An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Skeletons: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about skeletons?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to skeletons. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about skeletons.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about skeletons, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Bones to popular sellers like Funnybones.

We hope this list of kids books about skeletons can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
Give Me Back My Bones!
Written by Kim Norman & illustrated by Bob Kolar
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A silly pirate skeleton seeks to put its bones back together in this rhyming romp beneath the waves. Cast a spyglass ‘round here while breakers curl and pound here. There’s treasure to be found here – I feel it in my bones! A stormy night at sea has uncovered some long-buried secrets and surprises. Is that the mast of a shipwreck? A faded pirate hat? And what’s that hiding in the sand? A mandible and a clavicle, phalanges and femurs, a tibia and a fibula – could there be a set of bones scattered across the ocean floor? And who might they belong to? A jaunty rhyme takes readers on an underwater scavenger hunt as a comical skeleton tries to put itself back together piece by piece. Make no bones about it: this rollicking read-aloud will have young ones learning anatomy without even realizing it.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$13.19
Used $7.80
Prices as of Jan 23
Add to list
Skulls!
Written by Blair Thornburgh & illustrated by Scott Campbell
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Debut picture book author Blair Thornburgh and award-winning illustrator Scott Campbell put their heads together to celebrate one of the most important bones in your body: the skull! You probably don’t think much about skulls. So what’s the big deal about them? Well, every head of every person you’ve ever seen has a skull inside. And that includes YOU! This smart, skull-positive story cheerfully dispels any fears kids might have about their skeletons, flipping our view of skulls from a spooky symbol to a fascinating, cool, and crucial part of our bodies.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$11.89
Used $6.04
Prices as of Jan 23
Add to list
Funnybones
Written & illustrated by Janet Ahlberg
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8
Buy book
$14.93
Bookshop
$12.69
Amazon
$14.93
Used $8.99
Prices as of Jan 23
Add to list
Bones
Written by Stephen Krensky & illustrated by Davy Jones
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6

Describes how bones perform different functions as part of the human body.

Buy book
$4.99
Bookshop
$4.24
Amazon
$3.99
Used $0.79
Prices as of Jan 23
Add to list
Funny Bones: Posada and His Day of the Dead Calaveras
Written & illustrated by Duncan Tonatiuh
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-10

Funny Bones tells the story of how the amusing calaveras—skeletons performing various everyday or festive activities—came to be. They are the creation of Mexican artist José Guadalupe (Lupe) Posada (1852–1913). In a country that was not known for freedom of speech, he first drew political cartoons, much to the amusement of the local population but not the politicians. He continued to draw cartoons throughout much of his life, but he is best known today for his calavera drawings. They have become synonymous with Mexico’s Día de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) festival. Juxtaposing his own art with that of Lupe’s, author Duncan Tonatiuh brings to light the remarkable life and work of a man whose art is beloved by many but whose name has remained in obscurity.

Buy book
$18.95
Bookshop
$16.11
Amazon
$18.95
Used $18.95
Prices as of Jan 23
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Dirk Bones and the Mystery of the Missing Books - In the town of Ghostly, where everything is spooky, something really strange is going on: Books are disappearing! And not just any books--only those written by the famous author Edgar Bleek.

  • Samira and the Skeletons - Samira likes school, especially when she gets to sit next to her best friend, Frida. But when they learn about the skeletal system in science class, Samira suddenly begins to imagine everyone in school as a walking skeleton. Soon she starts avoiding her fellow classmates, even Frida, but Samira still can’t escape her own skeleton. With some clever help from her mother, though, Samira realizes that maybe having a body full of bones isn’t necessarily a bad thing.Enhanced by delightfully impish illustrations, Camilla Kuhn’s playful book depicts the hilarious results of an imagination gone awry.

  • Bonaparte Falls Apart - Bonaparte the skeleton is literally falling to pieces and needs help from his friends to pull himself together before the first day of school.

  • Bonesville - This stunning picture book from the bestselling team of Jean-Luc Fromental and Joelle Jolivet cleverly introduces many of the bones that make up the human body. A mysterious beast is terrorizing the resident skeletons of Bonesville. Under cover of darkness, it steals a different bone from each townsperson, from cranium to phalanges. It takes the washerwoman s humerus, the butcher s fibula, and Dr. Strongbones s coccyx. Thanks to his patience and cleverness, Detective Sherlock Bones traps the monster, revealing that the beast is only the harmless Spot of the Baskervilles, on a mission to rebuild the lost skeleton of his master, Dr. Watsbones. Jolivet s bold illustrations and Fromental s witty storytelling make for a winning combination in this striking picture book, perfect for young Sherlock Holmes fans. “

Add to list
Bone Dog: A Picture Book
Written & illustrated by Eric Rohmann
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

One of School Library Journal's Best Picture Books of 2011

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $1.23
Prices as of Jan 23
Add to list
Yorick and Bones
Written by Hermione Tankard and Jeremy Tankard & illustrated by Jeremy Tankard
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Hear ye, hear ye! Father-daughter duo Jeremy and Hermione Tankard are pleased to introduce the first book in a rib-tickling, heartfelt full-color graphic novel series perfect for fans of Bird & Squirrel!

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$12.72
Used $8.04
Prices as of Jan 23
Add to list
Skeleton for Dinner
Written by Margery Cuyler & illustrated by Will Terry
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Big Witch and Little Witch have made stew, and now they want to have their friends for dinner! But when Skeleton mistakes the guest list for a menu, he takes off running, and soon Ghost and Ghoul join him too! But poor Little Witch has no idea there’s a misunderstanding. Luckily there’s one creature in the haunted forest who can help everyone figure it all out. This spooky and silly read-aloud is just right for Halloween.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Jan 23
Add to list
Skelly the Skeleton Girl
Written & illustrated by Jimmy Pickering
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Skelly, a little skeleton girl, finds a bone one day. Who could it belong to? As Skelly searches for the bone’s owner, she questions everyone from her skeletal goldfish, to her man-eating plants, to the monster who lives beneath the stairs. Finally, Skelly locates the bone’s owner–and makes a new friend. Rising talent Jimmy Pickering has created a mildly spooky and totally original cast of characters who populate Skelly’s Tim Burton-esque world.

Buy book
$14.99
Bookshop
$12.74
Amazon
$14.99
Used $14.99
Prices as of Jan 23

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.