Friends comes a new, heartwarming story about the little red planet who just wants a pet!

In a solar system full of planets, Mars feels all alone. No one has time to play with him. Will he ever get a playmate?

Mars’ First Friends is a universal story about man’s―and Mars’―best friends―our beloved pets. In this sweet solar system book, Mars is lonely and just wants someone to play with, but the planets are all too busy. That is until Earth sends her little brother Mars his first friends: the rovers Spirit and Opportunity! With its darling prose and charming illustrations, this book offers a new take on the Mars rovers stories, and also includes educational back matter with an abundance of information about the solar system, Mars, and his real-life pets―NASA’s rovers!

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

    Suggested Links