An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Rhinoceroses: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about rhinoceroses?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to rhinoceroses. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about rhinoceroses.

Our list includes board books, picture books, and chapter books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about rhinoceroses, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Gently Bentley to popular sellers like Big Game to some of our favorite hidden gems like Rhymoceros.

We hope this list of kids books about rhinoceroses can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
No!
Written by Tracey Corderoy & illustrated by Tim Warnes and Tracey Corderoy
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-4

Everyone thinks Otto is adorable. But then Otto learns the word no – and now he says it all the time! At first, it’s fun to refuse to eat, take a bath, and go to bed. But when Otto has a bad day at school, Daddy has the perfect solution.

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$7.99
Used $7.99
Prices as of Jan 21
Add to list
Rhymoceros
Written & illustrated by Janik Coat
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-4

A blue rhinoceros unabashedly subjects himself to undignified elements in order to demonstrate sixteen pairs of rhyming words, from “caring” and “daring” to “stinky” and “inky.”

Buy book
$15.95
Bookshop
$13.56
Amazon
$13.19
Used $1.48
Prices as of Jan 21
Add to list
Friends Stick Together
Written & illustrated by Hannah Harrison
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Rupert is a rhinoceros of refined sensibilities. Levi, the new tickbird in class, is not. He burps the alphabet, tells corny jokes, and does really embarrassing air guitar solos. Worse, he lands right on Rupert and is determined to be Rupert’s symbiotic best pal! Rupert wants him gone. But when Levi finally does bug off, Rupert finds the peace and quiet a little boring. It turns out, Rupert could really use a friend like Levi.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$14.39
Used $2.02
Prices as of Jan 21
Add to list
Big Game
Written by Stuart Gibbs
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Teddy Fitzroy returns as FunJungle’s resident zoo sleuth when a rhinoceros is at risk in <i>Big Game</i>, a companion to <i>Belly Up </i>and <i>Poached</i>–which <i>Kirkus Reviews </i>called a “thrill-ride of a mystery.” <p/>When someone takes aim at Rhonda Rhino, FunJungle’s pregnant (and endangered) Asian greater one-horned rhinoceros, the zoo steps up security measures in order to protect this rare animal and her baby. <p/>But the extra security isn’t enough–someone is still getting too close for comfort. Teddy and company start to suspect that whoever is after Rhonda is really after her horn, which is worth a lot of money on the black market. <p/>For the first time ever, the head of the zoo enlists Teddy for help–for once, he doesn’t have to sneak around in order to investigate–and the results are even more wacky, and even more dangerous, than ever before.

Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$18.99
Used $1.88
Prices as of Jan 20
Add to list
Gently Bentley
Written & illustrated by Caragh Buxton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

A little rhino charges around his house and school. Everyone reminds him to be more careful, but his clumsiness continues. Will he remember to be gentle when it’s most important? This lovely story will inspire discussions about appropriate ways of expressing oneself, and can be used to help children develop impulse control and self-regulation.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Jan 21
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • The Secret Rhino Society - In the spirit of favorites like Stick & Stone and Spoon this warmhearted and hilarious picture book tells the story of a highly unusual group of friends and is stunningly illustrated by Samantha Cotterill. Meet Hudson, a hippo. Fran, an earthworm. And Jean, a lightbulb. They have one thing in common: a profound appreciation for rhinos. So, they form a Secret Rhino Appreciation Society, in which a key activity it wearing paper horns. (Sometimes this results in a fire. That’s what happens when a lightbulb wears a paper horn.) But when they meet their first real, live rhino and ask her to do rhino-y things, she doesn’t want to charge or snort—she’s a gardener! She is not what the society expected, but can they learn to appreciate her for who she is? This funny, character-driven story explores themes of friendship, expectations, and prejudice.

  • A Porcupine Named Fluffy - A porcupine named Fluffy is happier with his name after he meets a similarly misnamed rhinoceros.

  • Rhino in the House - “This is a nonfiction picture book for young children. It tells the true story of Anna Merz, a wildlife protector in Africa, and Samia, a black rhinoceros she saved after it was abandoned by its mother.”–

  • The Rhino in Right Field - A boy who loves baseball must get past his hard-working immigrant parents—and the rhino in the outfield—to become a batboy in this laugh-out-loud middle-grade novel in the tradition of The Sandlot.

Add to list
Who Wants a Cheap Rhinoceros?
Written & illustrated by Shel Silverstein
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A rhino makes the best kind of friend in this 50th Anniversary Edition of a cherished classic from Shel Silverstein.

Looking for a new pet? Bored with cats, dogs, goldfish, gerbils, and hamsters? How about a cheap rhinoceros?

Shel Silverstein’s loving look at the joys of rhino ownership may convince you to be the lucky person who takes home this very, very unusual pet.

This 50th Anniversary Edition features jacket art from the original 1964 edition, plus a commemorative anniversary sticker.

Buy book
$19.99
Bookshop
$16.99
Amazon
$19.99
Used $19.99
Prices as of Jan 20
Add to list
See Otto
Written & illustrated by David Milgrim
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Otto runs, runs, runs in this Pre-level 1 Ready-to-Read by <i>New York Times </i>bestselling author/illustrator, David Milgrim. This is part of the award-winning, star-reviewed The Adventures of Otto series. <p/>Meet Otto, an excitable robot who seeks adventure–and finds it–when he falls off his spaceship and lands on Earth, directly in front of a very cranky rhinoceros. Otto runs, but the rhino runs faster…Run, Otto, run! <p/>This Pre-level 1 Ready-to-Read with bright illustrations and minimal text is perfect for the true emergent reader.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Jan 20
Add to list
Mack Rhino, Private Eye: The Big Race Lace Case
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8
Mack Rhino is a private detective--who just so happens to be a rhinoceros--in this silly, fun-to-read Aladdin QUIX chapter book that's perfect for emerging readers!
Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Jan 20
Add to list
A Perfect Mess
Written & illustrated by Steve Breen
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Readers who love Olivia and Little Elliot, Big City will fall head over heels for this sweet little rhino who always makes a big mess

Henry McHenry is one messy rhino, but he tries his best to stay clean for a very important day. He jumps over a mud puddle (and splashes his friend), passes on a gooey jelly donut (just in time for a glob to land on his neighbor), and even manages to shake the ink from his leaky pen (all over his classmates). And while Henry is still neat and tidy at the end of the day, his classmates are anything but . . .

This irresistible school story from Pulitzer Prize–winning cartoonist Steve Breen is all about finding happiness in imperfections and being yourself . . . especially on class picture day!

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $1.95
Prices as of Jan 21

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.